Around the Blogosphere

around the blogosphere blog header

Hi, everyone! It’s time for another around the blogosphere post where I share some of my favorite posts that I’ve recently read from other blogs. Basically, I just want to highlight some posts that I’ve read recently and encourage you to check them out and maybe give the blogger a follow! πŸ™‚ In the past, I’ve only listed a few posts, but this time around I decided to do a short paragraph for each post explaining why I liked it and recommend you check it out. I figured it’d be a little more interesting that way. πŸ˜‰

  • Austine at Novel Knight gave some advice on writing reviews.
    • Let’s face it: writing reviews is probably one of the hardest parts of being a book blogger. It can be really difficult to figure out what to mention in your review and how to accurately convey your thoughts about a book. But it’s also a really important part of book blogging. Austine gave some tips on how to write reviews that are effective and well-written, using her own reviewing style to help explain.
  • The Bookavid talked about bloggers refusing to review indie and self-published books.
    • I loved this post because this is something that has always kind of bugged me. Of course, reviewers can decide to review or not review anything they want, but I kind of feel bad when I see bloggers completely write off indie and self-published books. I’ve found a lot of gems through reviewing these kinds of books and your reviews have a much bigger impact for these books than they do for books that were traditionally published with big publishers.
  • Christine did a guest post at Reading Through the Nights about reading critically.
    • I know that I don’t read nearly as critically as I probably should, but it’s something that I want to work on. This post has inspired me to do so even more, pointing out some of the benefits of reading critically, both for writers and readers. She definitely made some good points!
  • Mikaela wants you to know that you do not need to follow all the blogging advice you read/hear.
    • As much as I love giving blogging advice and talking about what has/hasn’t worked for me as a blogger, I really want everyone to know that even though something worked for me, it may not work for you and that’s okay. Mikaela does a great job of talking about various pieces of advice, pointing out some that worked out and some that didn’t. I really think it’s important for bloggers (new and old!) to realize that what helps for some bloggers may not help everyone so I loved reading this post.
  • Looking for more YA bloggers to follow? Amanda at Cover2CoverMom put together some recommendations, complete with a mini Q&A with each blogger!
    • I love when bloggers help promote fellow bloggers so I loved this before I even read it, but Amanda also chose some fantastic bloggers to feature. So if you’re looking to find some new blogs to follow, take a look at her post!

I think that’s where I’ll stop this time around! Go give these posts a read and maybe give the bloggers a follow. Until next time! πŸ™‚

Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

14 thoughts on “Around the Blogosphere

  1. I don’t review self-published books by request, and I don’t feel bad about it. Sure, some are good. Some really or not. And I HATE having to directly email an author with a very negative review. Add to that that a minority react badly and have harassed bloggers…and it’s more trouble that it’s worth for me.

    Like

    • I don’t really like emailing directly to the author either, but luckily I usually end up enjoying the books that I receive so I guess that hasn’t really been an issue for me so far. I can definitely understand why other bloggers wouldn’t like doing that or wouldn’t want to take the risk, though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for featuring my post Kourtni! I really enjoy spreading the book blogger love ❀ You have put together a wonderful list here that features posts that cover a variety of book blogger topics & issues, so I will make sure to check the others out. Thanks again πŸ™‚

    Like

Join the Discussion

