6 Book-to-Movie Adaptations On My Radar

6 book to movie adaptations on my radar

Book-to-film adaptations can be pretty controversial among bookworms. So many of us get really excited to see stories we read and loved get turned into a movie so we can relive that excitement all over again and see it play out visually. But they can quickly go bad if the movie strays too far from the original story. Personally, I still love watching movies that are based on books I’ve read and loved. Even if it changes a lot of things, I still like to see the movie (I’m not even really sure why). Oftentimes, movie adaptations also offer an extra push for me to finally read books that have been sitting on my TBR for years since I pretty much refuse to watch something that’s based on a book if I haven’t read it yet.

Anyway, all of this is just to introduce you to what I’m talking about today: book-to-movie adaptations that are coming out this year that I want to see (and read). A couple of these have already been released, but most of these are still upcoming. I tried to keep this list to adaptations that have at least announced some casting news just because I feel like at this point in the year, if there’s not even a cast, the movie is probably not actually going to release this year, haha.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

I’ve wanted to read this book forever but I still haven’t read it. I think I’ve even taken it out from the library a couple of times. I’ve just got too many books I’m trying to read, haha. The movie released in the US on the 3rd and I have to say, it looks pretty good. It’s gotten decent ratings from what I’ve seen, too. Check out the trailer here.

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman

I only found out about this book after hearing about the movie and I’m honestly shocked. This sounds exactly like the type of book that I would love, since I really enjoy reading books about WWII, especially when those books focus on resistance movements. This is actually based on a true story too which makes it even more awesome in my opinion. If you don’t know, this is about a couple who run the Warsaw Zoo and help hundreds of people escape from the Nazis. This comes out on the 31st and you can check out the trailer here.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys book cover

Not a whole lot of information about this movie is available, but it is set to be released at some time this year. The title is being changed to Ashes in the Snow (presumably to avoid confusion with another book-to-movie franchise…). Most of you probably know what a Ruta Sepetys fangirl I am, so it should come as no surprise to see this on the list. If only there were a trailer I could watch!

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer book cover

This is another one that doesn’t have a ton of information available but is supposed to release this year. I hadn’t heard of the book or movie until very recently, but it sounds like something I’ll really enjoy. It’s about an area that has been contaminated and is cut-off from human civilization. People are trying to learn about the area, but multiple expeditions have ended very badly.Β Natalie Portman and Oscar Isaac are both listed as cast members for this, which has me even more excited as I think both are excellent actors.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

This movie came out back in January, but I still haven’t seen it. Mostly because I still haven’t read the book. Because I have way too many books to read. I don’t think I’ve actually seen many people talk about whether or not they liked the movie which is kind of odd, now that I think about it. I know this book is very well-loved though so hopefully the movie managed to be pretty good too. If I’m remembering correctly, Patrick Ness helped write the screenplay, so I can’t imagine it’s too terrible. Anyway, you can check out the trailer here.

The Circle by Dave Eggers

Another one that I hadn’t heard of until very recently, but this looks like such a great book and movie. It looks like a blend between sci-fi, thriller, and dystopian which is such a winning combination in my opinion. Emma Watson is the lead and John Boyega’s in the movie, too. There’s really very little that doesn’t appeal to me about this and I’m a little upset that I hadn’t heard of it before. For those who don’t know, this is about Mae who gets hired to work at The Circle, a giant tech company,Β and starts getting involved with some really intense surveillance stuff. That’s kind of a terrible summary, I know, but hopefully watching the trailer will help you understand why, haha. The Circle is set to release on April 28th.

Here are 6 book-to-movie adaptations that I want to read and see. Are there any others you’re looking forward to?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

36 thoughts on “6 Book-to-Movie Adaptations On My Radar

  1. A Monster Calls was really good – both book and movie!😊 I have no idea about Between Shades of Grey being turned into a movie, I loved the book and I think it will be an amazing movie!

    Like

    • That’s great to hear! The AMC book gets so much hype, I really want to read it.
      I’ve barely seen anyone talk about the Between Shades of Gray movie! The only reason I know about it is because I follow Ruta Sepetys on Twitter and when they were filming, she posted a lot about it. I’m so excited though – I agree that it’ll make an amazing movie!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely loved AMC and Before I Fall as books, but haven’t watched the movies yet, unfortunately! I’ve heard good things about both! I’m interested in The Circle; I haven’t even heard of the book until the movie announcement, but it has an interesting premise!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t really pay too much attention to what movies are being released – I am more of a tv show kind of person, so I had only really heard about Before I Fall and A Monster Calls. I now definitely want to check out Before I Fall so I can watch the movie at some point – I really like Zoey Deutch!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I usually only hear about movies once they’re being advertised on TV or if I follow the author on Twitter, haha. But I was curious to see what books were being made into movie this year and ended up looking them up.
      I don’t know if I’ve ever actually seen a movie with Zoey Deutch in it, but I hear she’s a great actress.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think I was first introduced to her when she did the Vampire Academy movie a couple of years ago! And I’ve gotten to like her since, can’t tell you if I’ve seen her in other stuff though. But symphaty for the actor is usually enough for me to want to watch a movie.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice post! It seems so many books are being made into movies at the moment, I didn’t realise a couple of these were though. I have read a couple of these but now I guess I have to get to the rest!

    Like

  5. I’m so excited for the Monster Calls movie. That’s probably the one I’m most looking forward to, since I have seen Before I Fall now. They do a great job with that movie. It follows the book really well.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I need to catch up on these books so I can watch the movies! I’m like you, I won’t watch until I’ve read! Another one I’m looking forward to is Everything Everything. I enjoyed the book and I’m curious how the movie will turn out.

    Like

  7. I already hear some terrible things about “Annihilation”, and I hope that this film proves critics right. I also have not seen “A Monster Calls” yet because I want to read the book first, but it looks super good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

