Top Ten Unputdownable Books

Top Ten Tuesday blog header unputdownable books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme is pretty vague, giving you lots of room to do what you want with it: read in one sitting theme. Basically, you can talk about all sorts of books that people might be able to read quickly: short books, books to read when you’re low on time, etc. I chose to go with “unputdownable” books and highlight some books that are just so good that you won’t want to stop reading. All except one of these books has been reviewed on my blog, so head over to my reviews page if you want to learn more about any of these!

As a side note, I feel like this is mostly just me going “I loved this book” for every single one of these, hahaha. Forgive me πŸ˜‰

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

the diabolic by s.j. kincaid book cover

The Diabolic was one of those books that I expected to like, but then absolutely adored. I seriously could not put this book down because I loved it so much. There’s a lot that happens, especially once you get past the beginning. You’ll be so desperate to see what happens next that you won’t want to stop reading.

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

dumplin' by julie murphy book cover

This is another one that really exceeded my expectations. I’d heard a lot of people say that they loved this, but I was a little hesitant because I literally couldn’t care less about Dolly Parton and I knew that the MC loved her. But I just got so lost in this book that I never wanted to put it down. It was really funny and just a great story.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard book cover

I know a lot of people really don’t like this book (which I completely understand – it’s full of cliches), but I loved it so, so much. It had really steady action throughout and quite a few plot twists to keep you turning the pages!

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost book cover

Listen, it’s been weeks since I’ve mentioned this series in any of my posts. I’m overdue. πŸ˜‰ Those of you who have been around for awhile know how much I adore this series. This first book was impossible for me to put down. I think I read around 70% of the book in one day which is almost unheard of for me. There’s just so much going on and I had to know what was going to happen next. So, so good.

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

the edge of juniper by lora richardson book cover

I flew through this book in only a couple of days back in September. This book very quickly gets impossible to put down because the romance is just so cute. I was desperate to know how they were going to work things out and get (and stay) together.

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs book cover

This book just released today, but man, I need people to read it! Nemesis was one of the first books that I read this year and I flew through it way faster than I thought I would. It was so captivating. I really found it impossible to predict what was going on (although I did end up guessing some of the smaller twists) which made me want to keep reading and reading and reading. Seriously, check out this book!

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

out of the easy by ruta sepetys book cover

Out of the Easy was a pleasant surprise to me. I had read both of Sepetys’ other two books and loved them, but wasn’t quite sure if I’d like this one. Those concerns were completely unnecessary. This was one of those books that I ended up bringing with me everywhere, hoping that I’d have 3 minutes to sneak in a few pages. I’m not totally sure what was so engrossing about this book. I think most of it was simply that I wanted to see how Josie was going to work things out for herself and go after her dreams despite the odds being against her. Such a great book.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Another book that I wasn’t quite sure I’d end up liking. But spoiler alert: I really, really did. This book was filled with cute romance yet also talked about so many important issues like biphobia, social anxiety, and fatphobia. It was glorious. This is a new release that should totally be on your TBR and if it isn’t… fix that. Once you start reading it, you won’t want to stop.

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin book cover

Symptoms of Being Human was the first (and still the only) book I ever read with a genderfluid MC which is probably one of the reasons why I became so addicted to this book. I couldn’t put it down. It definitely deals with some tough stuff but has some really great, heartwarming scenes too. If you’re like me, you’ll really end up loving Riley and you won’t want to say goodbye to them when the book is over.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

under rose-tainted skies by louise gornall book cover

I knew that I was going to adore this book and wow I was right. You really won’t be able to stop reading URTS. Not only do you get to see anΒ accurate portrayal of agoraphobia/anxiety/OCD but you get to see a really cute romance unfold, too. I fell so in love with this book that I could not get myself to stop reading it because I was so caught up in it.

These were some books that I found to be unputdownable. What would you add?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Unputdownable Books

  1. The only book I’ve read of this list is Red Queen and I remember really enjoying it! I definitely need to take a look at Under Rose-Tainted Skies and Queens of Geek! Those two I’ve seen pop up over and over again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I read Red Queen the first time it was definitely an unputdownable read for me too! I think I read it in two days, not entirely sure. I haven’t read the others on your list but most of them are on my TBR. Great picks, Kourtni!! 😊β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

