Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 3-14-17

Yay, Top Ten Tuesday is back! It went on a bit of a hiatus and while I completely understand why, I still missed it. Even when I don’t participate, I love reading TTT posts.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme is top ten booksΒ on your spring TBR. I wasn’t sure whether or not I should stick to spring releases or just include any book I’m hoping to read this spring. I decided to go with the latter since I’ve already talked about most of the spring releases I’m excited for and knowing me, I won’t actually get to any of them soon. So I wanted to take the opportunity to talk about some books you can expect to see me talking about (and hopefully reviewing) within the next few months. I’m also going to try to avoid talking about books that I already mentioned in my March TBR post so I don’t get too redundant.

The Horned Scarab by Matthew Marchitto

The Horned Scarab by Matthew Marchitto book cover

I’ll be honest and say that I’m not quite sure what to expect from this book. It only has two ratings on Goodreads so I can’t even use that to help me out, haha. It does sound interesting though and it’s also really short which will (hopefully) make this a quick, easy read. I received it from the author to review so this will definitely be getting read in the next few weeks!

The Enemy Within by Scott Burn

The Enemy Within by Scott Burn book cover

This is another review copy I recently received and I have to say I am SO excited for this one. A lot of you know that I’m a big YA sci-fi fan so this is right up my alley. I’m a little iffy on the whole “mental illness ends up being a super-power” thing, but we’ll see how it goes. It’s got a pretty good rating on Goodreads which gives me a little bit more hope. πŸ˜‰

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates book cover

I think I’ve mentioned in another post that I have to read this for a class I’m taking this semester and I’m pretty excited for whenever we get around to it (I should really check the syllabus and see when that will be, haha). I’ve heard good things about this so I can’t wait. πŸ™‚

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord book cover

Although I haven’t read one of Emery Lord’s books before, I’ve heard great things about them and so I got pretty excited when I got approved to review this title on NetGalley. I’ll probably be reading this in the middle or towards the end of April so it’ll be awhile before I get to it, but I’m still excited. And can we take a second to admire that cover? I love it!

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher book cover

I’ll fully admit that 99% of the reason I’m planning on reading this is because the Netflix show debuts later this month and I want to be able to watch it soon without feeling guilty about not having read the book first, haha. I grabbed the TV tie-in edition from Target for only a few dollars last week. Hopefully I end up liking it!

Nexis by A.L. Davroe

Nexis by A.L. Davroe book cover

Yet another review copy I have. I’m part of the blog tour for the release of the sequel later this month and I’m honestly really excited about this book. It’s sci-fi/dystopia aka my favorite so I should really enjoy it (fingers crossed).

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman book cover

This is one book that I’m REALLY looking forward to! I got approved for it on NetGalley awhile back and ever sinceΒ I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about it. I’m super excited to get to this, although this will be another one that I most likely won’t be reading until April.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

the star-touched queen by roshani chokshi book cover

I bought this shortly after it came out and yet still haven’t read it. I’m determined to read it soon though considering the sequel (companion novel?) releases very soon. I’ve seen mixed reviews, but when I met Chokshi back in September, she was the sweetest person ever (I seriously have the biggest crush on her now so I don’t care, I’m going to love this book or die trying.

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older book cover

This is another book that I’ve heard fantastic things about. I bought this almost entirely on a whim, but apparently I made a good choice. πŸ˜‰ I’m not sure if I’ll get to this one within the next few months, but it’d be nice!

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler book cover

I was hoping to read this last month but then my reading slump hit so that didn’t happen. I’m determined to read a Butler book this year and since I own this one, it’ll likely be the winner. I’d love to be able to get to this one soon, but only time will tell if that happens. πŸ˜›

Here are 10 books on my spring TBR. What’s on yours? Have you read any of these?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

  1. The only book off your list that Ive read is 13 Reasons Why and I didnt enjoy it too much, but it might just be that I usually dont love contemporary novels that I read.

    I definitely also have my eye in The Names They Gave Us and The Star-Touched Queen! Question is when I’m going to get to them as I also did a post on the ten books I want to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember years ago, it felt like all my friends were reading it but for some reason I never did. So I’m kind of glad they’ve made a TV show because that’ll finally get me to read it, haha. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Great list! I hope you like Thirteen Reasons Why, that book stayed with me for ages! I want to watch it on Netflix too, but I’m limiting myself to one show at a time just now so it doesn’t bite into reading time.

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m really hoping I’ll enjoy it. I don’t tend to watch too many shows at once on Netflix either so it’ll probably take me at least a little while to get around to watching it, but I’m excited regardless. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Many of the books on your list I’ve read and loved. I just bought Shadowshaper for my students (most of whom are Latinx/Hispanic) and I’m excited about their reading opportunity. I read 13 Reasons Why when it came out ages ago, and I’m also excited for the Netflix adaptation. It’s a long time in the making. And I carry around Between the World and Me on audio in my pocket all the time just because it speaks to me so much (not that I agree with everything he says). That was rather long-winded. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Like

    • I’m glad to hear it! πŸ™‚ I’ve been meaning to read it for YEARS so I’m excited to finally actually own the book, haha. Netflix usually does a pretty good job with their adaptations, so I’m hopeful that it’ll be good! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Thirteen Reasons Why has been on my radar for so long, but I’m only now thinking of picking it up because of the Netflix show too! I’m really looking forward to hearing what you think of The Star Touched Queen and Shadowshaper! I’ve heard amazing things about both of them.

    Like

  5. If you enjoy Between the World and Me, I recommend Citizen by Claudia Rankine. Her experience as a black woman in America is both similar to and different from Coates’ experience as a black man. Also, if you haven’t read The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin, Between the World and Me is kind of modeled on that classic, and I found it enlightening (and depressing) to see what has and has not changed since Baldwin’s time.

    My TTT

    Like

  6. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about The Enemy Within so I can’t wait to see what you think. Also, 13 Reasons Why is an incredible book! I read it back in middle school I think and it was really memorable for me since it was one of the first more serious books I’d read at that time. I hope you end up enjoying it! Great list, Kourtni!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award – Bookish Wanderess

  8. Wow! That’s quite a wonderful TBR! I recently read Shadowshaper. While I love the premise and the characters, the writing neve really gripped me. I feel like that book could have used a bit more editing, honestly. I hope you enjoy it, though! Star Touched Queen and Thirteen Reasons Why are high on my TBR; but almost all these books are on there for me! I love that we share tasted in books.

    Like

  9. Pingback: The Sunshine Blogger Award – A Dreamer's Library

Join the Discussion

