Top Ten Anticipated Releases for the Rest of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 5-30-17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books/ideas. This week’s prompt is top ten most anticipated releases for the second half of 2017. Pretty self-explanatory. It’s going to be a little tricky for me to actually keep it down to a list of ten though, haha. There are tons of books I’m looking forward to that are releasing during the rest of the year. Since I just posted the other day about June releases that I’m looking forward to, I’m not going to include any June releases – that way my posts won’t be too repetitive.

The Empress by S.J. Kincaid

Releases October 31st

*No cover yet*

The thrilling sequel to S.J. Kincaid’s New York Times bestselling novel, The Diabolic that TeenVogue.com called “the perfect kind of high-pressure adventure.”

It’s a new day in the Empire. Tyrus has ascended to the throne with Nemesis by his side and now they can find a new way forward—one where they don’t have to hide or scheme or kill. One where creatures like Nemesis will be given worth and recognition, where science and information can be shared with everyone and not just the elite.

But having power isn’t the same thing as keeping it, and change isn’t always welcome. The ruling class, the Grandiloquy, has held control over planets and systems for centuries—and they are plotting to stop this teenage Emperor and Nemesis, who is considered nothing more than a creature and certainly not worthy of being Empress.

Nemesis will protect Tyrus at any cost. He is the love of her life, and they are partners in this new beginning. But she cannot protect him by being the killing machine she once was. She will have to prove the humanity that she’s found inside herself to the whole Empire—or she and Tyrus may lose more than just the throne. But if proving her humanity means that she and Tyrus must do inhuman things, is the fight worth the cost of winning it?

Those of you who visit my blog frequently/read my reviews might remember that towards the end of 2016, I read The Diabolic and really, really loved it. It was such a fantastic YA sci-fi and at the time, it was only meant to be a stand-alone novel and I was a little disappointed that I wouldn’t get to see more of Nemesis. I’m really excited that there’s now going to be 2 more books, even if I am a little nervous that the story will feel dragged out.

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston

Releases October 3rd

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston book coverSet in a near-future world where the British Empire never fell and the United States never rose, That Inevitable Victorian Thing is a novel of love, duty, and the small moments that can change people and the world.

Victoria-Margaret is the crown princess of the empire, a direct descendent of Victoria I, the queen who changed the course of history two centuries earlier. The imperial practice of genetically arranged matchmaking will soon guide Margaret into a politically advantageous marriage like her mother before her, but before she does her duty, she’ll have one summer incognito in a far corner of empire. In Toronto, she meets Helena Marcus, daughter of one of the empire’s greatest placement geneticists, and August Callaghan, the heir apparent to a powerful shipping firm currently besieged by American pirates. In a summer of high-society debutante balls, politically charged tea parties, and romantic country dances, Margaret, Helena, and August discover they share an unusual bond and maybe a one in a million chance to have what they want and to change the world in the process —just like the first Queen Victoria.

I hadn’t heard about this book until I started seeing a few people on Twitter rave about it but now I’m so looking forward to this book. I love alternate history stories and this sounds so interesting. Plus, like I mentioned, I’ve already seen a few people raving about it.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Releases October 17th

Dear Martin by Nic Stone book cover finalJustyce McAllister is top of his class, captain of the debate team, and set for the Ivy League next year—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs. He is eventually released without charges (or an apology), but the incident has Justyce spooked. Despite leaving his rough neighborhood, he can’t seem to escape the scorn of his former peers or the attitude of his prep school classmates. The only exception: Sarah Jane, Justyce’s gorgeous—and white—debate partner he wishes he didn’t have a thing for.

Struggling to cope with it all, Justyce starts a journal to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. But do Dr. King’s teachings hold up in the modern world? Justyce isn’t so sure.

Then comes the day Justyce goes driving with his best friend, Manny, windows rolled down, music turned up. Way up. Much to the fury of the white off-duty cop beside them. Words fly. Shots are fired. And Justyce and Manny get caught in the crosshairs. In the media fallout, it’s Justyce who is under attack. The truth of what happened that night—some would kill to know. Justyce is dying to forget.

This is a book that’s frequently recommended for readers who enjoyed The Hate U Give, which I’m sure you all know that I loved. I wish I didn’t have to wait so long to get my hands on this but rest assured, I’ll be reading it ASAP once it’s released.

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Releases October 31st

Beasts Made of NIght by Tochi Onyebuchi book coverIn the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a royal, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves – and his own life.

A gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy.

This is another one that I first came across after seeing people raving about it on Twitter. Fantasy is probably the genre that I most struggle to find diversity within and so I was ecstatic to hear about a Nigerian-inspired fantasy novel. This sounds like it’s going to be a great read! (And can we take a minute to appreciate that cover?!)

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Releases September 5th

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera book coverWhen Mateo receives the dreaded call from Death-Cast, informing him that today will be his last, he doesn’t know where to begin. Quiet and shy, Mateo is devastated at the thought of leaving behind his hospitalized father, and his best friend and her baby girl. But he knows that he has to make the most of this day, it’s his last chance to get out there and make an impression.

Rufus is busy beating up his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend when he gets the call. Having lost his entire family, Rufus is no stranger to Death-Cast. Not that it makes it any easier. With bridges to mend, the police searching for him and the angry new boyfriend on his tail, it’s time to run.

Isolated and scared, the boys reach out to each other, and what follows is a day of living life to the full. Though neither of them had expected that this would involve falling in love…

Another beautiful, heartbreaking and life-affirming book from the brilliant Adam Silvera, author of More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me.

I seriously feel like I’m the only person left who still hasn’t read one of Adam Silvera’s books yet, but I’m definitely aiming to change that this year. Although I’m hoping I’ll have already read one of his other books before this one releases, I can’t deny that this book sounds amazing.

Before the Raging Lion by Everly Frost

Releases sometime in August

*No cover yet*

In a world where nobody can be killed, one girl will choose the fate of the world…

The final installment in the Mortality series.

Yes, I know there is practically no information on this book yet. But if you read a lot of my reviews, you’ll know that Everly Frost’s Mortality series is one of my favorites. So regardless of the fact that I know basically nothing about this book, I’m still so so excited to read it.

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Releases September 5th

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller book coverPerfect for fantasy fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.

Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen’s personal assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.

But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

The #1 reason I’m interested in this: it has a genderfluid main character and it’s a fantasy novel. Genderfluid characters are rare enough in YA, but the few that do exist seem to be primarily in contemporary novels that talk about what it means to be genderfluid (such as Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin). So despite having seen a few reviews that mentioned the writing wasn’t that great, I don’t care – I can’t wait to read this (and luckily for me, I have an eARC!).

27 Hours by Tristina Wright

Releases October 3rd

27 Hours by Tristina Wright book coverRumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.

But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother’s shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon’s darkest secret.

They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.

27 Hours is a sweeping, thrilling story featuring a stellar cast of queer teenagers battling to save their homes and possibly every human on Sahara as the clock ticks down to zero.

I’ve been interested in this for awhile because I mean… did you read that synopsis? It sounds freaking awesome! The fact that the cast consists of all LGBTQIAP characters is amazing, too. This is probably my most anticipated release for the rest of the year. I. Can’t. Wait.

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

Releases November 7th

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada book coverCatarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash though firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?

I don’t think I’ve seen any other bloggers talking about this and quite honestly, I don’t remember how I first heard about this. But it sounds like a book that I’ll love. Sci-fi is probably my favorite genre and I’m really intrigued by the plague/vaccine plot in this.

Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh

Releases September 15th

Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh book coverAfter a great war, the East Pacific is in ruins. In brutal Neo Seoul, where status comes from success in combat, ex-gang member Lee Jaewon is a talented pilot rising in the ranks of the academy. Abandoned as a kid in the slums of Old Seoul by his rebel father, Jaewon desires only to escape his past and prove himself a loyal soldier of the Neo State.

When Jaewon is recruited into the most lucrative weapons development division in Neo Seoul, he is eager to claim his best shot at military glory. But the mission becomes more complicated when he meets Tera, a test subject in the government’s supersoldier project. Tera was trained for one purpose: to pilot one of the lethal God Machines, massive robots for a never-ending war.

With secret orders to report on Tera, Jaewon becomes Tera’s partner, earning her reluctant respect. But as respect turns to love, Jaewon begins to question his loyalty to an oppressive regime that creates weapons out of humans. As the project prepares to go public amidst rumors of a rebellion, Jaewon must decide where he stands—as a soldier of the Neo State, or a rebel of the people.

Pacific Rim meets Korean action dramas in this mind-blowing, New Visions Award-winning science fiction debut.

Like I just mentioned, sci-fi is probably my favorite genre so Rebel Seoul is right up my alley. I don’t read nearly enough books by Asian authors and/or about Asian characters so this will be great for that reason, too. I’ve already heard a lot of good things about this which has me even more excited for it.

What 2017 releases are you looking forward to?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Anticipated Releases for the Rest of 2017

  1. Great list! They Both Die at the End sounds really cool!
    Can I ask how you keep up with book releases? I never know when books are released until I happen to spot them in a book shop, is there anywhere that lists upcoming books?

    Like

    • The way I keep up-to-date with upcoming book releases is by checking Barnes & Noble’s website. They have a coming soon page which will list all the books they’ll be getting in the next several weeks. If you’re in the US, that’s probably the easiest. There are usually lists on Goodreads as well, though I don’t use those as frequently.

      Like

  2. Well I can assure you that you’re not the only one who hasn’t read any books by Adam Silvera. I still haven’t either. I’ve heard so many amazing things about them though I really don’t know why it’s taking me so long to get around to them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many great ones Kourtni! I am SUPER excited about your first 4 mentioned! & I also have a eGalley for Mask of Shadows so I’m really hoping to fall on the side of people who enjoy the read even if the writing isn’t the best lol. I know I entered a twitter giveaway for This Mortal Coil but you’re right, haven’t heard much about it all, still interested though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • 2017 has been such a great year for book releases! I easily could’ve made a much longer list, haha. I keep remembering more books that I forgot to consider for this 😛 Hopefully you and I both end up liking Mask of Shadows! I always hate it when one of the books that I’ve been really excited for ends up being disappointing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • OMYGOSH! I agree, there are too many to keep track of at this point lol, I do hope we enjoy Mask of Shadows. It sucks being let down by what sounds like it has the potential to be a really good read *fingers crossed*

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great list! I’ve heard some really wonderful things about Adam Silvera’s books, so I really need to pick one up some time. I didn’t really know anything about 27 Hours but it sounds really interesting. I’ll definitely be adding that to my tbr. I hope you get to read all of these this year!

    ~ Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover
    My TTT!

    Like

  5. Beasts Made of Night! I’m beyond excited for that one. Also, The Wood, Tarnished City, and then the first book in Cassandra Clare’s trilogy for Magnus – those three are one’s I’m really excited for. Great list, Kourtni!! 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

