Things That Make Me Uninterested In a Book

things that make me uninterested in a book

Originally I was planning on posting my review of Flame in the Mist today. Buuuut I haven’t been able to get very much reading done recently as I’ve been super busy with school and exhausted from a messed up sleeping schedule so I haven’t finished it yet. So instead, I decided to go back and do the Top Ten Tuesday post from last week that I ended up skipping due to not having enough time to write it. 😛 With that said, let’s talk about some things that make me uninterested in a book.

Problematic Themes/Concepts

This is undoubtedly the #1 thing that makes me not want to read a book. I don’t mind if there are one or two problematic lines as I feel like it’s really freaking hard, if not impossible, to write a book that’s perfect with regard to representation/being unoffensive. But if there are overall themes or concepts that are integrated into the book that have been pointed out as problematic, I’m unlikely to read it. I’ve got enough books on my TBR that I don’t want to waste time on ones that have hurt people.

Bad Author Behavior

This is kind of related to the previous point, but if an author has said/done offensive things online (*cough Michael Grant cough*) or has just acted poorly and unprofessionally, it’s a huge turn-off for me. I really don’t want to give monetary support to an author who can’t act like an adult. This goes not only for saying offensive things but also doing things like attacking or mocking reviewers for giving negative reviews of their books (or sometimes, other authors’ books).

A Lot of Negative Reviews

Seeing a negative review here and there doesn’t have much of an effect on me, as no matter how good a book is, there are going to be people who don’t like it. But if I see reviewer after reviewer after reviewer all saying they didn’t enjoy it, it really puts me off. Very rarely will I keep a book on my TBR after that. I pretty much only keep it there if I’ve already bought the book.

Long Books/Series

This doesn’t really make me not want to read a book/series at all, but it certainly results in me putting it off. This is pretty much the #1 reason why, despite having the first book in both series for years, I have not started Game of Thrones or The Mortal Instruments. GoT has ridiculously long books plus there are quite a few of them (and more coming out!) and TMI just has what feels like a million books to me. I know that technically there are several series, but still.

Really Graphic Sex Scenes

This isn’t always something that makes me not want to read a book, but 99% of the time, I really don’t enjoy reading graphic sex scenes. I’m not even really sure why. They just kind of make me feel embarrassed I guess, I don’t know, hahaha. This is one of the reasons why I don’t often read adult romance.

Classics

You know those people who refuse to read anything but classics? Yeah, I’m the complete opposite of that. Every once in awhile I try to read classics and every once in awhile I do enjoy them, but the vast majority of the time, I don’t want to read classics. Some of this is because the writing can be outdated and difficult to understand and some of it is because there’s often a lot of sexism, racism, etc. in older novels.

Slow Pace

I’m the type of reader that really needs a lot of things going on in order to stay interested. Books with a really slow pace are usually way too boring for me and I quickly get bored with them. So if I hear people say that a book has a really slow pace, I usually don’t really want to read it anymore.

I think that’s where I’ll stop. 7 is good enough and I can’t really think of any others, haha.

What makes you uninterested in a book?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

18 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Uninterested In a Book

  1. This might seem odd, but there is one type of narrative format that turns me off from reading a book. If a book is written with the same narrative format as Game of Thrones, I won’t read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would add that graphic violence is a turn off. I am okay with violence off-screen, so to speak, but I do not need to get my mind drenched in plasma while reading.

    ‘Classics’.
    It depends on what you mean by ‘classics. When I am stumped on finding a good read, I often return to Arthur Conan Doyle, Dashell Hammet, Agatha Christie, or even Edgar Allen Poe. These books have no graphic sex, violence, nor strong language, yet they stand the test of time as great stories.

    Happy Reading everybody!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think we share almost all of the things you’ve mentioned! I haven’t really tried reading classics as I’m kind of intimidated to read them in English (but I also own Pride & Prejudice in German) for some reason, even though I read all of my books in English. Maybe it’s the outdated language – as you said!

    I don’t really mind graphic sex scenes in books – as long as there aren’t a ton of them. I feel like if the build-up to them was done right and it’s just one or two scenes, I’m completely fine with it! If I remember correctly, ACOMAF had some of them that I really enjoyed.

    A slow pace is THE worst though! I’m usually ready to throw a book across the room if things just aren’t happening! I was pretty close to doing that with A Gathering Of Shadows!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think pretty much the only time I’ve ever read classics was when they were assigned in school, haha. I just don’t have enough of an interest in them to read them on my own 😛
      YES I had that problem with both ADSOM and AGOS. I can see why so many people love that series, but I really struggled with it at times because there’s so much world-building and set-up that it takes forever to actually have something happen. I need action!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel like your last two comments are similar!! I have trouble reading classics because they’re slow, but I read them anyways sometimes. Also I completely agree that when authors are annoying or rude it’s a COMPLETE turnoff

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yeah, if I see a lot of negative reviews it definitely makes me not want to read a book. The only exception is if it’s a book that I was really, really excited for, but even then I end up kind of putting off reading it because I get nervous, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

