Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hello, everyone! I’ve been really slacking with my reading lately. I can’t tell if it’s just the book I’m reading or if I’m in a bit of a slump or if I’m just busy, but it’s really frustrating me. I was planning to finally review Black Dawn today, but I still haven’t finished it (oops). When I saw Heather at The Sassy Book Geek had tagged me for this, I realized this would be the perfect thing to post instead. Thank you for saving me, Heather! πŸ˜‰

Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017

This is hard because I’ve honestly read so, so many great books already this year. I think if I had to choose one that’s my favorite, I’d probably go with The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord. I loved it so freaking much and I already want to re-read it.

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord book cover

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017

I think the only sequel I’ve even read this year is By the Icy Wild by Everly Frost. Even if it weren’t, though, it’d probably still earn this spot. It’s been awhile since I’ve raved about this series, but I’m sure a lot of you still remember how much I love it.

By the Icy Wild by Everly Frost book cover

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

27 Hours by Tristina Wright. Not only does this sound like a kickass sci-fi novel, but it also has an entire cast of LGBTQIAP characters. I seriously cannot wait!! Also LOOK AT THIS COVER.

27 Hours by Tristina Wright book cover

Biggest Disappointment

I’d probably have to go with Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. I’d heard a lot of good things about the author and the book sounded like it’d be really good, but it just… wasn’t. I had a lot of problems with it and ultimately just didn’t like it very much at all. Here’s my review if you want to read it. Honorable mention goes to Rough Patch by Nicole Markotic.

Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis book cover

Biggest Surprise

I think this is a tie between Bang by Barry Lyga and The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo. Both were books that I expected to like, but I was surprised by just how much I liked them.

Favorite New Author

This one has to go to Angie Thomas. Her debut, The Hate U Give, blew me away and I can’t wait to read more from her. I’m convinced everything she writes will be spectacular.

Angie Thomas author pic

Newest Fictional Crush

This is a tie between Henry from The Names They Gave Us and Lincoln from Girl Out of Water. Don’t make me choose between the two because I absolutely refuse.

Newest Favorite Character

Starr from The Hate U Give. She’s not only a very well-written character but also just a good person.Β 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

Book That Made You Cry

Another one goes to THUG. I think that’s actually the only book I’ve read so far this year that’s made me cry.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

Book That Made You Happy

So many!! I’m going to go with one that I haven’t mentioned yet: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde. That was super cute and overall was a really feel-good story.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

I don’t think I’ve watched any so far this year. There are a few coming out this year that I want to read/watch, though.

Favorite Post You’ve Done This Year

I honestly have the worst memory and can’t really remember what I’ve posted this year. Is that bad? πŸ˜› A few days ago I posted a piece about when I think it’s a good idea to write a negative review and when it might be best to skip it which I thought was a good post. So I’ll go with that one.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

Honestly, I’m such a “cover buy” person so I’ve probably bought a lot of beautiful books, haha. One that has a particularly gorgeous cover is Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer. Now I need to see if the insides match the beauty of the cover. πŸ™‚

Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer book cover

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray! This might be a book that I read at some point this summer. It’s sci-fi which is probably my favorite genre, it’s written by Claudia Gray (whose writing I’ve really enjoyed in the past), and I’ve heard good things about it. What could go wrong?!

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray book cover

What Book Do You Need to Read By the End of the Year?

There are so many books that I could use for this. SO MANY. I’m going to go with Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy. 2017 isn’t allowed to end if I haven’t read it.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy book cover

My Nominations

It’s time for me to tag a few people to do this! If you’ve already done it (I know a lot of people have) or you don’t want to do it, no worries! Just ignore me. πŸ™‚ As usual, I’m going to tag some of my more recent followers.


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

32 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

    • I was worried that all the hype for THUG would make the book disappointing, but that really wasn’t an issue, thankfully! I’m glad you’re liking it, too. πŸ™‚
      Names is such an amazing book! I really hope you’ll get to read it soon πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Beartown has to have been my favorite book this year so far! As far as sequels go: I am reading through the Complete Works of Oz right now, but I was so ehchanted by Golden Son, second book in the Red Rising trilogy.

    Also film adaptation would be A Handmaid’s Tale by default even though it is only slightly like the book. Don’t judge a book by its movie people!

    Like

    • I’ve heard such good things about the Red Rising trilogy so I’m not at all surprised that you’d mention it! I really need to get around to reading that series.

      I really want to watch The Handmaid’s Tale! The only reason I haven’t yet is because I refuse to watch adaptations before I’ve read the book and I still haven’t read it πŸ˜› I will soon, though!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m like sooo out of the loop that I’ve only heard of maybe half the books you mentioned in this post! I’m glad to hear that Bang pleasantly surprised you – I LOVE Barry Lyga and would happily read his thrillers no matter how much they scare me. And I really, really need to read THUG… I’ve been putting it off because I want to appreciate it as best as I can and I just don’t currently have the brain space to read heavier, more serious stuff. I hope I end up falling in love with it, though. ❀

    Like

  3. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag – Sweaters and Storms

  4. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag | Never Not Reading

  5. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag – Little Blind Book Finds

Join the Discussion

