Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 6-27-17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books/ideas. This week’s prompt is top ten favorite books I’ve read so far this year. This was a very easy list to come up with as I’ve read a lot of great books already this year and have found quite a few new favorites. Let’s take a look at what some of my favorite reads have been so far this year.

As always, title links will take you to Goodreads. I’ve also included links to my reviews. 🙂

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord book cover

If I had to choose my #1 favorite read so far this year, this would probably be the book I’d choose. I absolutely fell in love with the characters in this story and even though there were quite a few tough topics dealt with, it still managed to be a really heartwarming story. If you haven’t read this yet, I can’t recommend it enough, especially if you’re a fan of YA contemporary. Read my review.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

I’m sure this will make it onto a lot of people’s lists this week (and rightfully so). This was such an amazing story and a very important one. I was really surprised by how it managed to make me both laugh and cry. I was expecting to cry, considering it’s a book about police brutality, but was not expecting to laugh nearly as much as I did. Angie Thomas definitely is an author to keep an eye on! I can’t wait to read whatever she writes next. Read my review.

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman book cover

This is another book that surprised me a bit. Honestly, when I first heard about it I wasn’t really interested in it. I eventually decided to request it on NetGalley because I saw a ton of people on Twitter talking about how much they loved it. Needless to say, I also fell in love with it. I loved seeing the main character, Anise, grow throughout the course of the novel and I fell in love with the love interest, Lincoln. Read my review.

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs book cover

I’m honestly surprised by how few bloggers I’ve seen talk about Nemesis. If you’re a fan of sci-fi thrillers, Nemesis is a must-read in my opinion. I truly had no idea what was going on in this story until things were revealed and I loved that it wasn’t easy to guess what was going to happen. Sure, there were some smaller twists that I figured out, but overall, it kept me guessing. Read my review.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Like Girl Out of Water, I wasn’t all that interested in this when I first heard about it, but couldn’t resist reading it when I heard a lot of people talking about it. Again I ended up requesting it and was lucky enough to be on the blog tour. This was such a fantastic story. If you’re looking for a realistic contemporary, this probably isn’t it – just because everything works out very well for everyone, haha. But it’s such a feel-good story and still manages to talk about important issues. Plus, it’s super diverse with one bisexual Asian-Australian (Is that a term…? I’m making it one if not, haha) MC and another MC who’s fat, autistic, and has anxiety. Read my review.

The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo

The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo book cover

Yet another book that I ended up liking way more than I thought I would. This was such a cute and fun read. I mean, who wouldn’t love reading about people who work as princesses at what is essentially Disneyland? I flew through this book so quickly because it was so cute and impossible to put down. Read my review.

Bang by Barry Lyga

Bang by Barry Lyga

Bang is, once again, a book that I liked even more than I expected (I’m sensing a theme here…). I fell in love with the characters in this story and again, flew through it in just a couple of days. I’m so happy that I ended up winning an ARC of this because I don’t know if I ever would’ve ended up picking it up otherwise. Read my review.

Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn

Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn book cover

I knew I was going to love this book, honestly. Right before I read this, I was craving a YA thriller and this certainly fit the bill. I also loved that the MC is Asian-American (she’s Thai, to be exact) and the book talked a lot about what it’s like to be a first-generation American and the struggle to fit in (both with American society and her Thai family). This finally released today, so grab your copy! Read my review.

By the Icy Wild by Everly Frost

By the Icy Wild by Everly Frost book cover

A lot of you already know that I absolutely love Everly Frost’s Mortality series so I’m sure you’re completely unsurprised to see that the latest installment made this list. I loved getting to see Ava learn more about herself and start to accept her differences. Last I knew, the last book in this series is coming out in August and it will be so bittersweet to finally wrap up Ava’s story. Read my review.

Amish Guys Don’t Call by Debby Dodds

Amish Guys Don't Call by Debby Dodds book cover

I’ll fully admit that this is not the most well-written story but regardless, I really enjoyed it. It was a very interesting mix of cute and difficult topics. I absolutely loved the relationship between Samantha and Zach and I adored seeing an ex-Amish character in a YA book. Read my review.

I just realized that 8 out of 10 of these are contemporary novels which is pretty rare for me. I don’t usually read much of that genre, but I’ve been on a huge contemporary kick for the past few months and wow, does it show on this list, haha!

What are your favorite books that you’ve read so far this year?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

  1. Loved THUG, it’s my #1 for this weeks TTT. I have copies of Queens of Geek & Nemesis & I wonder if the other other book Nemesis by Anna Banks that released around the same time & was deemed problematic, could’ve affected this book. Titled the same I know a fe bloggers never heard of this author, just assumed it was by Banks (including myself). Can’t wait to get to both in the near future though. Great list Kourtni 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Eliza and Her Monsters, that might be my favorite book of 2017! It gives you all the feels. I’ve had Nemesis on my TBR, I need to get that read soon! I do get it confused with the other Nemesis by Anna Banks that I also have on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read Eliza and Her Monsters but after hearing so many bloggers mention how much they loved it, I definitely need to! Someone else mentioned that they get Nemesis by Brendan Reichs confused with Anna Banks’ book, too, so don’t feel bad, haha. Now I’m wondering if that’s why I haven’t seen a lot of bloggers reading his, especially since a lot of people found hers problematic.

      Like

  3. Queens of Geek is unequivocally one of my top books ever, it impacted me so much. The representation was absolutely spot-on. I’m so glad to see that you enjoyed it, too! ❤ I haven't read a decent amount of these, but I'm totally going to get on the ones I've missed. Fantastic list as always, Kourtni! 🙂
    My TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wowie awesome list! I just read your review for The Names they Gave Us – seems like a fascinating and charming read. I’ll make sure to be adding that to my TBR for July. OMG I’ve been reading so many amazing reviews both here and on Goodreads of The Hate U Give that I feel a bit left out that I still haven’t managed to dig it out of my ever increasing TBR list!
    I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump this month, after reading Dave Egger’s absolutely horrid The Circle – The Names they Gave Us and The Hate U Give may be just what I need!
    Thanks for the great post, I look forward to reading more from you in the future.
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Like

Let's Chat!

