Top Ten Sci-Fi Books Recently Added To My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 6-6-17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books/ideas. This week’s prompt is top ten books from X genre that I’ve recently added to my TBR. Like last week, this is pretty self-explanatory. All we have to do is choose a genre and talk about some books from that genre that we recently added to our TBR. I had a bit of a hard time choosing one genre, truthfully. I’m sure many of you have noticed that I read a lot of different things which means my TBR is a mix of various genres. There were a few genres that I had a hard time with because I hadn’t really added any that I wanted to read anytime “recently.” Ultimately, I decided to go with sci-fi because that’s probably the genre I read most.

Blackout by Connie Willis

Blackout by Connie Willis book coverOxford in 2060 is a chaotic place, with scores of time-traveling historians being sent into the past. Michael Davies is prepping to go to Pearl Harbor. Merope Ward is coping with a bunch of bratty 1940 evacuees and trying to talk her thesis adviser into letting her go to VE-Day. Polly Churchill’s next assignment will be as a shopgirl in the middle of London’s Blitz. But now the time-travel lab is suddenly canceling assignments and switching around everyone’s schedules. And when Michael, Merope, and Polly finally get to World War II, things just get worse. For there they face air raids, blackouts, and dive-bombing Stukas–to say nothing of a growing feeling that not only their assignments but the war and history itself are spiraling out of control. Because suddenly the once-reliable mechanisms of time travel are showing significant glitches, and our heroes are beginning to question their most firmly held belief: that no historian can possibly change the past.

You might remember that I was planning to read this back in April or May, but unfortunately, I never got around to it. I came across this completely randomly while browsing the shelves at the library and even though I didn’t get a chance to read it before I had to return it, I definitely still want to pick this up again in the future.

Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh

Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh book coverAfter a great war, the East Pacific is in ruins. In brutal Neo Seoul, where status comes from success in combat, ex-gang member Lee Jaewon is a talented pilot rising in the ranks of the academy. Abandoned as a kid in the slums of Old Seoul by his rebel father, Jaewon desires only to escape his past and prove himself a loyal soldier of the Neo State.

When Jaewon is recruited into the most lucrative weapons development division in Neo Seoul, he is eager to claim his best shot at military glory. But the mission becomes more complicated when he meets Tera, a test subject in the government’s supersoldier project. Tera was trained for one purpose: to pilot one of the lethal God Machines, massive robots for a never-ending war.

With secret orders to report on Tera, Jaewon becomes Tera’s partner, earning her reluctant respect. But as respect turns to love, Jaewon begins to question his loyalty to an oppressive regime that creates weapons out of humans. As the project prepares to go public amidst rumors of a rebellion, Jaewon must decide where he stands—as a soldier of the Neo State, or a rebel of the people.

Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas in this mind-blowing, New Visions Award-winning science fiction debut.

I know a lot of people have been looking forward to this for awhile, but for some reason, I hadn’t really looked into it until very recently. Now that I’ve read a little bit about the book and have seen some people on Twitter raving about it though, I couldn’t resist adding it to my TBR. I think I actually mentioned this book in my last TTT post.

The Empress by S.J. Kincaid

The thrilling sequel to S.J. Kincaid’s New York Times bestselling novel, The Diabolic that TeenVogue.com called “the perfect kind of high-pressure adventure.”

It’s a new day in the Empire. Tyrus has ascended to the throne with Nemesis by his side and now they can find a new way forward—one where they don’t have to hide or scheme or kill. One where creatures like Nemesis will be given worth and recognition, where science and information can be shared with everyone and not just the elite.

But having power isn’t the same thing as keeping it, and change isn’t always welcome. The ruling class, the Grandiloquy, has held control over planets and systems for centuries—and they are plotting to stop this teenage Emperor and Nemesis, who is considered nothing more than a creature and certainly not worthy of being Empress.

Nemesis will protect Tyrus at any cost. He is the love of her life, and they are partners in this new beginning. But she cannot protect him by being the killing machine she once was. She will have to prove the humanity that she’s found inside herself to the whole Empire—or she and Tyrus may lose more than just the throne. But if proving her humanity means that she and Tyrus must do inhuman things, is the fight worth the cost of winning it?

I think I mentioned this one last week too, actually. You might remember that I read The Diabolic and absolutely loved it so it goes without saying that as soon as I realized the sequel was up on Goodreads, it got added to my TBR.

The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter book coverThe possibilities are endless. Just be careful what you wish for….

1916: The Western Front. Private Percy Blakeney wakes up. He is lying on fresh spring grass. He can hear birdsong, and the wind in the leaves. Where has the mud, blood and blasted landscape of no-man’s-land gone? For that matter, where has Percy gone?

2015: Madison, Wisconsin. Police officer Monica Jansson is exploring the burned-out home of a reclusive–some said mad, others allege dangerous–scientist who seems to have vanished. Sifting through the wreckage, Jansson finds a curious gadget: a box containing some rudimentary wiring, a three-way switch, and…a potato. It is the prototype of an invention that will change the way humankind views the world forever.

The first novel in an exciting new collaboration between Discworld creator Terry Pratchett and the acclaimed SF writer Stephen Baxter, The Long Earth transports readers to the ends of the earth and far beyond. All it takes is a single step….

I don’t remember exactly what made me add this to my TBR, but it sounds very interesting and it won a GR sci-fi award so how bad can it be? 😛

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai book coverYou know the future that people in the 1950s imagined we’d have? Well, it happened. In Tom Barren’s 2016, humanity thrives in a techno-utopian paradise of flying cars, moving sidewalks, and moon bases, where avocados never go bad and punk rock never existed . . . because it wasn’t necessary.

Except Tom just can’t seem to find his place in this dazzling, idealistic world, and that’s before his life gets turned upside down. Utterly blindsided by an accident of fate, Tom makes a rash decision that drastically changes not only his own life but the very fabric of the universe itself. In a time-travel mishap, Tom finds himself stranded in our 2016, what we think of as the real world. For Tom, our normal reality seems like a dystopian wasteland.

But when he discovers wonderfully unexpected versions of his family, his career, and—maybe, just maybe—his soul mate, Tom has a decision to make. Does he fix the flow of history, bringing his utopian universe back into existence, or does he try to forge a new life in our messy, unpredictable reality? Tom’s search for the answer takes him across countries, continents, and timelines in a quest to figure out, finally, who he really is and what his future—our future—is supposed to be.

I randomly read an excerpt of this on Penguin’s First to Read website and really, really liked the excerpt so I added it to my TBR. I actually just picked this up at the library a few days ago, although I’m not convinced I’ll be able to read it before it has to be returned since it’s a new book and I can only have it out for 2 weeks. 😛

Fortitude Smashed by Taylor Brooke

Fortitude Smashed by Taylor Brooke book coverAfter scientists stumbled across an anomalous human hormone present during moments of emotional intimacy, further research created the ability to harness the direction of living energy and pinpoint when two lines will merge. Personalized chips are now implanted beneath the thumbnails of every infant, where glowing numbers count down to the moment they will meet their soul mate.

Fate is now a calculation.

But loving someone isn’t.

When Shannon Wurther, the youngest detective in Southern California, finds himself face-to-face with Aiden Maar, the reckless art thief Shannon’s precinct has been chasing for months, they are both stunned. Their Camellia Clocks have timed out, and the men are left with a choice—love one another or defy fate.

This is a book I’ll actually be receiving to review. This sounds really cool and I’m super excited that Taylor contacted me and asked me to review it! It reminds me a little bit of that movie, In Time, but with love instead of death.

True Born by L.E. Sterling

True Born by L.E. Sterling book coverWelcome to Dominion City.

After the great Plague descended, the world population was decimated…and their genetics damaged beyond repair.

The Lasters wait hopelessly for their genes to self-destruct. The Splicers pay for expensive treatments that might prolong their life. The plague-resistant True Borns are as mysterious as they are feared…

And then there’s Lucy Fox and her identical twin sister, Margot. After endless tests, no one wants to reveal what they are.

When Margot disappears, a desperate Lucy has no choice but to put her faith in the True Borns, led by the charismatic Nolan Storm and the beautiful but deadly Jared Price. As Lucy and the True Borns set out to rescue her sister, they stumble upon a vast conspiracy stretching from Dominion’s street preachers to shady Russian tycoons. But why target the Fox sisters?

As they say in Dominion, it’s in the blood.

I honestly don’t have the slightest clue where I first heard about this book, but I feel like I’ve seen it all over the place on social media. It sounds really freaking cool, though and I’ve found myself really enjoying Entangled Teen’s books, so this is one that I’ll definitely read at some point.

Dare Mighty Things by Heather Kaczynski

DareTHE RULES ARE SIMPLE: You must be gifted. You must be younger than twenty-five. You must be willing to accept the dangers that you will face if you win.

Seventeen-year-old Cassandra Gupta’s entire life has been leading up to this—the opportunity to travel to space. But to secure a spot on this classified mission, she must first compete against the best and brightest people on the planet. People who are as determined as she to win a place on a journey to the farthest reaches of the universe.

Cassie is ready for the toll that the competition will take; the rigorous mental and physical tests designed to push her to the brink of her endurance. But nothing could have prepared her for the bonds she would form with the very people she hopes to beat. Or that with each passing day it would be more and more difficult to ignore the feeling that the true objective of the mission is being kept from her.

As the days until the launch tick down and the stakes rise higher than ever before, only one thing is clear to Cassie: she’ll never back down . . . even if it costs her everything.

This doesn’t release until this fall, but it 100% sounds like my kind of book. I love cutthroat competitions, so I should enjoy this one.

Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

Salvage by Alexandra DuncanAva, a teenage girl living aboard the male-dominated, conservative deep space merchant ship Parastrata, faces betrayal, banishment, and death. Taking her fate into her own hands, she flees to the Gyre, a floating continent of garbage and scrap in the Pacific Ocean.

I don’t remember where I first heard about this book either, but it’s another one that sounds really interesting. It sounds like at least part of the focus of the book is patriarchy which is something I always enjoy seeing in fiction, especially sci-fi, because there are so many ways to incorporate it in new and interesting ways.

 

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada book coverCatarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash though firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

This is yet another book that I mentioned in my TTT post last week, but I couldn’t resist talking about it again. I’m just really excited for this book and I’m really glad that I came across it.

What books have you added to your TBR recently?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Sci-Fi Books Recently Added To My TBR

  1. This Mortal Coil, Dare Mighty Things, and All Our Wrong Yesterday’s are on my TBR as well! I’m also super excited for 27 Hours and Zero Repeat Forever! 😄 I still need to read The Diabolic! 🙈 I’m doing terrible on catching up on 2016 backlist releases. 😂

    Like

    • I’m super excited for 27 Hours too! It’s been on my TBR for a really long time which is why I didn’t put it on my list, haha. The Diabolic was so good! I hear you though – there are still so many 2016 titles that I haven’t gotten around to.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great picks Kourtni! I can’t believe I keep forgetting about “The Empress”! I’m curious to see how this will go since the first book was supposed to be a standalone, hopefully it doesn’t get ruined……I’d be so disappointed!
    I also just added “This Mortal Coil” to my TBR as well and I have a copy of “True Born” waiting to be read too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, I do too! I have no idea why. I’m also hoping it won’t ruin the story. I’m always a little nervous when a book that was supposed to be a standalone ends up being a series because there’s always the risk of it feeling drawn out or something. Fingers crossed it ends up being as good as the first book was!

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

