6 (More) LGBTQIAP Books on My TBR

6 more LGBTQIAP books on my TBR

Happy weekend, everyone! A couple of weeks ago I shared 6 LGBTQIAP books that are on my TBR and asked whether you’d be interested in seeing a “part 2” to the post. A few people said they’d like to see another installment, so today I’m back with 6 more LGBTQIAP books I have on my TBR.

Like I mentioned in the previous post, keep in mind that these are all on my TBR. Because I haven’t read them yet, I may not know how good/bad the representation is in these titles. I usually take books off my TBR if I hear the representation isn’t good, but just because I haven’t heard anything bad doesn’t mean there isn’t anything bad. So just keep that in mind!

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy book coverRamona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke. Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

 

I’m sure many of you have heard about and/or already read this one. I’ve been so excited for this book for so long and I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to read it next month. I adored Dumplin’ and can’t wait to read Murphy’s latest. 🙂

How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake book coverAll seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn’t have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father.

Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace’s mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on.

This is another one I’m sure a lot of you have heard of. I’ve heard really good things about this and am super excited to read it, especially since it has an interracial f/f couple and, like I said, I’ve heard such great things. Like Ramona Blue, I’m hoping to read this very soon!

Bad Boy by Elliot Wake

Bad Boy by Elliot Wake book coverVlog star Renard Grant has nothing to prove: he’s got a pretty face, chiseled body, and two million adoring video subscribers. Plus the scars on his chest and a prescription for testosterone. Because Ren is transgender: assigned female at birth, living now as male. He films his transition and shares it bravely with the world; his fans love his honesty and positivity.

But Ren has been living a double life.

Off-camera, he’s Cane, the muscle-bound enforcer for social justice vigilante group Black Iris. As Cane, he lets his dark side loose. Hurts those who prey on the disempowered. Indulges in the ugly side of masculinity. And his new partner, Tamsin Baylor, is a girl as rough and relentless as him. Together, they terrorize the trolls into silence.

But when a routine Black Iris job goes south, Ren is put in the crosshairs. Someone is out to ruin his life. He’s a bad boy, they say, guilty of what he punishes others for.

Just like every other guy: at heart, he’s a monster, too.

Now Ren’s got everything to prove. He has to clear his name, and show the world he’s a good man. But that requires facing demons he’s locked away for years. And it might mean discovering he’s not such a good guy after all.

 

I still have yet to read a book with a trans MC (at least as far as I can remember…) so Bad Boy, along with If I Was Your Girl and When the Moon Was Ours, is on my list. I was lucky enough to win an ARC several months ago so I have this one waiting for me on my shelves.

F*THS by G.L. Thomas

F*ths by G.L. Thomas book coverTeddy had two rules—Live for the moment and never look back.

With wealth, good looks and confidence at her fingertips, nothing was going to stop her from living life to the fullest. Not even the secret she’s been forced to live with.

When Asher Rose met Teddy King, he knew it’d be trouble but it was just the kind of trouble he didn’t mind himself falling in, what he didn’t plan was falling hard for the girl no one could tame.
What happens when you take a trip on this sexy ride? An intense, messy and wild ride all the way down.

*FTHS is the Book One in a duology. It is intended for Adults 18+ for explicit casual sex, drug use and profanity.

 

The male lead in this series, Asher, is bisexual which was a pleasant surprise to me. I saw this for free on Kindle a while ago and downloaded it without even knowing there was a bi character. I got so excited when I found out and am now very excited to get around to this!

Wildthorn by Jane Eagland

Wildthorn by Jane Eagland book coverSeventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove longs to break free from her respectable life as a Victorian doctor’s daughter. But her dreams become a nightmare when Louisa is sent to Wildthorn Hall: labeled a lunatic, deprived of her liberty and even her real name. As she unravels the betrayals that led to her incarceration, she realizes there are many kinds of prison. She must be honest with herself – and others – in order to be set free. And love may be the key…

 

I only recently saw this on LGBTQ Reads listed as a sapphic historical novel and that’s really all I needed to see to get this on my TBR.

The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

The Imposter Queen by Sarah Fine book coverSixteen-year-old Elli was only a child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic in service of her people. The only life Elli has known has been in the temple, surrounded by luxury, tutored by magic-wielding priests, preparing for the day when the queen perishes—and the ice and fire find a new home in Elli, who is prophesied to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule.

But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found.

Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, home of banished criminals—some who would love to see the temple burn with all its priests inside. As she finds her footing in this new world, Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny. Torn between her love for her people and her growing loyalty to the banished, Elli struggles to understand the true role she was meant to play. But as war looms, she must choose the right side before the kingdom and its magic are completely destroyed.

 

I’ve had this on my TBR for awhile but only recently found out that there’s a bisexual main character. Suddenly I’m a lot more interested in it…

That’s a wrap! I could honestly make about a hundred more of these, but I won’t. Probably. 😉 Let me know if you’ve read any of these and if so, what you thought of them. I’d love to hear your thoughts! 🙂


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

13 thoughts on “6 (More) LGBTQIAP Books on My TBR

  1. Oooh, thanks for posting this! I hadn’t heard of a couple of these and will be adding them to my TBR. I have an ARC review of How to Make a Wish here if you’re interested, but long story short is that I LOVED it and thought it was one of the best contemporary reads I’d picked up in a long time – maybe ever. I hope you enjoy it, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

