Teaser Tuesday (4/25/17)

teaser tuesday blog header 4-25-17

I was actually planning on participating in Top Ten Tuesday this week, but I’ve been absolutely swamped with homework for the past several days and haven’t had time to put together my list. Teaser Tuesday is a lot less time-consuming (but still fun), so here we are! I really do like this week’s TTT theme (things that make you not want to read a book), so I’ll probably do it some other time, just not as part of the meme. Anyway, onto Teaser Tuesday…

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Purple Booker. Everyone is welcome to join in.

Rules:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! Everyone loves Teaser Tuesday.

Over the weekend I started reading my eARC of The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord. I’m over a third of the way through and absolutely adore this book. Even though I’m an atheist, I find it really interesting to read about a Christian character (and not just because she’s questioning her faith, haha), especially since religious characters seem few and far between in YA. Here’s a teaser for you all (just keep in mind this is from an ARC, so the final quote may not be the same!):

“Every single night, I stare up at my bedroom’s speckled ceiling, wondering if God can see me. Wondering if He feels even a little bit bad.”

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the book and want to learn a little bit more, here’s the blurb:

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord book coverLucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters—in faith, in love, and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp—one for troubled kids—Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

 

Is this on your TBR?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

12 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday (4/25/17)

  1. This book sounds interesting plot wise, but sometimes super religious characters annoy me, so i’ll be interested to see what you think of this book as you continue!! I love the quote you chose because I feel like it makes you want to know what all of her problems are and it really drew me to the story!!

    Also: I’m currently running the book blogger awards, and you can nominate people any time in April (the next 5 days). If you’re interested in sharing the book blogger love, see the full rules here: https://writethroughthenight.wordpress.com/2017/04/05/the-book-blogger-awards/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I finished it yesterday and I definitely recommend giving it a shot. The MC doesn’t try to push her faith on others at all which I was really happy about. It’s really just her trying to figure out how to reconcile her faith with all these bad things that are happening. And other characters don’t really pressure her to feel one way or another either.

      Like

  2. I’m so glad to hear you are enjoying this one, especially since it’s on my list of most anticipated releases! Looks like I will have to get a copy ASAP; great teaser. Happy reading! Here’s my teaser of Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

