Blogger Recognition Award

blogger recognition award

I was tagged by Swetlana and Sandra from Reading Through the Nights to do this award awhile ago. As usual, it’s taken me awhile to get to it, but alas. Here I am 😛 Thank you again for the tag!

Here are the rules:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
2. Write a post to show your award.
3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
5. Select other bloggers you want to give this award to.
6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

I’m actually realizing now that I think I may have done this before? I don’t know. I’m so bad at keeping track of the tags I’ve done, hahaha. Whatever. Even if I have done it before, it was quite awhile ago so I’m sure there are some new people to benefit from my wisdom (or lack thereof). 😉

How Kourtni Reads Started

Basically, during my summer break in 2015, I started reading a lot after quite a few years of not reading too much. It made me super happy to be reading again and I wanted to keep myself motivated so that I didn’t stop after only a couple of months. So I started a book blog on Tumblr, thinking that having a community to talk to about books would not only motivate me to read, but kind of keep me accountable. The problem with Tumblr was that I wasn’t able to customize my posts in the ways I wanted to and pretty much no one talked to me on there, despite numerous attempts to start conversations, haha. So in January of 2016, I started my blog here on WordPress and finally really felt like I had found a community and found a way to keep myself motivated to read. It’s worked quite well if I do say so myself!

Some Advice To New Bloggers

I guess my first piece of advice is not to feel like there’s anything you HAVE to do to be a book blogger. I know there are tons of blog posts (including at least one or two that I’ve written) that will tell you that you should X or Y to make your blog interesting and to get more visitors. While these strategies may be something that worked for the person writing the advice or may reflect what that particular person likes to see, it doesn’t mean you have to do it and you shouldn’t feel pressured to do it just because a random blog post says so. If you want to make blogging a long-term thing for yourself, you need to make sure it’s something that you really enjoy doing. And if you keep modifying the way you blog to fit what you think other people want, that’s going to take the fun out of it. So basically what I’m trying to say is: find a way to blog that works for you and is fun for you – don’t worry about what others say.

My second piece of advice is kind of similar in that it also deals with the pressure that can arise from blogging. But don’t let being a part of this community make you feel like you aren’t the “right” type of reader to be a blogger. So many bloggers (myself included) end up feeling like they don’t read the right types of books or don’t read enough books to be a “good” book blogger. This is complete crap. All you have to do to be a book blogger is blog about books. That’s it. There’s no mandatory minimum number of books you should read each month. You don’t have to be caught up with all the latest releases. You don’t need to have a ton of ARCs. Don’t let other bloggers make you feel like you aren’t enough of a reader. I don’t mean to suggest that there are bloggers that purposely talk down to people who don’t read as much as they do (although I’m sure this does happen), but simply that reading blog posts from someone who talks about having read 20+ books in a month when you only managed to read 2 can get disheartening. But please don’t let that make you feel like you shouldn’t be a blogger!

Alright, that’s it for today! Once again, I’m feeling too lazy to tag people. Because, well, I’m lazy. But if any of you want to do this, please feel free to consider yourself tagged by me. 🙂


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

7 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Such great advice, Kourtni! I do love reading tips that other bloggers have shared but don’t often find myself following it to a T. I will take what I think works for me and our blog.

    I really felt like I should be reading at the beginning of March. I was still in a bit of a slump and just didn’t feel like picking up a book most of the time. Yet, in the back of my head, I was constantly like ‘You should be reading right now. You need new books to review.’ which was really disheartening at first. But I just decided I wouldn’t listen to that voice and it worked. I randomly picked up a book a bit later and finished it and another one too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It honestly took me a long time to realize that just because another blogger recommended something, it didn’t mean that I had to or should try to follow their advice, haha. But blogging should definitely fit what YOU want to do and not what you feel like others expect you to do. It’s way more fun that way 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your advice! I’m still relatively new to book blogging (started in February) so I take on board anything and everything I can. This was a great post 🙂

    Like

Let's Chat!

