Do You Struggle to Unfollow Blogs?

unfollowing blogs blog header

Unfollowing blogs is something that I kind of struggle with. After I’ve been following someone for a while, I feel some sort of obligatory loyalty to them as if I’m somehow a bad person for no longer wanting to follow their blog. I worry that unfollowing them will make them upset or angry. Logically, I know I probably shouldn’t feel as bad as I do. Chances are people aren’t even going to notice that I’m no longer following them; they may notice their number of followers go down, but they probably won’t know it was me. And even if they do, why should I feel bad about unfollowing a blog that I’m no longer interested in? Today I wanted to talk a little bit about unfollowing blogs and why it’s okay to do it in case there are other people like me who end up feeling guilty.

I don’t think there should be a problem with admitting to yourself that a blog you’ve followed for a long time no longer interests you. All sorts of things might factor into it. Maybe your reading tastes have changed and the books the blogger reads no longer interest you. Or maybe the blogger’s reading tastes have changed, leading to the same result. Maybe they’ve changed their writing style and their posts are no longer written in a style you like. Maybe they’ve started posting a lot of weekly memes that you don’t really enjoy. Whatever the reason, it’s probably unrealistic to expect that the blogs you are interested in now will always interest you. People change and as a result, so too will your interest in various blogs.

Recently a few blogs that I’ve been following for quite a long time have started branching out and including non-book-related posts. They’re incorporating beauty or fashion or travel – you name it – into their blogs. And that’s great! They’re finding more things that they’re passionate about and they want to share that passion with their readers. But for me? I have no interest in reading about that kind of thing; I’m pretty exclusively interested in book blogs. And while I can (and will) simply ignore some of the posts I’m not interested in rather than immediately unfollowing, if those posts start to outnumber the book posts that actually do interest me, why should I stick around? The blog has changed into something I no longer really want to read. Like I said, this isn’t a bad thing. It’s just a case of people and their blogs changing. Not all of those changes are going to line up exactly with my interests. Why should I feel bad for unfollowing a blog if its content isn’t relevant to me and my interests? I’d rather spend my time visiting blogs that I’m genuinely interested in and not waste my time visiting blogs out of a sense of loyalty with no real interest in their content.

So should we feel bad if we unfollow a blog that we’ve followed for a long time? Probably not. I mean obviously, I’d feel a little differently if it were someone I talked to a lot and considered myself friends with. In that case, I probably wouldn’t unfollow them because I’d want to stay up-to-date with them and continue to support their blog, even if I’m not all that interested in what they’re actually reading or posting. If they’re my friend, then I want to know what’s going on with them! But ultimately, I think we just have to accept that sometimes we outgrow certain blogs and it’s totally fine to unfollow them if their posts no longer interest us. There’s no reason to feel guilty over only following blogs you actually like.

Do you feel guilty for unfollowing blogs that you’ve been following for a long time?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

34 thoughts on “Do You Struggle to Unfollow Blogs?

  1. Right on!! And sometimes you just get overwhelmed by the sheer amount you follow that you have to kind of thin it out a bit to be more manageable for yourself, you know? I don’t think there’s anything wrong with unfollowing blogs you’re just not that into anymore. It happens!!

    I also know that, especially when first starting out, it can be hard to not follow back every single person that follows your blog but at some point you have to realise that it is ALSO okay to not follow back every single person. For the very same reasons! There’s gonna be people who follow your blog where their content just isn’t quite what you enjoy reading about. So you shouldn’t feel bad or guilty for that either. It’s almost never out of spite or pure hatred. We just know what we like! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree with everything you’ve said! Over time, all those blogs add up and at some point, you’re just going to have to unfollow some to avoid getting overwhelmed.
      I used to follow back everyone and it ended up being a mess, haha. There were just so many people who would follow me but have blogs that I was not interested in at all and it took me awhile to realize it was okay if I didn’t follow everyone who followed me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this. I totally feel guilty unfollowing people. But sometimes I just have to. I follow so many people and I can’t follow everyone back or I’d never have time to read the blogs that I am enjoying. Ya know? So I have to just be honest with myself about where I’m enjoying a blog or not and then follow accordingly.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally feel guilty. I usually get emails when someone posts that I follow, and if the blog no longer interests me, instead of unfollowing, I just opt-out of the email notifications. That way I feel like I am still following them…even though they’ll prob never hear from me again. Can everyone do this? No. Bc not all people are crazy enough to get emails of every post someone puts up that they follow. I just hate missing things. I use to try and comment on every post, or like it, but that was unrealistic. So I skim.
    But I think if someone is going in a direction you’re not interested in, you should def unfollow. I used to follow everyone that followed me, and I was getting fashion and makeup and positivity posts…I’m sorry, but all I want is book stuff, too. You’ll always get that on my blog, lol!

    Like

    • I do that sometimes too – just opt out of the emails rather than unfollowing them completely. I learned a long time ago that trying to read every post wasn’t going to work, haha. I follow way too many blogs to be able to read everything everyone posts.
      I used to follow everyone back too and that just resulted in a mess of blogs that I had no interest in 😂 Now I’m a lot pickier with who I follow!

      Liked by 1 person

    • YUP, I’ve been there, hahaha. That’s another reason why I try not to feel too bad about unfollowing blogs that I’m not interested in anymore. Even if I *only* follow blogs I’m genuinely interested in, it’s still overwhelming to try and stay up-to-date with them all so why add to the problem by continuing to follow blogs that don’t interest me?

      Like

  4. Haha, it’s so funny that you posted this today since I posted a discussion about why I unfollow blogs! 😂 I don’t really feel bad about unfollowing blogs! I just know it’s not something I’m interested in anymore or the blogger/blog has changed in a way that I don’t like. There’s an audience for it, but I’m just not a part of it! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, I saw! I just commented on it like 2 minutes ago and said the same thing!
      I’m finally learning that I don’t have to feel bad about it, haha. Like you said, plenty of people will be interested in that blog but I’m just not one of them anymore. Nothing wrong with that!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I mostly unfollow blogs where I haven’t really been reading their posts for a while anyway. I doubt they would even notice, since I probably wasn’t commenting or liking their posts too much in the first place. And I also unfollow blogs that are no longer about the topic they were were about when they first started! I know some people filled confined by niches, but, really, if I followed you when you were a book blog, I’m unlikely to stick around if you start talking about something else.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m an anxious mess, so for the longest time, I was paranoid that people would notice I had unfollowed them even though logically I know they probably wouldn’t, haha. I feel like most people who end up blogging about other things are pretty understanding if they end up losing followers as they don’t really expect everyone to still be interested in their new topics, but it always amazes me when people switch blogging topics and then don’t understand why they lose some of their older followers, haha.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. TBH I am a busy person, so the time I have on the internet is limited (especially during the semester!). I have come to realize that for me it is best to only follow the blogs I am interested in, and the people I have become friends with. I will notice if someone who regularly comments and i have had conversations with just drops off the map, but that’s the extent.

    And honestly, I love blogging, but I find I do it mostly for myself! I wouldn’t lie and say I *don’t* care about the numbers, BUT I do realize that my writing isn’t for everyone just like not everyone’s writing is for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is so true, mostly about Twitter for me though. A lot of the time I feel bad because I really liked this person to follow and I’m no longer interested or because they seemed to post content relevant to me but after following that is not the case. And too often people do change their content, a lot of the booktubers are doing this and I’m just like “I only want things to do with books”

    And a lot of the time for me with following blogs I follow too many and feel bad that I can never look at all the posts, but then I feel bad for not wanting to follow due to just not being able to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, I have this same problem on Twitter sometimes, too. I always feel a little bad about unfollowing, but there are just so many bloggers or Twitter accounts that I already follow and fall behind on because there are so many of them, so why make it worse?

      Like

  8. This is the second post about unfollowing blogs that I’ve read today. The first one is by Mikaela @ The Well Thumbed Reader. I have not unfollowed any blog yet but I don’t think I will struggle with it if I am not enjoying the content.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yessss. I definitely struggle with this. Although I think I’ve gotten better because I’ve been so overwhelmed with posts I just kinda forced myself. I actually always feel better once I’ve unfollowed blogs, but the process always make me feel guilty. I’m so hesitant because I’m like “well, what if they start posting things I like?” or “what if they notice?” and I especially struggle with unfollowing people who have been following me for a really long time. There’s some blogs who only post blog tours or blitzes for books I’m never going to read but I feel like I can’t unfollow them because they’ve been here since I created my blog??

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can totally relate. I do feel better after since it takes pressure off of me to keep up with blogs I’m not interested in, but yeah, I definitely feel guilty about it and worry that they’ll notice. And like you said, it gets way worse if they’ve been following me and supporting me for a long time before anyone knew who the heck I was, haha. But I just don’t see the point in following blogs that I have no interest in. It just makes more work for me!

      Like

  10. I totally struggle with this same thing. I need to do it though, because it’s impossible to stay up on all of the ones that I’m following. Clearly, since this comment is so overdue! I’m glad you posted this though. It makes me feel a lot better. I really am only interested in reading posts that are book-related, so anything else feels like it just bogs down my reader.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been unfollowing a decent amount of blogs lately and I’m still perpetually behind on posts so I completely understand where you’re coming from. Even though I do sometimes feel a little guilty for unfollowing, it also feels like a huge relief after, knowing that posts I’m not interested in won’t be wasting my time anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s definitely hard to find that balance between wanting to support everyone in the community, getting your own blogging and reading done, and having some sort of life balance. I have yet to achieve said balance, but I’m glad this is helping you! I hate to say it, but I need to do more of it. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve recently started getting a lot pickier with the blogs I follow. I used to follow anyone who followed me and I ended up following a ton of blogs that I just did not care about at all. It’s definitely made things much easier for me to only follow blogs I’m genuinely interested in!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I haven’t been blogging for that long, but I don’t feel guilty as of right now. Tastes change and I don’t want to make myself miserable by following someone I don’t connect with and doesn’t produce content I care about. It probably helps that I used to be on Tumblr so I’m okay with breaking “mutuals” if I don’t really know them or have a relationship with someone who know has different tastes than mine.

    Like

  12. Great post! And I have a rule of thumb when it comes to unfollowing blogs (because it is hard on both of us you know?): If I comment with that person frequently or talk to them online a lot, I can’t unfollow them even if I don’t check their blog a lot. I remember once a blogger who I’ve had some great chats unfollowed me and I felt “betrayed” a bit… so that’s why I make sure it’s someone who I’m not too acquainted with since it’s not as impactful as if I were to unfollow someone who I’ve talked with for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nice post! I looove unfollowing blogs, it’s kind of like spring cleaning to me. Whenever I feel like my feed is full of posts I’m not interested in, I go to my following list and remove people. Maybe it’s just me and most people feel guilty, but I personally love doing it 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

