May Wrap-Up

May wrap-up

May was kind of a chaotic month for me. Between finishing up my semester and then graduating college, I had a lot going on. I still managed to get quite a few books read and still kept up with posting.

Books I Read

  1. Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
  2. Who She Was by Stormy Smith
  3. Rough Patch by Nicole Markotic
  4. The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo
  5. The Enemy Within by Scott Burn
  6. The Cilantro in Apple Pie by Kimberley Nadine Knights

Considering how chaotic May was at times, I’m pretty impressed that I still finished 6 books. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the best time reading a lot of these. The only one I really, really liked was The Truth About Happily Ever After. Flame in the Mist was good as well, but the rest of them were just “meh” for me and Rough Patch was downright disappointing. Hopefully, I’ll enjoy my June reads more. Check out my reviews if you want to hear more about my thoughts.

Things I Posted

As usual, I posted a lot in May. I cut back a little bit on posts, but still managed to get a lot of posts up. I realized that I posted barely any discussions/original pieces this month though which is kind of disappointing for me, so I’m going to make an effort this month to get back to posting a lot of discussions and such because those are always fun (both to read and write).

Challenge Progress

Goodreads Challenge

I set a goal to read 50 books this year and at the end of May I had finished 25. That puts me 5 books ahead of schedule.ย 25/50

Beat the Backlist Challenge

2 of the books I read this month, The Enemy Within and The Cilantro in Apple Pie, were released before 2017. That puts me at 12 backlist books read so far this year. 12/20

Read More Classics, Nonfiction, and Longer Books

Again, I have nothing to add here. Shocking. 1/15

Read Diverse 2017 Challenge

2 books can be added here: Flame in the Mist and Rough Patch. I’m kind of torn about including Flame in the Mist because I’ve heard there are some problems with the accuracy of the representation there, but since Ahdieh is a woman of color, I’m including it anyway. Rough Patch was honestly a terrible book, but it still featured a bisexual main character.ย 13/25ย 

That’s my May wrap-up! How was May for you?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

8 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up

  1. Congrats on graduating, Kourtni!! That’s amazing! Sorry that you didn’t enjoy most of the book you read this month though. Hopefully, June is a million times better in the reading department for you. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’•

    Like

Let's Chat!

