I Dare You Tag

I dare you tag

Usually on Fridays, I post a review (or something random or nothing at all), but I don’t have a review ready to post nor do I have anything else ready to post. So instead I’m going to be posting the I Dare You Tag which I was tagged to do around a month ago by Ceri @ Bookmarks and Postcards.  Thank you again for tagging me!

Before I get into the tag, I want to give you all a heads up that I probably won’t be around much the next few days because I’m graduating from college this weekend! Exciting, yes, but it also means I’ll be pretty busy this weekend and won’t have a lot of time to be on my computer. I’m hoping I’ll still be able to get posts up this weekend, but my attempts to schedule ahead failed miserably (I’m such a slacker), so I don’t know if you’ll see anything else from me this weekend. Rest assured, once the weekend’s over I should be around more (fingers crossed!).

Rules

+ You must be honest

+ You must answer all the questions

+ You must tag at least 4 people

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

This one is hard because I have a ton of books that I literally have had for so long that I don’t remember when I first got them. But I think the one I’ve had the longest is probably The Hobbit? My older brother gave it to me a very long time ago because he thought I’d like reading it once I was old enough to actually read it. It’s been there for awhile…

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien book cover

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is still The Enemy Within by Scott Burn. There’s really no reason for such a short book to be taking me this long. I’ve just been slacking horribly with my reading the past few days. My last read was The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo which I absolutely loved. And the book I’ll read next is probably going to be Bang by Barry Lyga, although it might end up being The Cilantro in Apple Pie by Kimberley Nadine Knights.

3. What book did everyone like but you hated?

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I know that it’s actually gotten a lot of mixed reviews, but when I picked it up, I had not seen a single negative comment about it. So at the time, I felt like I was the only one who had hated this book that everyone else was falling head over heels for. Of course, now I know there are actually a lot of other people who feel the same way I do.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard book cover

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read but you probably won’t?

This one is hard because I have a very hard time admitting, even to myself, that there are books that I want to read, but won’t get around to. So when I say “I want to read X book” it usually doesn’t translate in my head to “I want to read it, but probably won’t.” I hope that makes sense? The best answer I can come up with is that I probably won’t get around to Game of Thrones as soon as I keep telling myself I will. I put it on my “must read in 2017” TBR, but at this point, I’m doubting if that will actually happen, haha.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin book cover

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

At the rate I’m going, I’m apparently saving GoT for retirement. Hey, at least all the books will be out by then.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin book cover

6. Last page: read it first or wait ’til the end?

Wait until the end! What kind of monster do you think I am?!

7. Acknowledgement: Waste of paper & ink or interesting aside?

I think they can be interesting to read sometimes, but I usually don’t bother spending my time on them. So maybe a bit of both?

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

I honestly can’t think of a single character whose life has been nice enough for me to want to switch places with them… Protagonist problems: y’all got some sh*t going on.

And with characters who aren’t protagonists, well, they’re either along for the ride (read: also have crappy lives) or they’re evil (and surrounded by other evil people – no thank you) or I just don’t know enough about their lives to sign up. So. I have no response.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person)

Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Wallach immediately makes me think of my school, BU. The book takes place in Boston and, if I’m remembering correctly, the protagonist’s sister used to go to BU.

Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Walalch book cover

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

Even though I’ve been thinking about this for awhile, I can’t think of a single book that I’ve acquired in an “interesting” way. Most of my books are either given to me, bought, or won in giveaways. I can’t think of anything else. 😛

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

I’m so possessive of my books that I never give them away so this would be a no, hahaha.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

I honestly have no clue. It’s not like I go to many places in the first place, hahaha.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad years later?

Quite honestly I have no reread any of the books that I was assigned in high school. I have a few that I want to reread now that I’m older, but I haven’t actually done it yet.

14. Used or brand new?

I prefer brand new, but I like used too. Especially when I’m on a tight budget.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope! I’ve been recommended The Da Vinci Code though so I may read that at some point.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

Coraline!! I absolutely love that movie, but I wasn’t really a fan of the book when I read it. Admittedly that could just be because I was assigned the book in school which makes me pretty much instantly hate what I’m reading.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman book cover

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry? Cookbooks included.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer constantly had me craving baked goods!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer book cover

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

Honestly, I don’t think there is anyone whose book advice I’ll always take. There are a few bloggers/authors who I trust more than others in terms of calling out problematic content, but even with them, it doesn’t necessarily mean that I trust their opinion 100%.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g. outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch was a little out of my comfort zone since I get nervous about connecting to and enjoying adult books written in a male POV, but I absolutely loved that book.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch book cover

Nominations

Okay so I’m going to tag a few of my more recent followers. If you don’t want to do this or have already done it, please feel free to ignore me! 🙂

Aaaand I’m just going to stop there. If anyone I didn’t tag wants to do this, please do!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

5 thoughts on “I Dare You Tag

  1. Pingback: Tag Sunday – I Dare You Tag – DuskAngelReads

  2. I thought the movie Coraline was better than the book too! There was also a graphic novel released, that I thought was an improvement from the orginal book (it was pretty cool!).You did a really nice job with this tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

