6 Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 7-25-17

As I’m sure a lot of you know, I usually participate in Top Ten Tuesday posts each Tuesday. Right now, Top Ten Tuesday is on a break until next month. However, I’ve decided to still kind of do my own TTT by using some of the past TTT topics that I never did. Of course, this time it’s not really a TTT since I only have six, but hey. This week I’m talking about some authors who deserve more recognition than they get. Links will take you to the authors’ websites or Goodreads pages.

Lora Richardson

Lora Richardson author pic

Lora Richardson is by far one of my favorite YA contemporary authors and definitely one of my favorite self-published authors. I’ve now read two of her three books and have been blown away by both. I know one of the major reasons more people don’t know about her is because she self-publishes her books, but she seriously deserves so much more love than she gets!

Everly Frost

Everly Frost author pic

Everly Frost is another self-published author whose books I love so, so much. She’s written one of my favorite series, the Mortality series, which I should be finishing within the next few weeks with any luck. If you’re a sci-fi/dystopian fan, you should seriously check out her books. Her series is packed full of action and it makes it impossible to put the books down.

Nina LaCour

Nina LaCour author pic

Even though I’ve only read one of LaCour’s books, I’m still confident that she deserves more recognition. Her latest book, We Are Okay, received a good amount of attention from book bloggers, but I still think she deserves more. Her writing is absolutely gorgeous and she knows how to really make you invested in a story and its characters.

Amy Allgeyer

Amy Allgeyer author pic

Last year Allgeyer’s book, Dig Too Deep, completely won me over. I ended up with an eARC from NetGalley and I’m so glad. I probably wouldn’t have ever ended up reading it otherwise which really would’ve been a shame. Allgeyer tackled family relationships and environmentalism perfectly and I really hope she writes another book soon because I’d love to read more from her.

Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys author pic

Sepetys is arguably a strange choice to include here as she is a fairly well-known author. However, her name only seems to come up when people are discussing YA historical fiction. If we’re just talking awesome authors, she’s rarely mentioned which is a shame because she truly writes heartbreakingly beautiful stories and deserves so much love.

Susane Colasanti

susane colasanti author pic

Colasanti is a bit of a more popular author too compared with some of the other authors I’ve included, but I still rarely ever hear about her from other bloggers or readers. Admittedly I’ve only read one of her books, City Love, but I absolutely loved it. She writes wonderful characters and I seriously want to read more of her books very soon.

What authors do you think deserve more recognition?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

17 thoughts on “6 Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

  1. Love Nina Lacour! I’ve only read one Ruta Sepetys book, but I really enjoyed her writing, and I have all of her others on my TBR. I’m going to have to look into some of these others! Jenn Bennett and Libba Bray are some of my more underrated favorite authors (Libba isn’t THAT underrated, but her books deserve so, so much more recognition then they get).

    Like

    • Ruta Sepetys is definitely one of my favorite authors. I’ve read all three of her books and cannot wait for her to release another! I didn’t even recognize Jenn Bennett’s name, but I just looked her up and I do want to read both Alex, Approximately and The Anatomical Shape of a Heart.

      Like

  2. Um… I only know Ruta Septys here… *awkwardly backs away*

    (but seriously, I love Ruta’s books how are they so gooooood)

    I think most of the authors that I like are pretty popular?? I like a lot of hyped books, BUT I DID love “How To Break A Boy” by Laurie Devore, which wasn’t that popular!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh I recognize Rute Sepetys (love her historical? and Nina LaCour! I would definitely lean towards marginalized authors getting more spotlight, like Stacey Lee (who writes fab books with Asian American mc’s), S Jae Jones (and her sonorous debut Wintersong), and Zoraida Cordóva (hope I spelled her name right, but she has awesome romances and a Latinx YA fantasy series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a great point – I definitely should’ve included some marginalized authors on my list!! I haven’t read anything by Stacey Lee or S Jae Jones yet (although they’re both on my TBR). I read Labyrinth Lost back in November and loved it – Zoraida Cordóva certainly deserves more recognition! Her world building is amazing.

      Like

Join the Discussion

