July Releases I’m Excited For

July releases blog header

June is almost over already. How?! I know I say this every month, but it really flew by for me. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, haha. Regardless, with the end of June comes a lot of great new book releases in July and I want to talk about the ones I’m looking forward to the most. Several of these are sequels, but don’t worry – if you don’t want to be spoiled for the earlier books, I included warnings for which ones are sequels so you can skip the blurbs!

Ash and Quill by Rachel Caine

Release date: July 11th

SPOILER ALERT: This blurb is for the 3rd book in a series and likely contains spoilers for the series’ previous books.

Ash and Quill by Rachel Caine book coverThe unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone and Paper and Fire unite to save the Great Library of Alexandria from itself in this electrifying adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.

Hoarding all the knowledge of the world, the Great Library jealously guards its secrets. But now a group of rebels poses a dangerous threat to its tyranny….

Jess Brightwell and his band of exiles have fled London, only to find themselves imprisoned in Philadelphia, a city led by those who would rather burn books than submit. But Jess and his friends have a bargaining chip: the knowledge to build a machine that will break the Library’s rule.

Their time is running out. To survive, they’ll have to choose to live or die as one, to take the fight to their enemies—and to save the very soul of the Great Library….

Even though I haven’t actually started reading this series, I’m still really excited for this one to come out. I swear I’m going to start this series before the end of the year!

Forever in Love by Susane Colasanti

Release date: July 11th

SPOILER ALERT: This blurb is for the 3rd book in a series and likely contains spoilers for the series’ previous books.

Forever in Love by Susane Colasanti book coverFrom bestselling author Susane Colasanti comes the bittersweet ending to the City Love trilogy, featuring three girls sharing an apartment in New York City the summer before college begins. Forever in Love captures the essence of summer love, self-discovery, and sisterhood, a perfect fit for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Sadie is trying to find the strength to confront a past family trauma and forgive the boy who broke her heart. Darcy needs to figure out how to make it on her own for the first time and finally accept the love she deserves. Rosanna’s boyfriend might still be in love with his ex…and she can recognize the abuse of her past reflected in a girl who needs her help. As the summer comes to an end, will they learn to love themselves and support one another with a bond of sisterhood that will never be broken?

Told from alternating points of view, Forever in Love celebrates three girls who will be forever in love with the endless possibilities their futures hold.

I read the first book in this trilogy last year and absolutely loved it. I still need to read the second one, but even though I’m not caught up and probably won’t be able to read this one right away, I still can’t wait for this to release.

Worlds Collide by Chris Colfer

Release date: July 11th

SPOILER ALERT: This blurb is for the 6th book in a series and likely contains spoilers for the series’ previous books.

Worlds Collide The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer book coverThe epic conclusion to Chris Colfer’s #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!

In the highly anticipated conclusion to the Land of Stories series, Conner and Alex must brave the impossible. All of the Land of Stories fairy tale characters–heroes and villains–are no longer confined within their world!

With mayhem brewing in the Big Apple, Conner and Alex will have to win their biggest battle yet. Can the twins restore order between the human and fairy tale world?

Breathtaking action mixed with laugh out loud moments and lots of heart will make this a gripping conclusion for many fans!

This is the one middle grade series that I absolutely love. Probably surprising no one, I need to catch up and read the last release before I’ll be able to read this one, but I plan on doing that very soon. It’s going to be bittersweet saying goodbye to this series!

Because You Love to Hate Me edited by Ameriie

Release date: July 11th

Because You Love to Hate Me edited by AmeriieLeave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

This caught my eye initially because of the cover and the idea of exploring villains. I love exploring well-known stories from the villain’s point of view and/or reading about their back stories so this anthology sounds really awesome. And on top of that, authors teamed up with booktubers to write the stories. How cool is that?!

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

Release date: July 18th

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell book coverStop the Magician.
Steal the book.
Save the future.

In modern day New York, magic is all but extinct. The remaining few who have an affinity for magic—the Mageus—live in the shadows, hiding who they are. Any Mageus who enters Manhattan becomes trapped by the Brink, a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Crossing it means losing their power—and often their lives.

Esta is a talented thief, and she’s been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order that created the Brink. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1902 to steal an ancient book containing the secrets of the Order—and the Brink—before the Magician can destroy it and doom the Mageus to a hopeless future.

But Old New York is a dangerous world ruled by ruthless gangs and secret societies, a world where the very air crackles with magic. Nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself. And for Esta to save her future, she may have to betray everyone in the past.

I was planning on reading my eARC of this one during June, but that’s not going to happen. However, it’ll probably be the first or second book I read during July and I’m really excited. It sounds so, so good and I can’t wait to read it!

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

Release date: July 18th

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana book coverA romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

First of all, can we take a minute to appreciate how awesome this cover is? I love it! Anyway, I’ve heard a lot of good things about Khorana’s writing and I really want to actually read some of it. I bought her debut, Mirror in the Sky, but as is probably expected, I haven’t read it yet. (Man, I really need to actually read some of the books I have…)

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Release date: July 25th

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody book coverA darkly irresistible new fantasy set in the infamous Gomorrah Festival, a traveling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires.

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca, and their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all of her loved ones disappear.

This sounds like such a great mix between fantasy and mystery and I really wish I had my hands on this one already. And if I remember correctly, the main character is bisexual. I’ve seen a lot of hype for it, although admittedly I don’t think I’ve seen many (if any) actual reviews. Regardless, I’m really looking forward to reading this!

Everything All at Once by Katrina Leno

Release date: July 25th

Everything All at Once by Katrina Leno book coverFrom the author of The Half Life of Molly Pierce and The Lost & Found comes a magical new YA novel about 24 dares, 3 weeks, and taking a leap into the unknown.

Lottie Reeves has always struggled with anxiety, and when her beloved Aunt Helen dies, Lottie begins to fear that her own unexpected death might be waiting around every corner.

Aunt Helen wasn’t a typical aunt. She was the author of the best–selling Alvin Hatter series, about siblings who discover the elixir of immortality. Her writing inspired a generation of readers.

In her will, she leaves one last writing project—just for Lottie. It’s a series of letters, each containing mysterious instructions designed to push Lottie out of her comfort zone. Soon, Lottie’s trying some writing of her own, leaping off cliffs, and even falling for a boy she’s only just met. Then the letters reveal an extraordinary secret about the inspiration for the Alvin Hatter series. Lottie finds herself faced with an impossible choice, one that will force her to confront her greatest fear once and for all.

This gorgeous novel is perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, with the scavenger hunt feel of Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes, and a dash of magic that evokes Tuck Everlasting.

Doesn’t this sound awesome?! I’m always looking for more YA books that talk about anxiety and not only does this fit the bill, it also sounds like a really interesting story. I can’t wait!!

These are some of the July releases I’m looking forward to. What would you add to the list?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

18 thoughts on “July Releases I’m Excited For

  1. I have so many of the same books on my list for July too! I know I’ve seen the previous books for Ash And Quill around quite a bit, but never decided to check what the books are about – and then I did when I was doing my own July releases post and had to add the series to my TBR immediately!

    The Last Magician, Library of Fates and Daughter Of The Burning are all on my TBR too and the UK paperback cover for the last one is SO PRETTY. I saw it for the first time yesterday and my brain immediately went ‘I would buy that one simply for the cover!’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I was pretty much the same way! Last year before the second book released I was seeing the series mentioned a LOT and then I finally decided to look into it and it immediately went on my TBR. Now I just need to actually read it 😛

      YES I love the UK cover for Daughter of the Burning City. I like the US cover too, but the UK one is awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Because You Love to Hate Me & Daughter of the Burning City I am very excited to pick up on release day. I also had plans to read The Last Magician in June but that didn’t quite go as planned lol so we may be reading it around the same time. I actually got a copy of Library of Fates from Penguins First to Read but you already how that goes, unreasonably shorter time than usual was given & I doubt I’ll get to it before it expires. Good thing is that I planned on getting a physical copy a while back. Happy reading in July Kourtni 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m praying that my library gets a lot of these because right now that’s the only way I’m going to be getting any new releases, haha. I just graduated college a month ago and being unemployed sucks! 😛 I’ll probably be reading The Last Magician in about a week, assuming my current reading plans go as planned. Hopefully, both of us end up liking it! I haven’t gotten any books from First to Read for awhile now and I’m honestly so glad, haha. It’s so much less stressful without their short deadlines looming over me, hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I hope they get those books in for you Kourtni! *fingers crossed* gahhhh! it sucks being unemployed, no fun lol. I hope you find something you love soon 😉 I was doing so good with First To Read, ignoring them that is until today -_- i ended up getting When I Am through With You & Spellbook Of the Lost and Found SMH…I know…I Know…no self control & no time! *sobs*

        Liked by 1 person

      • I just did the same thing, hahaha. For some reason, I’m not getting emails from them anymore so I think that’s helping me not go overboard with requesting from them. But I couldn’t resist those two!!

        Like

  3. These look great. I always find I’m so concerned with the hundreds of books already out that I have to read that I forget to find out about awesome ones yet to be released. It’s kind of sad, must try to improve on that! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

