10 Characters I Wouldn’t Want to Trade Places With

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 8-1-17

As I’m sure a lot of you know, I usually participate in Top Ten Tuesday posts each Tuesday. Right now, Top Ten Tuesday is on a break for a couple more weeks until mid-August. However, I’ve decided to still kind of do my own TTT by using some of the past TTT topics that I never did. This week I’m talking about characters that I wouldn’t want to trade places with. This is pretty easy for me because I love dystopian books and I also love reading books about difficult situations. This means there are a plethora of characters I’ve read about who have been in situations that I wouldn’t want to be in. All links will take you to the characters’ respective book(s) on Goodreads.

Katniss from The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins book cover

I’m starting off with a few pretty obvious choices, Katniss being the first. I probably don’t need to explain why I wouldn’t want to trade places with her. I mean, I know I wouldn’t survive very long if I had to compete in an arena full of people trying to kill me. I’ll stick to sitting on my couch and reading about it instead.

Tris from Divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth book cover

This is another choice I probably don’t have to explain. I’d rather not have to spend my time hiding from/fighting the government. I mean, dating Four would be okay but the rest… I’ll pass. Especially considering how her story ends…

Harry Potter from… Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling book cover

This might be a bit of controversial choice because who wouldn’t want to go to Hogwarts?! But while the wizarding world would certainly be a lot of fun to be a part of, Harry Potter’s life is not one I’d want. Even if we ignore the whole “my parents were murdered and then I was shoved underneath the stairs and neglected throughout my whole childhood” thing, he’s just a kid when he’s tasked with pretty much saving the entire wizarding world from Voldemort. No thanks!

Kan from Girl on the Verge

Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn book cover

Those of you who have read Girl on the Verge can probably understand why I wouldn’t want to trade places with Kan. Someone moving into my house and then creepily copying me to try and become Kan 2.0? Not to mention all the other things she does that I won’t mention because of spoilers. Regardless, it doesn’t exactly sound fun…

Jason from Dark Matter

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch book cover

I don’t know about you, but I’d rather not be kidnapped and taken to another dimension and left to my own devices to try and find my way back to my world and family. That seems like an awful lot of work and I’m not convinced I’d be able to do it. Sorry Jason, but you can keep it.

Catherine from Heartless

Heartless by Marissa Meyer book cover

As fun as it might be to live in Wonderland, Catherine doesn’t exactly have the best life. Her over-controlling parents not only force her to do things she doesn’t want to, but they won’t let her do the one thing she really loves: bake. She becomes the villainous Queen of Hearts for a reason, you know.

Lina from Between Shades of Gray

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys book cover

This becomes even scarier and more upsetting to think about when you realize that this isn’t just fiction: many, many people lived through situations like Lina’s. So really, I can only be thankful that I’ve never been forced out of my home and sent to a brutal work camp in Siberia. I definitely wouldn’t want to have to live through even a fraction of what Lina experiences. I’m sure you can all relate.

Liberty from Dig Too Deep

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer book cover

As much as I love her grandma, I’d be lying if I said I wanted to trade places with Liberty. Who wants to spend the summer with their grandma only to realize that the local government has completely failed to protect their citizens and people are being poisoned by their drinking water? Unfortunately, this is another situation that is all too real for a lot of people.

Ava from the Mortality series

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost book cover

This is another dystopian situation that I just would not want to deal with. Ava lives an okay life until her mortality is discovered in an immortal world, leaving her ostracized and hated by people she cared about while she tries to escape from people who want to experiment on her. Thanks but no thanks.

Anastasia from Proof of Lies

Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Walalch book cover

Anastasia really doesn’t have the easiest life. First, her parents die when she’s quite young and then her only living family member – her older sister – is kidnapped (presumed dead by everyone else) sending her on a wild chase to Europe to try and find her? Poor Anastasia has a lot on her plate and quite honestly, I’m not up for the challenge.

Are there any characters you wouldn’t want to trade places with?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

11 thoughts on “10 Characters I Wouldn’t Want to Trade Places With

  1. I totally agree with you on these! I mean, I would love to live in the wizarding world, but you’re right in that Harry’s life kind of sucks. And I think I would die in minus five seconds if I ever stepped foot in the world of Game of Thrones. And the Hunger Games… yeah, just give me the part where we get to eat all the food?

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

