July Wrap-Up

July Wrap-Up blog header

We’re now almost a week into August, so I suppose this wrap-up comes a little late. Admittedly, this is because I actually hate writing these and always procrastinate doing them, haha. Anyway, July was quite a good month for me. I actually broke my record of most books read in one month (former record was 7; new record is 8) which I thought was pretty exciting, haha. I’m hoping August will be just as good, if not even better because I have a lot of books I want to try and get to this month which you can see in my August TBR.

Books I Read

  1. Don’t Write It Down by C.E. Wilson (3/5)
  2. The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell (4.5/5)
  3. We Are Okay by Nina LaCour (4/5)
  4. Station Fosaan by Dee Garretson (3/5)
  5. By Your Side by Kasie West (4/5)
  6. Juniper Limits by Lora Richardson (5/5)
  7. The Elite by Kiera Cass (3.5/5)
  8. The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember (review to come; 4/5)

As I already mentioned, I set a new personal best for the amount of books read in one month. I’m quite happy with that, even if it is only one book more than my old record. These were a bit of a mixed bag. Some, like The Last Magician, We Are Okay, and Juniper Limits, were books that I really loved. Others were kind of “blah” like Don’t Write It Down and Station Fosaan. Luckily, there weren’t any books that I hated or even really disliked, but still. Mixed bag. Juniper Limits wins favorite read for the month, although The Last Magician was a very close second.

Things I Posted

I feel like I finally got back into my groove in July after having a few months of not really feeling like doing much other than weekly memes and reviews. I’m not really sure what changed, but I’m not complaining!

Challenge Progress

Goodreads Challenge

I set a goal to read 50 books this year and at the end of the month, I had read 39. That puts me 10 books ahead of schedule. I don’t think I’ll have any problems meeting this goal, haha. 39/50

Beat the Backlist Challenge

Most of the books I read this month were 2017 releases, but The Elite is, of course, a backlist book. Up to 14 on this challenge. 14/20

Read More Classics, Nonfiction, and Longer Books

I’m going to count The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell as a longer book since it was (barely) over 500 pages. I’ve kind of stopped paying attention to this challenge… 2/15

Read Diverse 2017 Challenge

We Are Okay and The Tiger’s Watch are both being added here. We Are Okay has a girl protagonist who likes girls (similar to the author) and The Tiger’s Watch has a genderfluid protagonist. My progress for this challenge has definitely slowed down and I need to pay more attention to it. 17/25 

That was my July! How did the month go for you?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

18 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up

  1. Wow it seems like you had a great month this July Kourtni. I’m currently reading The Last Magician and I’m really glad to see it’s a book you loved, four and a half stars is a great rating for a book I’m really enjoying so far as well. 🙂
    Also yes it definitely seems like you’re on track to beating your Goodreads challenge. I’m currently about 11 books ahead of schedule so I’m in the same place you are. It’s kind of nice seeing how far ahead of your goal you are isn’t it?
    Again great recap, and I hope you have a great August as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You had an amazing month! You’re making great progress on your challenges. Who knows why the blog muse comes and goes, but I completely feel you there. It can be challenging sometimes to find inspiration and motivation. But this is some great progress in both reading and posting. I can’t wait to catch up.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

