Top 5 SFF Books On My TBR

Top 5 Wednesday SFF books on my TBR

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. All links will take you to Goodreads. This week’s topic is top five SFF books on your TBR. For those of you who don’t know, SFF stands for science-fiction/fantasy. Basically, what sci-fi and fantasy books are on your TBR that you want to read ASAP? I could come up with soooo many books for this topic since sci-fi is one of my favorite genres (as is fantasy, to a lesser degree). Let’s see if I can keep it at 5. 😉

As a bit of a side note, I decided not to include books that I have on my April TBR since I’ve already talked about those pretty recently on my blog and don’t want to make my posts seem repetitive. So the books I’m including in today’s post will be ones that I likely won’t get to this month, but that I really want to try to read soon.

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray book coverNoemi Vidal is a teen soldier from the planet Genesis, once a colony of Earth that’s now at war for its independence. The humans of Genesis have fought Earth’s robotic “mech” armies for decades with no end in sight.

After a surprise attack, Noemi finds herself stranded in space on an abandoned ship where she meets Abel, the most sophisticated mech prototype ever made. One who should be her enemy. But Abel’s programming forces him to obey Noemi as his commander, which means he has to help her save Genesis–even though her plan to win the war will kill him.

Together they embark on a daring voyage through the galaxy. Before long, Noemi begins to realize Abel may be more than a machine, and, for his part, Abel’s devotion to Noemi is no longer just a matter of programming.

This book just released yesterday, but I’ve already heard quite a lot of good things about it. I’ve read Claudia Gray’s A Thousand Pieces of You in the past which I absolutely adored (and I’m hoping to finally read the sequel this month) so I have high hopes for this one.

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell book coverStop the Magician.
Steal the book.
Save the future.

In modern day New York, magic is all but extinct. The remaining few who have an affinity for magic—the Mageus—live in the shadows, hiding who they are. Any Mageus who enters Manhattan becomes trapped by the Brink, a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Crossing it means losing their power—and often their lives.

Esta is a talented thief, and she’s been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order that created the Brink. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1902 to steal an ancient book containing the secrets of the Order—and the Brink—before the Magician can destroy it and doom the Mageus to a hopeless future.

But Old New York is a dangerous world ruled by ruthless gangs and secret societies, a world where the very air crackles with magic. Nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself. And for Esta to save her future, she may have to betray everyone in the past.

The Last Magician doesn’t release until this summer, but I luckily won’t have to wait that long to read it since I got an eARC from Edelweiss (side note: this was my first EW approval). This book sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it!! And isn’t that cover super cool?!

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller book coverPerfect for fantasy fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.

Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen’s personal assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.

But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

Honestly, 99% of the reason why I want to read this is that its main character is genderfluid and yet it’s a fantasy book, not a contemporary book about accepting yourself or something like that. I’ve not heard too much about this one yet, which is understandable seeing as it doesn’t release until September, but this is another one I have an eARC of and I’m hoping to read it very soon.

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler book coverWhen unattended environmental and economic crises lead to social chaos, not even gated communities are safe. In a night of fire and death Lauren Olamina, a minister’s young daughter, loses her family and home and ventures out into the unprotected American landscape. But what begins as a flight for survival soon leads to something much more: a startling vision of human destiny… and the birth of a new faith.

I had actually planned to read this back in February, but then ended up having an atrocious reading month and didn’t get to it. Unfortunately, in March I had a lot of review copies to get to and I still do, so this one is lower priority now. Regardless, I’m really hoping I’ll have time to get to it soon. I haven’t read a book by Octavia E. Butler before, but I hear absolutely fantastic things about her work so I’m eager to try it out.

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Timekeeper by Tara Sim book coverTwo o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

I’ve heard so many good things about Timekeeper. I won it in a giveaway several months ago and I’m honestly really bummed that I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Hopefully, I’ll be able to fix that soon! I hear the love interest in this book is pansexual which is another reason why I really want to read it.

Have you read any of these? What SFF books do you want to read soon?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

31 thoughts on “Top 5 SFF Books On My TBR

  1. I haven’t read any of these yet – I requested an eARC of Mask Of Shadows but wasn’t approved for it. But I’m definitely really looking forward to it! They got me with the words Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo! Seeing how I really like both authors books, I am hoping this will be right up my ally!

    I also just added Timekeeper and The Last Magician to my TBR! 🙂

    Like

    • Aw, that sucks! I feel like I get pretty lucky with Sourcebooks. They tend to approve most of my requests. I’ve seen one review where the blogger said the comparisons to Maas and Bardugo ended up leaving them disappointed with the book. But seeing as how I haven’t read either of those authors (I know, I know), I don’t think that’ll be an issue for me 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • I only request titles from Sourcebooks from NetGalley and Edelweiss. NetGalley is where I request most of the eARCs I get. But with eARCs more generally, depending on if you’re open to reading self-published books, you can also try Xpresso Book Tours and YA Bound Book Tours. If I request from them, I’m usually approved (although not always). Of course a lot of the opportunities with them are for blog tours, but they have regular review opportunities too. Hope that helps! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that cover for Defy the Stars! I’m a bit wary of Claudia Gray after the post Liam wrote re: sexual assault in the Million Worlds series, but I’m kind of intrigued by Defy the Stars as I’ve heard good things about it.

    And I can recommend Timekeeper well enough! It’s a bit on the simpler/young-ish side, but I thought the world-building was lovely and the characters likable enough. Hope you like it! ❤

    Like

    • Oh yeah, I always forget about that because I honestly didn’t pick up on it when I read the book and don’t actually see that many people mention it when they talk about the series. Still, I like her writing in general so I’ll read more from her.
      I’ve heard a lot of good things about Timekeeper! Hopefully I’ll get to it relatively soon.

      Like

  3. The Last Magician sounds great – I’m adding to my TBR! There’s a book called City of Circles by Jess Richards coming out in the summer that I’m really looking forward to – not strictly SFF but it’s been compared to books like the Night Circus – which I loved!

    Like

  4. I read an e-arc from netgalley of Defy the Stars last month and adored it! I also have Time keeper and Mask of shadows on my tbr on goodreads. Sounds like some great books 🙂

    Like

  5. I really enjoyed Timekeeper, and I’m also so excited for Mask of Shadows! I’m hoping to read my e-ARC of it soon. I hadn’t previously heard about The Last Magician, but it sounds right up my alley! Thanks for putting it on my radar. 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t think I’ve seen any bloggers talking about The Last Magician! I only ended up finding out about it because I came across it randomly on Edelweiss. I can’t wait to read it though. It sounds like it’ll be a good read. 🙂

      Like

  6. I read an ARC of Mask of Shadows and was pretty disappointed. It promised much and delivered little. But that’s just my opinion. You may have better luck with it. I also read Timekeeper and had the same experience. But what I am really excited for is The Last Magician. It sounds so good. It has magic and time travel! How awesome!

    Like

    • I think/am hoping that since I haven’t read Bardugo or Maas yet, Mask of Shadows being compared to those won’t lead me to be disappointed. I’ve seen a few people say that those comparisons got their hopes up way too high and that’s why they were disappointed with it. So I’m hoping my ignorance of those authors will help me out, haha. The Last Magician sounds amazing and I’m surprised that I haven’t seen more bloggers talking about it! I’m even more excited for it knowing that the author is going to be at the Boston Teen Author Festival this year which I’ll hopefully be going to 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah the thing about Mask of Shadows is that it kinda tries to be like Bardugo and Maas and it just doesn’t reach that level, but since you haven’t read them yet, I hope you like it more. I love when author’s I like come to my state. I always get excited about the festivals that go on in my state but I rarely end up going. It’s probably because I have no one to go with *sigh*. Anyway, I hope you have fun at your festival!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the same way – I don’t like going places by myself! But I went last year and ended up meeting up with some people who I had talked to online, so that made me feel better and I had a lot of fun. Now knowing how much fun it was, I don’t even care if I end up going by myself, haha.

        Like

  7. The Timekeeper sounds really good. Might be adding that to my list.

    I love the premise of Mask of Shadows. That’s what I find so exciting about Earth Boy. It’s not a contemporary and he has asthma. Do you know if it’s #ownvoices?

    If you ever find a fantasy in which a character has eczema or allergies, I will be the first to read it. 😀

    Like

    • I’m not sure if Mask of Shadows is #ownvoices or not. I don’t think it is. I haven’t seen anything about it having problematic rep though, so I’m hopeful. What’s really frustrating to me is that it has quite a few negative reviews on Goodreads where the reviewers are pretty much just complaining that it doesn’t live up to the Bardugo and Maas comparison in the blurb. As if title comparisons are ever very accurate, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m really intrigued by Mask of Shadows as well, it sounds like such an interesting story and I don’t think I have ever read about a main character that is genderfluid, leas of all in a fantasy story. I have heard many great things about Timekeeper as well, it’s definitely a book that I want to check out as well. 🙂

    Like

    • The only book I’ve ever read with a gender fluid main character was Symptoms of Being Human. It was a great book, but it’s a contemporary that focuses on Riley accepting being gender fluid, so it’ll be nice to read a gender fluid character in a different setting. Hopefully it ends up being a good read! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

