Spindle Fire Event Recap

Spindle Fire event recap blog header

About a month ago, I found out that Lexa Hillyer would be having a tour event at a bookstore near me to help promote her upcoming (now released) book, Spindle Fire. Since I’ve read Hillyer’s previous book, Proof of Forever, and was really looking forward to trying out Spindle Fire, I got pretty excited and wanted to go. Then once I saw that Rhoda Belleza (author of Empress of a Thousand Skies) and Adam Silvera would be there too, that sealed the deal. Even though I was a bit hesitant about going by myself, I couldn’t pass up on the chance to meet these three.

The event was this past Monday at Trident Booksellers and Cafe in Boston. I’d only been to Trident one other time even though it’s literally a ten-minute walk from my dorm, so I was happy to go back and have a chance to browse around the store before the event started. The event was held in a small cafe area so it was a pretty intimate setting which I really liked. It wasn’t overly crowded either which was nice. It was still a bit hard for me to get a nice picture though so this will have to do…

Spindle Fire event

This was from at the beginning of the event when Lexa was reading an excerpt from Spindle Fire. I have to admit, the small part that she read was really interesting and I’m definitely curious to dive into the book and read more of it myself!

After she finished the reading, Adam started asking her and Rhoda some questions as he was technically moderating for the event which was followed by an open Q&A with the audience. One of the questions Adam asked them was how writing sequels differed from writing the first book in a series or stand-alones. Both Rhoda and Lexa mentioned how they wished they could change small things in their first book because there were often things they didn’t really think about in the first book that ended up having a big impact on the second book. Lexa mentioned that there’s a character who doesn’t have a very big part in Spindle Fire but who ends up playing a much bigger part in the second book and so she wished that she had given the character just a little bit more time on the page in the first book so she had more to build on. I couldn’t help but laugh a little bit when Rhoda said that she ended up having to change things in her second book (which isn’t out yet) because of one line in Empress of a Thousand Skies that was pretty much a throw-away line. It just goes to show how complex and fine-tuned writing can be!

At the end of the event, everyone had a chance to buy the authors’ books and get them signed. I ended up buying Spindle Fire, Empress of a Thousand Skies, and More Happy Than Not and got them all signed. All three authors were really nice (although I was in a bit of an awkward spot when I got my copy of Spindle Fire signed because I was in line between members of Lexa’s family and some of her old friends) and I’m really glad I had the chance to meet them all. I’m also really excited that Adam will be attending the Boston Teen Author Festival in September since I’ll hopefully be going to that and I’d love the chance to see him again!

I had a lot of fun at this event and I’m really glad that I decided to go even though I was nervous about going by myself (I’m sure this isn’t a surprise to a lot of you, as I’ve mentioned having social anxiety before). But, like I said, all of the authors were really nice so I really had no reason to be nervous. 🙂 If you ever get the chance to meet any of these three authors, I’d absolutely recommend doing so!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

12 thoughts on “Spindle Fire Event Recap

  1. Ooh, it looks like you had so much fun! I would love to meet Adam Silvera; I love his books! I feel you on the social anxiety thing and meeting authors; I remember being terrified, but authors are so sweet and always make you feel comfortable, so I really had nothing to worry about! Author signings are probably the only thing I’ll come out of my shell for. 😄

    Like

    • Yes I did!! I was really excited to meet Adam even though I haven’t even read any of his books, haha. But at least I own one of them now, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon! I completely agree – authors are always so nice and definitely make me feel a lot more comfortable than I do in other social settings!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, I loved this! So glad you had a great time Kourtni ♥ It would have been so cool to meet Adam! I loved More Happy Than Not SO much. Glad it wasn’t too bad going by yourself either. I’m constantly going to concerts by myself and I love it, haha. It can be a bit awkward sometimes during the ‘in between’ bits, but besides that I love it because I don’t have to worry about anyone else except myself 😂 Also that discussion about sequels sounded so interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy that I finally have one of Adam Silvera’s books to read, haha. I’ve heard sooo many great things about his writing from tons of bloggers. I totally get what you mean – when the event was actually going, it wasn’t awkward at all but before the event started, everyone was sitting there chatting with the people they went with and I was just sitting there haha. But like I said, I still had fun 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow, this sounds like such a fun event! I love Adam; he’s definitely one of my favorite authors to meet at events. He and I had, like, a ten minute conversation about sexuality that held up his signing line the first time I met him, and it was so great. Both Spindle Fire and Empress of a Thousand Skies are on my TBR! Anyways, I’m glad you had a fun time, Kourtni! ❤ I also have social anxiety, so I definitely empathize with your situation– I'm so happy you were able to go to the event and enjoy it!!

    Like

    • It was!! Adam definitely seem s like someone who is really easy to talk to – I saw lots of people standing there talking to him for awhile.
      I’m really glad I was able to enjoy it too! I’ve been trying to get myself to go out and do things that I’m normally too anxious to do, so I was glad this worked out, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

