The Sunshine Blogger Award

The Sunshine Blogger Award

A bit over a month ago, Sofia at Bookish Wanderess and Emma at A Dreamer’s Library both tagged me to do the Sunshine Blogger Award. Thank you both for tagging me! I’ve done this award before, but I always enjoy doing tags where the person who tagged you has to come up with the questions so I’m doing it again. 🙂

The rules are:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate eleven blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog.

First up, Sofia’s questions:

1.What are your favorite types of blog posts to read?

I love reading both discussion posts and monthly wrap-ups. Discussions are usually what makes each blog unique and I just love getting to see what the blogger thinks about certain things. Monthly wrap-ups are a lot of fun to read too since it gives me a chance to see what the blogger’s been reading and whether or not they liked those books. Plus they usually talk about posts they’ve recently written and it gives me a chance to catch up on things I missed, haha.

2.Who is your favorite female character?

Katniss is the first one who comes to mind, but truthfully there are a ton of female characters I love.

3.What is your favorite fictional sport? e.g. Quidditch, Exy

Quidditch is the only one I can think of at the moment, so Quidditch wins, haha!

4.What is your favorite standalone book?

Oh geez, this is a hard question! Can I cheat and say all three of Ruta Sepetys’ books because I love, love, love her writing.

5.What is the last word of the last book you finished?

The last book I finished was Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman and its last word (at least in the ARC) is “home.”

6.Do you like to reread books?

I have a complicated relationship with rereading books. I like doing it, but rarely do just because I have so many unread books that I feel like I’m wasting time by rereading old ones. I still do it sometimes though, especially if I need to remind myself of what happened before the next book in a series comes out, so I’ll say yes, I like rereading books.

7.What character everyone seems to hate, but you love?

I honestly can’t think of a character for this because I’m usually on the opposite end: I tend to hate characters that everyone else loves, hahaha.

8.Who is your dreamcast/fancast for the main character of your favorite book?

Are you seriously trying to make me choose a favorite book?! I refuse!

9.Which was the last book that made you cry?

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I’m still amazed by how that book made me cry and laugh several times.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

10.What book do you want to read but you haven’t read it because you are intimidated by it?

There are a ton, but the first that I think of is the Game of Thrones series. I bought the first book probably around 5 years ago and yet I still haven’t read it because it’s just so long.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin book cover

11.What is one of your unpopular opinions?

I liked the ending of Allegiant. Need I say more?

And now for Emma’s questions (well, me picking 11 out of the questions she answered):

1. What is the last book you read until the end but wish you’d DNFed?

Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. I wouldn’t say I necessarily wish I had DNFed it, but I certainly wouldn’t be upset with myself if I had.

Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis book cover

2. What is one lesson a book taught you?

Hmm… is it totally cheesy to say that a lot of books have taught me that things are a lot easier to get through if you have friends/family to help you through them? It feels cheesy to even write that out, but that’s something that comes up over and over again in the books I read. So that’s what I’m going with, haha.

3. If you could meet any author from the past, who would you meet?

Either Jack London or Harriet Beecher Stowe since I’m apparently related to them. It’d be cool.

4. What’s  your favourite reading spot?

Considering the only places I ever read are in my bed or on my living room couch, I don’t have a whole lot of options here, hahaha. I’ll go with in my bed.

5. What’s your #1 bookish pet peeve?

When publishers do cover changes from really gorgeous covers to ugly or cliche covers. I will never stop complaining about the cover change for The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman.

6. What’s one book you think would work better in a different format (TV show, manga, video game, you name it)?

I don’t know if it would necessarily work better, but ever since Ava at Bookishness and Tea mentioned how she’d like to The Bone Witch adapted to film, I can’t stop thinking about how awesome it would be.

7. Name a trope you’ll never get tired of reading.

There are honestly a LOT. Enemies to lovers is a favorite of mine.

8. What’s one book you wish you’d written yourself?

The Hunger Games or Harry Potter because then I’d be really rich, hahaha.

9. What’s your favourite person/tense to read (first person present/third person past)?

I like first person present. It helps me connect better with the main character if I read things from “inside” their head.

10. Multiple points of view or unique points of view?

It depends on the book, I think. Generally speaking, I do like multiple POVs, but it has to be done well and the POVs have to feel separate.

11. Have you ever changed your mind about a book/author/genre because of a review or discussion you’ve read on a blog or Goodreads? If you did, explain a bit.

YUP. This happens a lot to me, actually. Authors routinely expose themselves as pretty racist or just bad people on Twitter, haha. (I’m looking at you, Michael Grant.) Once that happens, I don’t ever really view them or their work the same way. But from a less personal, more critical point of view, when I read Nemesis by Anna Banks, I really liked it until I saw a review from The Bookavid talking about how much it appropriates Egyptian culture and whitewashes things. Yikes.

I’m pretty behind on homework right now and probably shouldn’t have even taken the time to write this, haha. So because of that, I’m not going to go through and find people to tag or come up with questions. If anyone really wants to do this, feel free to grab some of the questions I answered.


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

8 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. I recently got into Ruta Sepetys with Salt to the Sea… I had a long recovery period with that book I loved it so much! She truly is a master in historical fiction. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

