3

Blog Tour Review: The Smallest Thing by Lisa Manterfield (+ Giveaway!)

The Smallest Thing by Lisa Manterfield Tour Banner

Today starts the blog tour for The Smallest Thing by Lisa Manterfield. This is a young adult contemporary novel about a small village that gets put under quarantine after an unknown deadly virus breaks out. I have a review for you, but please be sure to check in with the other tour stops throughout the week! A big thank you to Xpresso book tours for having me on the tour. 🙂

Make sure you also enter the giveaway at the bottom – you have the chance to win a copy of the book and a $50 Amazon gift card!

Continue reading

Advertisements
4

Blog Tour Review: The Big F by Maggie Ann Martin (+ Giveaway!)

The Big F Tour Banner

Hello, everyone! Today is officially the LAST day of the blog tour for The Big F by debut author, Maggie Ann Martin. I was thrilled to have the chance to participate in this tour and review the book. If you’ve missed the other posts in the tour, you can always click here and check them out.

Continue reading

15

ARC Review: Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman

starfish by akemi dawn bowman book review blog header

Published: September 26th, 2017 by Simon Pulse | Series: N/A | Length: 320 pages | Genre: YA contemporary | Source: Received from publisher via NetGalley | Content Warning: child abuse (sexual and emotional), racism, attempted suicide

Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

Kiko Himura has always had a hard time saying exactly what she’s thinking. With a mother who makes her feel unremarkable and a half-Japanese heritage she doesn’t quite understand, Kiko prefers to keep her head down, certain that once she makes it into her dream art school, Prism, her real life will begin.

But then Kiko doesn’t get into Prism, at the same time her abusive uncle moves back in with her family. So when she receives an invitation from her childhood friend to leave her small town and tour art schools on the west coast, Kiko jumps at the opportunity in spite of the anxieties and fears that attempt to hold her back. And now that she is finally free to be her own person outside the constricting walls of her home life, Kiko learns life-changing truths about herself, her past, and how to be brave.

From debut author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes a luminous, heartbreaking story of identity, family, and the beauty that emerges when we embrace our true selves.

Continue reading

15

Review: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour Book Review blog header

Published: February 14th, 2017 by Dutton Books for Young Readers | Series: N/A | Length: 234 pages | Genre: YA contemporary | Source: Borrowed from library | Possible Triggers: death, depression

Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

Continue reading

0

Review: No One Needs to Know by Amanda Grace

No One Needs to Know by Amanda Grace Book Review blog header

Published: September 8th, 2014 by Flux | Series: N/A | Length: 229 pages | Genre: YA contemporary romance | Source: Library | Possible Triggers: bullying

Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

Sometimes, the cost of love is too steep

Olivia’s twin brother, Liam, has been her best friend her whole life. But when he starts dating, Olivia is left feeling alone, so she tries to drive away Liam’s girlfriends in an effort to get her best friend back.

But she meets her match in Zoey, Liam’s latest fling. A call-it-like-she-sees-it kind of girl, Zoey sees right through Olivia’s tricks. What starts as verbal sparring between the two changes into something different, however, as they share their deepest insecurities and learn they have a lot in common. Olivia falls for Zoey, believing her brother could never get serious with her. But when Liam confesses that he’s in love with Zoey, Olivia has to decide who deserves happiness more: her brother or herself?

Continue reading

11

ARC Review: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn

Book Review blog header

Published: June 27th, 2017 by Kensington | Series: N/A | Length: 256 pages | Genre: YA contemporary thriller | Source: I received an eARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. | Possible Triggers: sexual harassment, racism, violence, bullying, child abuse, suicide, murder

Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Continue reading