Top 5 LGBTQIAP Books I’ve Read

Top 5 Wednesday blog header 4-19-17

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. All links will take you to Goodreads. This week’s topic is top five LGBTQ+ books we’ve read. These can be books that feature LGBTQIAP characters or that are written by LGBTQIAP authors. Honestly, a lot of the books that I’ve read with LGBTQIAP characters are books that I read years ago, so I don’t remember a lot about them. So I’m going to stick to books I’ve read more recently.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

This was the very first book that came to mind when I saw this topic. I just read this last month and it’s still a book that I’ve been recommending every chance I get. The representation in this book of bisexuality, social anxiety, and autism have all gotten a lot of praise both from myself and other reviewers. I’m really not surprised since those are all identities/experiences shared by the author. One of the reasons why I had to include this in the list is that even though Charlie is bisexual, this isn’t a coming out or “accepting myself” narrative. As important and interesting as those narratives are, it’s nice to see a character who has already gone through that and whose sexuality is just a part of who she is rather than a source of major conflict.

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

Even though this is a middle-grade series and I know a lot of bloggers tend to shy away from MG, this series is so good and I absolutely adore it. Although there aren’t any LGBTQIAP characters that I’m aware of (although there may be as I’m not caught up with the series), Chris Colfer is gay so I’m including it. If you like fairy-tale retellings and mash-ups, seriously give this series a try because it’s really great.

Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer

Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer book cover

Admittedly it’s been quite awhile since I’ve read this book so I don’t really remember the details of it, but I still think back on it pretty fondly. It’s kind of funny because when I initially finished it, I thought it was just okay but as time goes by, I realize how much I really enjoyed this. It’s mostly a contemporary but it has some sci-fi(ish) elements to it as well and although sexuality isn’t really the main focus, there is a character who is exploring her sexuality (very vague statement, I know, but I don’t remember if a label is ever explicitly used). I think I may reread this book sometime soon and pay more attention to the way sexuality is explored and represented (and maybe write a proper review for it).

Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab

 

I was pleasantly surprised by Rhy’s sexuality in this series. Even if no explicit labels are ever used (at least, I don’t think they ever are…), I really loved that Rhy just doesn’t seem to care about gender at all when it comes to romantic/sexual relationships. I’m sure I don’t need to rave about this series as so many other people do so I’ll just leave it at that. 😉

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

labyrinth lost by zoraida cordova book cover

This book isn’t perfect, but I still really adored it and recommend it pretty frequently. I was initially interested in it because of the Latinx representation and then I found out the MC was bisexual and had to read it ASAP. Alex’s sexuality isn’t really known until towards the end of the book, but I’m really looking forward to seeing her explore it more in the next book, Circle Unbroken. If you haven’t read Labyrinth Lost yet, the Kindle edition is only $2.99 at the time I’m writing this!

These are 5 LGBTQIAP books that I read and enjoyed. Are there any others you’d add?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

13 thoughts on “Top 5 LGBTQIAP Books I’ve Read

  1. I still need to read Queens of Geek and Labyrinth Lost; both have been on my TBR because of all the hype surrounding them! And, ugh, I love Rhys from Shades of Magic. Probably my favorite character from the series (though I do love Alucard as well). ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to have to read Labyrinth Lost – I keep seeing this crop up everywhere. Queens of Geek also sounds interesting.

    I think one of my favourite LGBT themed YA books is Freak Show by James St James. It’s SO good.

    Like

Join the Discussion

