Top 5 Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday blog header 7-12-17

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. This week’s topic is top 5 children’s books: this can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!). Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or more recent reads. So, I’m going to be talking about some of the books that I loved as a kid. As usual, all links will take you to Goodreads.

Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins book cover

I was introduced to this series by my fifth-grade teacher who read the first book aloud to the class. I absolutely fell in love with it and quickly became obsessed with it. I don’t think I ever actually finished it because, by the time the last book or two came out, I had kind of outgrown it. I had my mind blown several years later when I read The Hunger Games and realized it was the same author, hahaha.

Dear America series by various authors

Dear America The Winter of Red Snow by Kristiana Gregory book cover

This is a series of books that I’m a little hesitant to recommend to anyone now because, looking back on the series, I’m sure that it had a lot of problems with the representation of certain groups of people and the discussion of certain topics. Regardless, I’m including this on my list because this series played a huge role in me falling in love with reading.

The Magic Tree House series by Mary Pope Osborne

Dinosaurs Before Dark Magic Tree House by Mary Pope Osborne book cover

The Magic Tree House series was one of those series that I was downright obsessed with and I collected tons of these books. I remember constantly taking out these books at the library when I was younger and later helping my younger siblings get just as obsessed with these books, haha.

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barrett

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barrett book cover

Okay so this is the only picture book I’m including on the list, but I absolutely adored this book when I was little. I think I originally read it at school or maybe from the library and I got soooo excited when I got it as a Christmas gift one year. And for the record: yes I’ve seen and loved the movie (although I haven’t watched the sequel).

The A to Z Mysteries series by Ron Roy

A to Z mysteries the absent author by ron roy book cover

Like The Magic Tree House series, this was one series that I managed to collect quite a few books from and would constantly check the library for. Truthfully, I don’t remember a whole lot about the series other than my obsession with it, but that’s the important part, right? 😉

These are five books/series that I read as a kid and really loved. I could honestly probably make a much longer list because there were so many books and series that I adored as a kid, haha. I guess not much has changed!

What are some books you read as a kid that you loved?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Children’s Books

  1. I’ve never really been into the Dear America series, but I loved the Royal Diaries which was a similar series but focusing on princesses from different countries around the world. The earliest books were very famous people like Elizabeth I, Marie Antionette, Cleopatra, etc but it later expanded to include a bunch of lesser known figures from all over the world.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The Dear America books! I loved those so much! Did you ever read The Royal Diaries series, too? I think that’s what it was called. I don’t know if they were by the same people but they were quite similar.

    Like

Let's Chat!

