March 2017 Wrap-Up

March 2017 Wrap-Up

Yet another month has come and gone. How are we already in the fourth month of 2017?! I swear New Year’s was just a few weeks ago.

March was a pretty good month for me regarding reading and blogging. It was a bit hectic for me otherwise, but I apparently still managed to pull it off. I feel like I deserve some sort of award for that, honestly. April and May are bound to be pretty hectic as well since it’s the end of the semester and then I’m graduating college, but I’m hoping I’ll still be able to keep up with reading/blogging. But if you don’t see me around, you’ll know why!

Onto my wrap-up of March…

Books I Read

  1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray (3/5)
  2. Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Wallach (4/5)
  3. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (4.5/5)
  4. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates (4/5)
  5. Nexis by A.L. Davroe (3/5)

I managed to read 5 books this month. I ALMOST made it to 6 but ended up finishing The Hate U Give on April 1st, so that’ll be included in my April list. Oh well. 😛 I had quite a few blog tour reviews this month: Proof of Lies, Queens of Geek, and Nexis were all part of blog tours. Aside from Beauty Queens, I really enjoyed all the books I read this month so that’s a big plus. My favorite would definitely be Queens of Geek which was truly an amazing read that I highly recommend! I’ve posted reviews of all of these books, so just click on the links above if you want to learn more about them.

Things I Posted

Clearly, I posted a lot this month, as usual. I seriously am envious of those of you who responded to my post about the fake death trope and said that you haven’t come across it very often. It seems like it’s everywhere, how have you been so lucky?!

Challenge Progress

Goodreads Challenge

I set a goal to read 50 books this year and I’ve now completed 14 books. That puts me 2 books ahead of schedule. 14/50

Beat the Backlist Challenge

3 of the 5 books I read this month were published prior to 2017 (Nexis, Between the World and Me, and Beauty Queens). That brings me up to 9 books for the Beat the Backlist challenge. This is going surprisingly very well. 9/20

Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge

I really haven’t been putting a lot of attention towards this challenge (in fact, doing my wrap-ups is what keeps reminding me of it), but I’ve still managed to cross a few off my list. Added this month: Proof of Lies as a book set within 100 miles of my location (I go to school in Boston and that’s where the book is set for part of the novel) and Queens of Geek as a YA written by someone who identifies as LGBTQ+ (Jen Wilde is genderfluid and bi). I could probably count Queens of Geek for an LGBTQ+ romance novel too, but I’m not going to. 4/25

Read More Classics, Nonfiction, and Longer Books

I can finally add one here! I read Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates which helps me in my goal to read 5 nonfiction books this year (even though it’s rather short…). I still haven’t read any classics or long books, though. 1/15

Read Diverse 2017 Challenge

4 out of the 5 books that I read this month could count towards this. Beauty Queens has a trans character as well as some girls who are into girls. Diana Rodriguez Wallach, who wrote Proof of Lies, is a Latina author. Queens of Geek, as I already mentioned, is written by a genderfluid bisexual author. Jen Wilde is also autistic AND the characters are diverse as well with bisexuality, autism, and anxiety all being represented in POV characters and one of the POV characters is Chinese-Australian. And finally, Between the World and Me is written by a Black author. 8/12 (Looks like I may need to increase that goal!)

Misc.

First thing I want to mention here is that I hit 700 followers this month! Wow! It is still so surreal to me that there are so many people interested in following my blog and reading what I have to say. So thank you! ❤

I’ve also made some decisions to help me with my blog. At some points this month, there were times where blogging was starting to feel like a chore rather than the fun hobby that I want it to be. I think part of this stems from the fact that since last summer, I’ve been trying to post every single day. As much as I love posting, it was starting to feel like too much work. I’ve decided to roll back with my posting just a tiny bit and I won’t be posting on Thursdays anymore. Depending on how that goes for me, I may decide to cut back one of the weekend days too, but I think even just giving myself off that one day a week will be a nice break. It almost doesn’t seem worth mentioning, but I am anyway, haha.

One more thing: I’ve decided to stop doing so many tags. PLEASE still tag me in them because I do enjoy doing a lot of them! But there are some that, quite honestly, I didn’t really want to do, but I posted them anyway because I didn’t want to seem rude by ignoring them. Basically, from now on, I’m only going to be doing tags that I really am interested in doing. But like I said, please still tag me in things if you want to! 🙂

That’s my March wrap-up! How was March for you?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

9 thoughts on “March 2017 Wrap-Up

  1. Congrats on 700 followers!! And it’s good that you’re cutting back on blogging if it’s too much. I used to blog every single day before I started uni, but I just can’t do that anymore. 😪
    You’re also doing much better with your Goodreads challenge, I’ve only read 9/50 so I’m 3 books behind schedule. 😛

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah, it’s been getting to a point where a lot of the time when I set down to write a blog post it feels like something that I have to force myself to do rather than something I’m actually looking forward to doing. So I think cutting back to only posting 5 or 6 days a week will help a lot, even if it’s not actually a *big* change.
      I set my GR challenge to the same as last year and I know I’m going to end up reading more than 50 books because I read like 63 or something like that last year. So I’m not surprised that I’m ahead of schedule 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I blog on average 3-5 times a week, and I really like that. I also don’t have a review posting schedule because I don’t post them on my blog after I’ve written them. Cutting out tags, awards and significantly cutting back on memes has really lessened the stress of blogging. I’m way ahead on my Goodreads Challenge and for Beat the Backlist I’m doing really well with that too. Are you doing the Hogwarts mini challenge for Beat the Backlist?

    Like

    • I love doing memes so I can’t really see myself cutting back on those, haha. But I’m definitely going to cut down on the tags/awards I do and only do the ones that actually look enjoyable to me because otherwise they just seem like a chore. I’m doing the Hogwarts mini challenge (go Ravenclaw), but I honestly keep forgetting to submit my reviews/books so I have no clue how much I’m actually helping with that, haha.

      Like

  3. Queens of Geek was amazing 😍 I loved it even more than I was expecting!!

    Cutting back on posts is definitely the best way to go if you’re feeling overwhelmed!! I think I only managed posting every day for like the first month of blogging then I couldn’t keep up 😂 Now I try to do posts every 2nd-3rd day, but it most ends up being more like 2-3 posts a week haha.

    And congrats on 700 followers Kourtni 🎉🎉 You deserve them and more ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree! I wasn’t expecting to like Queens of Geek nearly as much as I did. It was a nice surprise 🙂
      Honestly I’m shocked at how long I was able to keep up with posting every day, haha. I don’t know how I’ve managed. So far cutting back to 6 days a week is already making it feel a lot better. Who knew that one less post a week would make it so much more tolerable? 😛
      Thank you so much Lauren! ❤

      Like

Let's Chat!

