Top 5 Books to Read without the Synopsis

Top 5 Wednesday blog header 9-13-17

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. This week’s topic is top 5 books to read without reading the synopsis: we all know that some synopsis writers spoil events that happen halfway through the book or have heard reviewers say “its best to go into this one blind.” Discuss those books. 

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch book cover

Personally, I recommend reading this book without having read the synopsis because based on the synopsis, I already figured out what I feel like was supposed to be a kind of mystery for the plot in Dark Matter. Going in blind really won’t take anything away from this story, but I do think it’ll add more suspense to it.

The Requiem Red by Brynn Chapman

The Requiem Red by Brynn Chapman book cover

I honestly think I would’ve liked this book so much better if I hadn’t read the synopsis. The synopsis describes a very different book than readers actually get, setting expectations that aren’t going to be fulfilled. The book is much more focused on self-discovery and family than the synopsis lets on, so if that’s your thing, you might like this – just don’t read the blurb.

Every Hidden Thing by Kenneth Oppel

Every Hidden Thing by Kenneth Oppel book cover

Okay, to be quite honest, I’m not entirely sure I would recommend this book at all considering the questionable portrayal of Natives and all-around disappointing writing. HOWEVER, if you want to give it a try, I’d recommend doing it without reading the synopsis. The blurb led me to think the majority of the focus would be on the paleontology and rivalry, but in reality, it focused way more on the forbidden romance between Rachel and Samuel. I really didn’t like this book, but maybe it’s because my expectations didn’t line up with what was actually delivered in the book.

By Your Side by Kasie West

By Your Side by Kasie West book cover

You don’t necessarily need to avoid this synopsis completely, but you should definitely recognize that it doesn’t give a great look at the whole story. First of all, it doesn’t even mention that the lead character, Autumn, has anxiety. And it also makes it seem as if the entire story takes place over the course of one weekend which it doesn’t. So while it gives you a decent look at the story, it really isn’t the best synopsis I’ve seen.

I’m just going to stop at four this time because I’m having a hard time thinking of a fifth book to include. Don’t get too mad at me 😉

What books do you think people should read without reading the synopsis?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

Check out my Society6 Store

19 thoughts on “Top 5 Books to Read without the Synopsis

  1. Haha, love seeing everyone comment on Dark Matter–it definitely made my list too! I hadn’t considered By Your Side, but I for sure see your point. It doesn’t give a very good picture. (TBH, I just picked it up because I’ve somehow become a Kasie West fangirl along the way.)

    Like

    • Dark Matter really is one of those books that you should go into without knowing much about it. It’s such a great book regardless.
      I picked up By Your Side because I wanted to check out something by Kasie West and my library had that one, but I was definitely worried about the insta-love because going by the blurb, it really makes it seem like it all happens in that one weekend!

      Like

  2. Great list! I am 100% with you on Dark Matter. I don’t think anyone can describe that concisely and do the plot justice. I would add Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe to this list. It’s a much more meaningful book when you go in knowing nothing more than it’s a YA contemporary novel. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I kind of do the same thing. Most of the time, I only read the synopsis when I’m adding it to my TBR or buying it, but when I go to actually read it (which let’s face it, is usually at least a few months later), I don’t reread it. That way I know it’s something that will interest me (or at least hopefully), but I don’t have a fresh idea of exactly what it’s about.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

