Bout of Books 19 Sign-Up, TBR, and Daily Progress

bout of books 19 sign up blog header

I know it’s only been a few months, but man, it feels like it’s been forever since the last Bout of Books readathon! This is the only readathon that I regularly participate in because I always end up having fun with it plus it’s really laid back – you’re totally in control of how much or what you read.

Here is the official Bout of Books description:

bout of books 19 blurb

I’m not really sure how much I’ll actually get read as this is finals week for me and even though I only have one exam, I still have a lot of studying to do. My goal is to read 3 books though. I’ll be making one of those a shorter book to try and make it a bit easier for me. 🙂 I want to also try and participate in some of the challenges and maybe even a Twitter chat. But again, this will depend on how much time I end up having this week.

My TBR

  1. Rough Patch by Nicole Markotic
  2. The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo
  3. The Enemy Within by Scott Burn

All three of these are review copies that I need/want to read this month so this is the perfect time to try and get them done. The Enemy Within is a shorter book, at least according to Goodreads. I have an ebook so it’s harder to tell for sure. I’m really hoping I’ll be able to get through all 3 of these!

Daily Progress

Here I’ll be keeping track of my daily progress basically just making note of how many pages I read each day. Because all of the books I’m reading are ebooks, I’m going to just be estimating page counts based on the percentages I start and finish at. So they won’t be exact, but they’ll be close enough. 🙂

Monday, May 8th

Books read: Rough Patch

Pages read: 40

Books completed: none

Thoughts: So far, not really enjoying this book too much. The writing feels very simplistic and kind of disorganized. Tons of puns thrown in which would maybe me enjoyable if the author didn’t immediately follow it with a comment like “do you get it?” or “man, I crack myself up” every. single. time.

Tuesday, May 9th

Books read: Rough Patch

Pages read: 31

Books completed: None

Total pages read: 71

Thoughts so far: Still not really enjoying this, which might explain why I’ve barely been reading. I think I’ll just power through the rest of it tonight (Wednesday night) so that I can move on to other, hopefully better, reads.

Wednesday, May 10th

Books read: Rough Patch

Pages read: 38

Books completed: None

Total pages read: 109

Thoughts so far: I clearly completely failed at powering through the rest of this last night, but I’m going to try again tonight (Thursday night). After this afternoon, I won’t have any more school responsibilities, so there’s hope!

Thursday, May 11th

Books read: Rough Patch

Pages read: 115

Books completed: Rough Patch

Total pages read: 224

Thoughts so far: I’m so glad I finally finished this book. Hopefully I will enjoy my next read better because that’ll help me to actually get some reading done.

Friday, May 12th

Books read: The Truth About Happily Ever After

Pages read: 54

Books completed: Rough Patch

Total pages read: 278

Thoughts so far: I’m not super far into it obviously, but I’m really enjoying this book so far. I’m hoping to get a lot more read today (Saturday) since I don’t have anything else I need to do today!

Saturday, May 13th

Books read: The Truth About Happily Ever After

Pages read: 266

Books completed: Rough Patch, The Truth About Happily Ever After

Total pages read: 544

Thoughts so far: I finally had a day of a lot of reading!! I got completely sucked into The Truth About Happily Ever After and couldn’t put it down. I’m very pleased with how much reading I was able to get done – I just wish I had had more days like this throughout the week!

Sunday, May 14th

Books read: The Enemy Within

Pages read: 22

Books completed: Rough Patch, The Truth About Happily Ever After

Total pages read: 566

Thoughts so far: I think after reading so much on Saturday, I was just kind of burnt out Sunday. As you can see, I barely got any reading done. Not exactly the way I would’ve liked to close out the readathon, but oh well. Still pleased with how much I got read throughout the week!

Are you participating in Bout of Books?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books 19 Sign-Up, TBR, and Daily Progress

Let's Chat!

