Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 7-18-17

As I’m sure a lot of you know, I usually participate in Top Ten Tuesday posts each Tuesday. Right now, Top Ten Tuesday is on a break until next month. However, I’ve decided to still kind of do my own TTT by using some of the past TTT topics that I never did. Today I’m going to talk about some books that I’m not sure I want to read. Whether these are books that I’ve heard mixed things about or I just can’t decide if they sound interesting enough, for one reason or another, I can’t make up my mind whether I should take the plunge or skip it and spend my time on other books. Please don’t be shy – let me know if one of the books I’ve listed here is one you’ve read and loved! As always, links will take you to Goodreads.

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro book cover

A Study in Charlotte is one of those books that I honestly had absolutely no interest in when I first heard about it. I’m not entirely sure why, but Sherlock Holmes (and by extension, Charlotte Holmes) has never really interested me. But I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this book that I’m reconsidering.

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye book cover

At first, I was really looking forward to The Crown’s Game as it sounded like it’d be a really great book, but then when it actually released, I started seeing a lot of reviews that said it was quite boring. After that, I kind of lost interest, but there’s a part of me that still wants to check it out.

Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Into the Dim by Janet B Taylor book cover

I originally saw this on NetGalley back when I first created an account and I thought it sounded really awesome. But like The Crown’s Game, I started seeing a lot of mixed reviews for it (although admittedly, I don’t remember the exact complaints people had) and mostly lost my interest in it. But again, part of me still wants to check it out.

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate book cover

This is one book that I’m really, truly torn about whether or not I should read it. A lot of people have said it’s great and I’ve seen a lot of reviewers I trust recommend it. But I’ve also seen from some trans and nonbinary people on Twitter that the way the book talks about gender wasn’t the best and I honestly wasn’t that interested in the book before I saw so many bloggers recommending it so I’m not sure whether it’s really worth my time.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven book cover

Honestly, the blurb for this book puts me on alert. It just sounds so much like “romance cures depression!” which is one of my absolute least favorite things to read. The only reason I kind of want to read this is that it’s so popular that I can’t help but feel like there must be something really good about it. I actually own this book because I found it at my local thrift store for $2 so I probably will read it at some point, but I’m still not 100% sure.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin book cover

I was really interested in this when I first heard about it and I’ve seen a lot of other bloggers rave about it, too. But for some reason, as time has gone on, I’ve kind of lost interest in it. I’m not exactly sure why. I don’t know if I’ll end up reading this, but I do have the ebook, so there’s a chance.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey book cover

I’ve heard from a lot of different people that while the first book in this trilogy is really good, it goes way downhill. I’m not sure if I want to spend my time even starting the trilogy if it’s only going to end up being disappointing. But, like a few other books I’ve mentioned, I do have a copy of this, so we’ll see.

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige book cover

Dorothy Must Die is another book that I was very interested in at first, but although it’s very popular, I’ve heard it’s not very well-written. I’ll be the first to admit I don’t always pay much attention to writing quality if the story is entertaining enough so there’s still a chance I might read it, but I doubt it.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge book cover

This seems to be a book that people either love or hate. I love retellings so this caught my eye, but like so many others on the list, I’m not sure whether it’s worth the time it would take me to read it.

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare book cover

This is, without a doubt, the most popular book (series) on my list. When this series first started getting popular, I had every intention of reading it. I even bought a few of the books. But as time goes on, I find myself losing interest in this series in favor of other books. Plus I’ve also heard more mixed things about it now that some time has passed. I’ll probably still read this series at some point though. I just don’t really know when.

Are any of these books must-reads?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

60 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. I’ve only read A Study is Charlotte from this list, and I really enjoyed it. It’s a thoughtfully put together mystery drawing a lot from the Holmes stories. There is less observation and more crime solving, but it’s a suspenseful interesting mystery story. For me, it was a quick fun read. I think it’s worth picking up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Even I am on the fence about ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES and A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE.I have CROWN’S GAME and I want to read it because some people said this has an excellent world so I am gonna give it a try.I have already started the mortal instruments (I read book 1), while it’s not so good and the characters might seem a bit irritating,the humor was good, so I am probably going to continue.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great idea for a post, I love it! I’ve read All The Bright Places and I know a few people have criticised it for romanticising depression but I for one really enjoyed it because it wasn’t quite what I expected. I’ve also read The 5th Wave which I did enjoy but it wasn’t as great as other dystopians I’ve read

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s funny because there are a lot of books on this list that I am not sure if I want to read as well!

    The only one I for sure want to read is Wolf by Wolf!

    I read City of Bones and it really was not for me! I think you should try it though just to see what you think and if it is worth continuing on because a lot of people fangirl over the sahdowhunters!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, at least we’re not alone! 😉

      I’ll probably end up reading TMI eventually just because I hate being the only person who hasn’t read a really popular series, haha. I have the first book so I can at least give that one a shot.

      Like

    • I read TID a few years ago and loved it. I’ve heard her other series are better than TMI, but I still kind of want to read it since it’s so popular and (presumably) ties into her other books. I think only one person has actually commented and said I should read The 5th Wave. Everyone else is like “nah, it’s horrible” hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well I didn’t like A Study in Charlotte or The Crown’s Game, so I’m with you there. :p I liked Cruel Beauty, but I totally get how some people don’t. Hodge’s writing can be kind of weird and confusing.

    Like

  6. I LOVED Wolf by Wolf! Such a unique and awesome story! I agree with Lorrs33, the last 3 books of TMI are ridiculous, sadly to really get into Lady Midnight you need to have read COHF. You can read it without (and I highly recommend that you do because it is sooo good!) but you miss out on things. The Infernal Devices are my favorite Shadowhunter books and you really don’t need to have read any others to read them. They are in my top favorite series and I reread them like once a year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard so many people say they loved Wolf by Wolf! I have no idea why I’ve lost so much of my interest in it. I’ll probably end up reading it at some point anyway, though.
      I’ve actually read TID and really liked it. I kind of do want to go back and read TMI just so I can catch all the references and things in Clare’s other series, but I’m also just not really sure if it’s worth the time investment. 😛

      Like

  7. I came to this post with the intention to help and now I’m leaving with more doubts about my own TBR 😂

    I only read the Mortal Instruments series, and honestly found ok but not marvellous. If you watch a few eps of the series and like it, then I think you’d enjoy the book too!

    Like

    • Hahahaha, oh no!!
      I read The Infernal Devices after hearing a lot of people say they liked that series better than TMI, but I kind of want to go back and read TMI to get the “full experience.” Maybe I will check out the first episode or two of the show to help make up my mind. Thanks for the idea!

      Like

  8. I totally recommend All the Bright Places. I didn’t think that it romanticized mental illness and despite the synopsis it isn’t one of those books that acts like love and getting laid will cure depression. Trust me I hate books that treat mental illness like just another obstacle for star crossed lovers to overcome. Also Cruel Beauty was super good although I accept that it might not be for everyone due to writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I wasn’t a fan of All the Bright Places tbh. I found Finch, one of the main characters, to be the worst person ever. Like not a bad character, just an annoying person so I couldn’t deal with him. It was a DNF for me

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The only book on this list that I’ve read was All the Bright Places, and I HATED it. Finch is obsessive and creepy, Violet is honestly a major jerk most of the time, and the entire book was problematic as hell for me. I’ felt like it portrayed mental illnesses horribly. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever bother picking up another book from that author because it bothers me so badly, even now, months after reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I really like this topic! I think A Study in Charlotte is worth a read. It isn’t my favorite series I’ve ever read, but it’s super unique compared to a lot of the ongoing series I’m reading right now. If you like mystery and retellings, it’s worth a shot. The critiques from nonbinary and trans readers about gender in Noteworthy are 100% valid, but I think the bi rep is absolutely fantastic. It’s still probably my favorite book I’ve read this year, problems and all. The Fifth Wave is great, but the rest of the series is complete and total garbage, so imo it’s not worth your time to read it! I have a soft spot in my heart for The Mortal Instruments, but I recognize that my love for that series is mostly nostalgic. Those books were a huge part of my high school years. Cassandra Clare’s writing has improved SO SO SO much since that series, so if you’re interested in getting into the Shadowhunters world at all, I would probably recommend starting with another one of her series (The Infernal Devices would be the least spoiler-y place to start).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I might end up checking out A Study in Charlotte just because I’ve heard so many good things about it and my library has it, so I wouldn’t have to risk spending my money, haha. The bi rep in Noteworthy is probably the main reason I still want to read it. 😛 I might get to it eventually. I actually read TID several years ago and I really liked it. I have heard that her writing has improved a lot, but I’m kind of hesitant to read some of her other books without having read TMI. I just need to hurry up and make up my mind, hahaha.

      Like

  12. I really enjoyed All the Bright Places, although I’ve seen a lot of people complain that it was problematic (I’m really starting to get sick of that word, lol). I don’t think it portrayed mental illness badly, from what I remember. My issue with complaints about these kinds of books is that people tend to get upset when books portray the mental illness in any kind of negative light, because they “aren’t realistic.” For example, I’ve seen complaints where characters in books about mental illness don’t receive any help/support or the people around them don’t notice the mental illness, but that does happen in real life. It’s not necessarily an encouraging read, but it is realistic to some people’s experiences and I think it’s important that readers have some exposure to that (with trigger warnings, if needed).

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I think I’ll have to go seek out those Noteworthy reviews because it was one of my favourites of the year and I thought it did a good job on perceiving how different it is to “Dress Up” as a different gender vs. actually being trans. Obviously, I’m not trans/NB though so my opinion is void if actual Trans/NB people are saying it wasn’t good rep, haha. Now that I think about it, it probably could have done better with NB rep since it was pretty exclusive to people who identify as cisgenders.

    I’m really curious about All the Bright Places because I’ve seen so many mixed reviews. I read Dorothy Must Die and City of Bones and neither of them were anything special, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is actually the first I’ve heard about Noteworthy being kind of “bad” in terms of gender representation — I was actually pleasantly surprised by how it deals with trans visibility! But then again, I’m not super aware of such issues and have been super inactive lately… was there a post/Twitter thread that talks about it more extensively? Because I’m curious now.

    I would not personally recommend The Crown’s Game – I LOVED the concept but it was just poorly executed and didn’t really live up to my expectations. I know some people really enjoyed it, but that book is just not for me. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I don’t think I’ll read Wolf by Wolf any time soon either. The fifth wave is just like you said. The first book is great then the next two just became horrible and boring. I don’t recommend you waste your time on it. But do try to read City of Bones. Even if you don’t really adore the first book the rest of the series will get sooooo good, trust me! You’ll understand why everyone loves them. Or try read the Infernal Devices because a lot of people loved this series more.

    Like

    • Pretty much everyone who has commented has said the same thing about The 5th Wave, haha. I think I’ll probably just end up skipping it.
      I’ve actually read TID and really liked it! I ended up reading that first because it’s so much shorter than TMI and I’d heard more people like TID anyway. Part of me wants to read TMI just to get the whole experience and another part of me just wants to read her other series. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • I might just stick to Clare’s other series. I’ve read TID and really liked it and I’ve heard TMI is the weakest of her series. I’ll probably end up reading Wolf by Wolf at some point. I’m actually going to be reading a review copy of Graudin’s upcoming release, Invictus, which might end up pushing me to read her other books if I end up liking it, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I DNFed Noteworthy. I was wary when I started it because of the Crossdressing plot and lack of trans characters, and that’s what made me DNF it at around 20%. The discussions about gender weren’t nuanced enough, and I then heard some shaking things about the other queer rep in the book. It was a big disappointment because I was so excited to see bisexual representation.

    TMI is probably not worth your time. I loved it in Middle school, but it’s really not a great series and it has some biphobia. If you want to get into that world, reading one of the other series set in it is probably a good idea. Cassandra Clare isn’t all that great though lol.

    I have a copy of Cruel Beauty. I haven’t gotten around to reading it for kind of the same reason as you. Just when I’m about to pick it up I hear another mixed review of it and then end up picking up something else.

    Like

    • Yeah, I’m not sure if I’ll read Noteworthy for that exact reason. I’ve heard it has really great bi representation, but I’m not sure if it’s worth the time.

      I’ve read TID and really liked it, but I’ve also heard that trilogy is way better than TMI, haha. I still haven’t made up my mind on whether or not I’ll ever spend the time on TMI.

      Like

  17. I’m with you on the Mortal Instruments and Dorothy Must Die. Everyone loves TMI series, but I read City of Bones a few years back, and I just didn’t love it. I know it’s supposed to get better as it goes along, but I don’t know if/when I’ll be ready to invest the time needed for that series.

    As for Dorothy Must Die, I think the premise is super intriguing, and I’ve always been a big Wizard of Oz fan, but I’m a bit salty about this series, because I won a giveaway for it, that Danielle Paige hosted herself on her Instagram, back in February, and even though I’ve contacted her several times and she says she’ll “look into it” I’ve never received my prize. 🙄

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I highly recommend Wolf by Wolf. It is SOOO GOOD. All the Bright Places is one of my favorite books, but it might not be up everyones alley. I also have the same feeling towards Into the Dim. I remember mixed reviews, don’t remember exactly what people didn’t like, and now I don’t know if I want to read it – but I own it. UGH hahah

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

