6 LGBTQIAP Books On My TBR

6 LGBTQIAP books on my TBR

Hi, everyone! Since it’s Pride Month and I will unfortunately not be reading a lot of LGBTQIAP books this month, I wanted to put together a little post about some books that are on my TBR so that I can still do a little promotion for some LGBTQIAP reads.

Full disclosure: since these are all on my TBR and not books I’ve actually read, I can’t speak on how good the representation in these books is. Generally speaking, I remove books from my TBR if I know there’s bad representation, but just because I don’t know about it doesn’t mean it isn’t an issue.

Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust

Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Barshardoust book coverFrozen meets The Bloody Chamber in this feminist fantasy reimagining of the Snow White fairytale.

At sixteen, Mina’s mother is dead, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone—has never beat at all, in fact, but she’d always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king’s heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she’ll have to become a stepmother.

Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen’s image, at her father’s order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do—and who to be—to win back the only mother she’s ever known…or else defeat her once and for all.

Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything—unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story.

This book was recommended by LGBTQ Reads which is a blog that I trust to only recommend books with good representation. This is a Snow White retelling with a f/f couple so do I really need to say more about why I want to read it?

The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember

34738792Sixteen-year-old Tashi has spent their life training as a inhabitor, a soldier who spies and kills using a bonded animal. When the capital falls after a brutal siege, Tashi flees to a remote monastery to hide. But the invading army turns the monastery into a hospital, and Tashi catches the eye of Xian, the regiment’s fearless young commander.

Tashi spies on Xian’s every move. In front of his men, Xian seems dangerous, even sadistic, but Tashi discovers a more vulnerable side of the enemy commander—a side that draws them to Xian.

When their spying unveils that everything they’ve been taught is a lie, Tashi faces an impossible choice: save their country or the boy they’re growing to love. Though Tashi grapples with their decision, their volatile bonded tiger doesn’t question her allegiances. Katala slaughters Xian’s soldiers, leading the enemy to hunt her. But an inhabitor’s bond to their animal is for life—if Katala dies, so will Tashi.

This is a fantasy novel and it has a genderfluid protagonist so it immediately went on my TBR. I’m really trying to read more books with trans, nonbinary, genderfluid, etc. characters, so I’m really excited for this to release. I’m a little hesitant about it because I know some people didn’t like the way Ember portrayed a nonbinary character in one of her other novels, but I’m hopeful that the genderfluid protag in this will be better written.

The Unbinding of Mary Reade by Miriam McNamara

32295460There’s no place for a girl in Mary’s world. Not in the home of her mother, desperately drunk and poor. Not in the household of her wealthy aunt, where a girl could never be named an heir. And certainly not in the arms of Nat, her childhood love who never knew her for who she was. As a hired sailor aboard a Caribbean merchant ship, Mary’s profession―and her safety―depend on her ability to disguise the fact that she’s a girl.

Leastways, that’s what she thinks is true. But then pirates attack the ship, and right in the middle of the swashbuckling crowd of bloodthirsty pirates, Mary spots something she never could have imagined: a girl pirate. The sight of a girl standing unafraid upon the deck, gun and sword in hand, changes everything. In a split-second decision, Mary turns her gun on her own captain and earns herself a spot among the pirates’ crew.

For the first time, Mary has a shot at freedom. But imagining living life as her true self is easier, it seems, than actually doing it. And when Mary finds herself falling for the captain’s mistress, she risks everything―her childhood love, her place among the crew, and even her life.

Historical fiction. Bi girl main character. Pirates. Do I really have to explain any further???? This doesn’t release until February and man, that is going to be one very, very long wait.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo book coverAmanda Hardy is the new girl in school in Lambertville, Tennessee. Like any other girl, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. There’s a reason why she transferred schools for her senior year, and why she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

And then she meets Grant Everett. Grant is unlike anyone she’s ever met—open, honest, kind—and Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she finds herself yearning to share with Grant everything about herself…including her past. But she’s terrified that once she tells Grant the truth, he won’t be able to see past it.

Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew.

I’ve literally had this book on my TBR since before it released over a year ago, but because I’m a huge slacker I still haven’t read it. I really want to try and read this in the next few months, though.

When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore book coverTo everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town. But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

I’ll admit that, for some reason, this book didn’t really appeal to me at first. But I’ve seen tons of great things about this book, so I finally bought it a few weeks ago. I can’t wait until I actually read it!

Thaw by Elyse Springer

Thaw by Elyse Springer book coverAbigail is content with her quiet life as a librarian. But when she’s invited to a high-profile charity auction, she finds herself dancing with one of the most beautiful women she’s ever met. Abby’s sure she’ll never see her again, but then Gabrielle calls and asks her on a date. And soon after, another.

Supermodel Gabrielle Levesque has a reputation as the Ice Queen—cold and untouchable—except she warms up whenever she’s with Abby. Only Abby isn’t interested in the heat between them; she’s asexual, and she’s worried that admitting as much to Gabrielle might spell the end of their blooming romance.

They’re two different women from two very different worlds, but Abby knows she can love Gabrielle. Her passion for books, travel, and theater prove there’s more to the Ice Queen than meets the eye. But they’ll have to overcome Abby’s fears—and Gabrielle’s own threatening secrets—in order to find their way to love.

I’ve been trying to branch out and read more books that aren’t YA, so I wanted to include one on this list. Not only does Thaw feature a f/f couple, but one of the women is also asexual. I still haven’t actually read a book with an asexual character, so this is another huge reason why this made it onto my TBR. Plus, who doesn’t love reading about fellow bookworms? Now to actually read it!

I think I’ll stop there because this is getting a little long and I wanted to avoid making it too lengthy. I might actually make a “part 2” before June is over, depending on whether you’d all be interested in another post like this. Let me know in the comments if you want to see more LGBTQIAP books that are on my TBR!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

 

 

31 thoughts on “6 LGBTQIAP Books On My TBR

  1. I recently heard about Girls Made Of Snow and Glass and I’ve added it on my TBR too! I really liked If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo – it’s a mediocre novel but the diversity aspect was spot-on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m surprised I haven’t heard more people talking about Girls Made of Snow and Glass! It sounds so, so good.
      That’s pretty much what I’ve heard from other bloggers about If I Was Your Girl. Mediocre story, but with great trans representation. I’m more than happy to support a trans author, so I’m still very excited to read it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I’ve heard so much about Girls Made of Snow and Glass that I’ve added it to my own TBR! Also, I thought I was the only one with When The Moon Was Ours still on my TBR. 😂 I’ve heard only good things about it, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you’re ever looking for LGBTQIAP books to read, I can’t recommend LGBTQ Reads enough! Their blog has tons of recommendations and it’s really easy to find recommendations that fit the age and identity you’re looking for. 🙂

      Like

  3. I added The Unbinding of Mary Reade to my TBR so fast! WLW and pirates? Heck yes. I’m so excited for Snow and Glass! I’ve been meaning to read When I Was Your Girl for so long too!

    I read When the Moon was Ours and it was really beautiful, but I felt like a character’s sexuality/identity was used as a plot twist? It was only a minor thing, but it made me take a star off my final rating because it didn’t sit right.

    Like

  4. This is an awesomely eclectic list! Girls made of Snow and Glass sounds right up my alley 🙂 But I understand your apprehension with when the moon was ours, the synopsis is intriguing yet it doesn’t draw me in, if that makes sense. Tigers Watch meet my overflowing TBR pile 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you like this! 🙂 I don’t know what it is about When the Moon Was Ours that doesn’t really appeal to me, but after hearing so many good things about it, I couldn’t help but to grab a copy. Hopefully that was the right decision! 🙂

      Like

  5. Yay, Happy Pride Month! I have read and loved If I Was Your Girl and When the Moon Was Ours. I have an ARC of Girls Made of Snow and Glass that I cannot wait to get to! I hadn’t previously heard of The Unbinding of Mary Reade or Thaw, but you can bet I just added them both to my TBR. They sound incredible, so thanks for bringing them to my attention! Great list, Kourtni! I’d love to see a part two. 🙂

    Like

    • I honestly have no clue why I haven’t read If I Was Your Girl yet, haha. I got it last April or May and I think I was originally saving it for June to read during Pride Month and then just… didn’t? 😛 I’ve heard such great things about that one and When the Moon Was Ours, so I really need to get to both of those, haha. Every once in awhile I go browse through LGBTQ Reads’ lists which is how I came across both The Unbinding of Mary Reade or Thaw. Otherwise I don’t think I’d have heard of them either! Glad to help you add to your TBR 😉 Thanks Madalyn! It seems like enough people are interested in a part 2, so I’ll probably be doing another one toward the end of the month! 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: The Blogger Recognition Award – Ally Writes Things

  7. Pingback: 6 (More) LGBTQIAP Books on My TBR | Kourtni Reads

Let's Chat!

