Top Ten Books I Read Years Ago That I Want To Reread

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 9-12-17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme or prompt for which you come up with a list of ten books or ideas. This week’s theme is a throwback freebie so we have quite a bit of room to do what we’d like this week. I decided to talk about some books that I read quite awhile ago that I’d like to reread. I’m not a big rereader because I have so many books waiting for me to read them for the first time, but there are still several books/series that I want to take another look at. Some are old favorites while others are books that I loved at the time, but have a feeling I would feel differently about now. So without further delay, here are some books that I read years ago that I’d like to reread!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins book cover

Those of you who have been following me for awhile probably know that I love dystopian stories and The Hunger Games is the series that started that love. I read this series when I was in high school and it’s now been about 5 years or so. Because it’s been such a long time, I’d really like to reread these books and see how much my feelings have changed toward it (if at all) and/or see how I relate to it now, being much more aware of the many social issues in our society that are a part of this story.

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Stolen by Lucy Christopher book cover

This is another book that I read when I was in high school and at the time, I really loved it. I’ve now seen quite a few people who felt that it romanticized kidnapping and I want to read it again with a more critical lens. When I first read it, I thought it was a good look at Stockholm Syndrome, but that was years ago and I’ve learned and grown a lot since then so it’d be nice to revisit the story.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

the book thief by markus zusak book cover

I was actually assigned this book in my sophomore year of high school and although I enjoyed it at the time, I think I’d like it a lot more if I actually had the chance to read it on my own just for enjoyment, rather than being forced to constantly analyze every sentence.

Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess book cover

I think I was only 13 or 14 when I read this book and I loved it. I thought it was a really raw and emotional look at sexual assault/incest, but looking at Goodreads, I’ve seen quite a few people who did not think the book handled the topic well. Like several of the books on this list, I’d like to reread it now that I know a lot more about the subject and see how well the book holds up.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

the boy in the striped pajamas by john boyne book cover

This is one of the books that I read that really got me into historical fiction. I’ve always liked learning about WWII and the Holocaust through books and so when I read this, it became a favorite of mine. Looking back on it, I have some hesitations about the book (that I won’t get into because we’d be here all day) and I’d really like to revisit it and read it with a more critical lens than I was capable of when I first read it.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

uglies by scott westerfeld book cover

You know how I said The Hunger Games started my love of dystopian fiction? This series actually kind of did before that. The only difference was that after I read Uglies, I had a hard time finding other dystopian books (other than classics which 12-year-old me had no interest in), whereas THG led to a huge proliferation of the genre in YA. Anyway, I read Uglies when I was in 6th or 7th grade, loved it, and now I really just want to revisit it for nostalgic purposes.

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson book cover

While I loved this book when I first read it years ago, I don’t think I fully appreciated it. I’m not quite sure why, either. Now that I’m much more aware of the prominence of sexual assault, I’d really like to reread this book and see if my thoughts toward it change at all.

Wide Awake by David Levithan

Wide Awake by David Levithan book cover

This is on my list for pretty much no other reason than that it was one of the very first books I read about a gay character. I devoured so many of Levithan’s books back in the day and it’s been ages since I read any of them. I definitely want to revisit at least one or two of them to see how they hold up now.

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen book cover

Sarah Dessen is another author I read a lot when I was younger and it’s been a long time since I read anything by her. Just Listen has always stood out as one of my favorite books by her so I really want to reread it and remember why I fell in love with her writing in the first place.

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks book cover

I know Nicholas Sparks is problematic (to say the least), but I loved his books back when I was in high school. I read tons of them. Safe Haven was one of my favorites and is one of the few that I actually own, so I want to reread it and see how I feel about it now. Plus I don’t think I ever actually watched the movie so I kind of want to do that, but I want to jog my memory with a reread first. 😛

Have you read any of these? What books do you want to reread?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

Check out my Society6 Store

37 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read Years Ago That I Want To Reread

  1. I reread The Hunger Games in my Introduction to Lit class during my freshman year of college. I definitely didn’t expect to get as much out of it as I did! I feel like there’s so much that I missed the first time around and discussing it with a class really helps you look at the story from a different perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to re-read The Hunger Games as well! I literally haven’t picked it up again since the first time I read it, which is ridiculous to me! I also want to re-read Looking for Alaska again just because I loved it so much the first time! ❤️ I read Boy in the Striped Pajamas for school, and didn’t really like it, mainly because the main character was so naive, it bothered me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve seen quite a few people who disliked The Boy in the Striped Pajamas for the same reason. I’m kind of curious to see if I’ll end up having the same reaction to it if I reread it. I’m almost positive I won’t end up liking it as much now as I did when I first read it 😛
      Kind of ironically, I read Looking for Alaska in school and didn’t really like it. I’m not even really sure why I disliked it, I think I just don’t along with John Green’s writing very well, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I 100% want to reread The Hunger Games at some point especially because my parents got me a hardcover for my birthday one year and I’m pretty sure I never ACTUALLY read them because I read the series in English before and my copies are in German. But I would feel horrible if I never actually read my physical copies, especially because they were ridiculously expensive.

    I remember getting so many of Nicolas Spark’s books from the library in either my late or early teen years! I always quite enjoyed reading his books and watching the movies that came out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I’ve ever read the copies I have of The Hunger Games either, haha. I borrowed them from my older brother when I read them, but I ended up loving them so much that my parents bought me a set of hardcovers as a gift for Christmas. It’d be nice to actually have read the copies I have!!

      Same here!! I loved his books and always loved watching the movie adaptations, too.

      Like

  4. Great picks for this week Kourtni, and great topic as well. I like to say I’m a big re-reader but honestly I don’t have the time to re-read as many books as I want to what with all the amazing new releases coming out every month. 🙂
    The Book Thief is a book I try and re-read at least once a year though, just because it’s a favourite of mine, and I really want to try and re-read the Uglies series at some point as well. I used to love that series. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a great list. So many I would like to reread too! Nothing like revisting the stories and characters we fell in love with!

    You can check out my Top Ten Books Published 10 Years Ago HERE

    Like

  6. I looooove the direction you went in with this post!!! I wish I had thought of it! Okay, so, I ADORE THG and am planning on rereading the trilogy next year. I loved Speak as a kid, too, and reread it the year before last. It WRECKED me. Absolutely destroyed me. I also reread Just Listen earlier this year – my lifelong Sarah Dessen fave, so it was like my millionth reread – but it hit me way harder as an adult than it ever did as a teen. It was so good to reread, though. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So many books on your list that I also need to reread! Namely, the Hunger Games Trilogy and The Book Thief. I’m also definitely due for a reread on some of Sarah Dessen’s books. I actually just reread Uglies last fall with a group of friends, and it was so, so good! I was surprised by how much that series held up so many years later.

    Like

  8. I’m just starting Stolen now, after it being on my TBR for about two years. I’ve also seen a lot of commentary about it romanticizing kidnapping, so I’m a little worried about that. I also tend to enjoy Nicholas Sparks, although for me Safe Haven was not one of his best.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’m about two thirds of the way through, and I’m conflicted. Some parts of it are very interesting, but others are really boring for me (ie. Gemma’s attempts to drive). I’m also not sure I buy into the idea that Gemma could fall for Ty, which I think this is the direction the book is going in. To just look the fact that he stalked her for years and then kidnapped her? It seems a bit strange. I haven’t got far enough into see if or how that develops though.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. What a diverse list! I love this. I’ve read The Hunger Games, The Book Thief and Uglies. That said, I read the entire series of Hunger Games, but only book 1 of Uglies. Did you read the whole Uglies series?

    I would love to re-read some of my childhood classic favorites– Stuart Little or The Hobbit for example. Also, The Night Circus I always want to re-read! It’s one of my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I honestly can’t remember if I ever actually finished the Uglies series, haha. I know I read at least the first two books, but I can’t remember anything past that because it was so long ago!

      Surprisingly, I still haven’t read The Hobbit! My older brother gave it to me when I was probably 10 or 11 years old and somehow I still haven’t read it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, that doesn’t speak much to the Uglies series overall, so perhaps it was best I didn’t continue. 😉

        I strongly recommend The Hobbit. Even if you aren’t into fantasy or The Lord of the Rings specifically, it’s a great tale. Each chapter is more like a short story. I think it’s a lovely children’s book– but it has a ton of nuance so even adult readers will enjoy it.

        Like

Let's Chat!

