10 Sequels I Still Need To Read

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 7-11-17

As I’m sure a lot of you know, I usually participate in Top Ten Tuesday posts each Tuesday. As I mentioned last week, Top Ten Tuesday is on a short break until next month. However, I’ve decided to still kind of do my own TTT by using some of the past TTT topics. Today I’m going to be talking about sequels that I need to read. I have a bad habit of starting series constantly and then completely failing to finish them, haha. As always, links will take you to Goodreads.

As always, links will take you to Goodreads.

The Elite by Kiera Cass

The Elite by Kiera Cass book cover

I read The Selection last year and actually really loved it, despite not really expecting to. I probably would’ve already read The Elite, but my library doesn’t have it and I didn’t want to buy it because I didn’t have the first book (until a few weeks ago). Now I have The Selection but I’m trying not to buy more books for awhile so… I’ll get to this eventually, but probably not anytime soon.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

This is another book that I probably would’ve read already if my library had it. I read and adored the first book soon after it came out and I thought I was going to die waiting for this one. Then it came out and I just never read it, partially because my library at home never got it. The library I used when I was in college had it, but I didn’t find it until it was the end of the semester and I was drowning in work, so I never got to actually read it, unfortunately. I really, really want to finish this trilogy soon though so fingers crossed I figure out a way to read it without spending money, haha.

Sanctum by Madeleine Roux

Sanctum by Madeleine Roux book cover

Sanctum is a fairly recent addition to my “sequels I need to read” list, at least compared to a lot of the other books on this list. I read Asylum back in September or October and liked it quite a bit (even if it wasn’t my favorite) and I definitely want to read the rest of the series. I was kind of hoping I could convince someone to buy me the rest of the series for Christmas, but that didn’t end up happening, haha.

From Origins by Mary Ting

From Origins by Mary Ting book cover

The Descendant Prophecies is a total guilty pleasure series for me. The writing is far from perfect, but I flew through the first two books and loved every second. It’s just such an entertaining series. I bought the ebook of From Origins recently, so I’ll probably (hopefully?) end up reading it somewhat soon.

Lost in Love by Susane Colasanti

Lost in Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

I really should’ve read this book by now, but I haven’t. I won a copy of this last year before it released and was super excited, so why haven’t I read it?! Don’t ask me because I have no clue. The last book just released today so maybe that’ll give me some motivation to finally pick this one up, haha.

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard book cover

This is another book that I really should’ve read already. I was so, so, so excited for this to come out – I had it preordered and everything which I rarely do – and yet 5 months later, it’s still sitting on my shelves unread. What is wrong with me?! I definitely need to read this soon though because, with any luck, I’ll be meeting Victoria in September at the Boston Teen Author Festival.

Day 21 by Kass Morgan

The 100 Day 21 by Kass Morgan book cover

I’m kind of hoping to finish this series before the year is over, although knowing me, that won’t happen. I loved the first book and have become a huge fan of the show, too so I really want to finish the series and see how it compares to the show as I’ve heard it’s quite different. I just have to actually get around to reading it.

From Bad to Cursed by Katie Alender

From Bad to Cursed by Katie Alender book cover

I read the first book in this series, Bad Girls Don’t Die, a couple of years ago and truthfully, I’m still not 100% sure what I thought of it. But I liked it enough that I’d like to continue the series. I think the main reason why I haven’t read it is simply that I have other books that I’m more interested in and have prioritized over this. Maybe I’ll get around to it at some point, haha.

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry book cover

The Giver is another book that I read a couple of years ago and really liked. I’ve heard that the rest of the series isn’t quite as good, but I was able to get a copy of the whole series a couple of months ago for very cheap, so I’m definitely going to give it a shot. Hopefully, I’ll end up enjoying it!

The Fever Code by James Dashner

The Fever Code by James Dashner book cover

I was a huge fan of The Maze Runner series when I first read and in a lot of ways, I still am, but I’ll admit I’ve kind of lost some of my interest in it over time and that’s probably why I haven’t read the most recent addition, The Fever Code. I honestly don’t know if I’d even bother to buy the book for myself, but I do want to read it eventually. It’s just not really a priority at the moment.

What are some sequels that you need to read? Have you read any of these?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

20 thoughts on “10 Sequels I Still Need To Read

  1. I’ve got King’s Cage and the final book in the Firebird trilogy on my TBR too, though I have no idea when I’m actually going to get to them as I seem to put everything else before it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, I’ve only read the first book of one of these on your list.

    I ALMOST picked up Sanctum. Argh. But then my sandal fell apart on me and unfortunately having shoes on your feet tops book buying needs.

    We did Top Ten Foreign Horror Movies this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just got back into doing TTT literally the week before they announced they were going on a break LOL, just my luck though smh. I like that you’re still continuing with it though, love reading through them. I have so many new fantasy/trilogies I’ve started and haven’t finished even though I prob also own the rest of the books haha! My biggest offense is probably A Gathering of Shadows…haven’t read it yet *for shame* I think for this reason alone, i am happy to see more duologies being written hehe 🙂

    Like

    • I think that happened to me last time they went on a break, haha. I had done it for like two weeks and then it was announced they were taking a break 😛 I’m loving that there are more duologies being written, too. It’s the perfect balance for me because I love hanging around with the same characters, but I never end up finishing longer series (or even trilogies).

      Like

  4. The only series I’ve read from your list here is the Firebird trilogy and I definitely encourage you to finish it when you can. There are some issues with it but I really feel like it the books got better and better as the series went on.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Funny, I did series enders I need to read. Great minds! I finished all the Selection books, and was left quite satisfied, but I gave up on Aveyard. The second book was so painful and took me forever to read.

    Like

    • Yeah I wasn’t the biggest fan of Glass Sword either which may be part of the reason why I still haven’t read King’s Cage. But I’ve heard a lot of people say KC was a lot better, so I’m still hopeful and excited for it!

      Like

    • Haha there are still a TON of series that I haven’t even started so don’t feel bad 😛 I wasn’t a big fan of how TMR ended either, but I still liked the rest of the series enough that I want to read The Fever Code at some point… probably.

      Like

Let's Chat!

