5 Things That Make Me Uninterested in Your Blog

5 things that make me uninterested in your blog

Every once in awhile I like to post something about what I do/don’t like about blogs, what I’d recommend for bloggers, etc. and I realized it’s been awhile since I’ve posted something like this. I’ve seen a lot of fellow bloggers talk about what you should do on your blog or what makes them interested in your blog, but I haven’t seen quite as much on the opposite side of that. So I decided to put together a list of a few things that discourage me from following your blog aka things that I don’t like to see on blogs/see bloggers do.

Before I get into this, I want to make it clear that a lot of this just comes down to personal taste. There are things that I may not like and that may make me uninterested in your blog, but that doesn’t mean that no one will like what you do. I’m certainly no authority here; just because it’s something that I wouldn’t like doesn’t mean you need to stop doing it. But with that said, let’s get into a few things that are likely to make me uninterested in your blog.

Bad Spelling/Grammar

This one isn’t something that will immediately make me say “no way” to following your blog, but depending on how frequent and how bad it is, it definitely can have an impact. I understand a lot of bloggers aren’t native English speakers and that even if you are a native English speaker, you may have a learning disability that makes it difficult to always have perfect spelling and grammar so I tend to be fairly lenient with this as long as I can still understand what you’re trying to say. A mistake here and there isn’t that big of a deal. However, there have been blogs that I’ve either decided not to follow at all or that I’ve unfollowed after awhile because the spelling and grammar mistakes are just way too much and make reading posts too difficult. If I have to spend too much time trying to decipher your posts, then visiting your blog just isn’t fun for me. Moral of the story: proofread your posts! If you know that spelling and grammar are something you struggle with, I recommend having someone else look over your posts if you can or installing Grammarly. Grammarly is an extension you can get on Google Chrome (I’m not sure about other web browsers) that will point out mistakes you’ve made and help you fix them. It’s a lifesaver! (Although fair warning: it’s not always 100% accurate.)

Negativity

I want to make it very clear that I’m not talking about negative book reviews, posts that are discussing the issues in the publishing industry, etc. I’m talking about bloggers who repeatedly complain about everything in their posts. Admittedly, this point made the list because of a very specific experience I had a few months ago that just really turned me off of a blog. I was using the Top Ten Tuesday link-up to find new blogs and came across someone who spent two paragraphs complaining about the topic that was being used that week. I understand that not every TTT topic will appeal to every blogger. What I don’t understand is why you would spend half of your post complaining about how much you hate that topic instead of just skipping that week. There have been plenty of times where I’ve simply skipped a week because the topic was too difficult or because it just wasn’t something I really wanted to talk about. It’s not the end of the world. Reading this negativity really put me off the blog because 1.) being overly negative just isn’t something that I feel is well-suited for a blog (maybe keep that on Twitter, haha) and 2.) there’s a lot of work that goes into things like running memes and to be so dismissive and overly critical over such a small thing seemed really petty and rude to me. Try not to post things that may be seen as unappreciative of others’ work and/or that will make your readers feel like you do nothing but complain.

Not Writing In-Depth Posts

I don’t expect every post you put up to be super long and I understand that sometimes you’re short on time and don’t have hours to spend writing a really fleshed-out post. BUT I get really annoyed when people write lists (things like Top Ten Tuesday or Top 5 Wednesday) and all they include in the post are the titles of the books. Try to make your post a little more personal by explaining why you chose to include those titles rather than just listing a bunch of books. I know you may not always have a lot to say about each book, but trust me, it makes your post seem a lot more thoughtful and makes it much more interesting if you add even just one sentence per title. This same issue can be relevant to other types of posts too. I’ve read “discussion” posts that end up being a paragraph and one question. It just seems kind of rushed and thrown together without much thought. This isn’t good for stimulating discussion or making people interested in reading your posts.

Never Acknowledging Comments

This is something that’s more likely to make me unfollow you rather than avoid following you in the first place, but it really does have a big impact on my decision on who to follow and/or put time into interacting with. Simply put, it makes no sense for me to spend time typing out thoughtful comments and trying to start a conversation with someone who can’t even be bothered to give my comment a “like.”Β Again, I understand that people get low on time and that you may not always have a lot to say in response to every comment you receive, but if I’ve been following and commenting on your blog for months and you’ve never responded? I’m highly unlikely to keep putting the effort into trying to talk to you. At that point, your blog would have to be really good for me to stick around.

Not Posting Any Original Content

This is another one that I’m a little more lenient with simply because I understand how difficult it can be to consistently come up with original post ideas. However, original content is what separates your blog from others and what makes your blog appealing in a sea of thousands of other blogs. There have been blogs that I visit and all they post are book blitzes and memes. While those posts can be fun to read, I wouldn’t base your whole blog around them. Some memes, like Top Ten Tuesday, allow for a bit more originality in each blogger and are more interesting to read, but othersΒ can end up feeling incredibly repetitive or just boring to read from a lot of different blogs. Posting original content gives readers an incentive to come to your blog and makes your posts interesting to read. You’re offering something that no one else is.

Here are 5 things that are likely to make me uninterested in your blog. Do you agree with any of these points? Is there anything you would add?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

66 thoughts on “5 Things That Make Me Uninterested in Your Blog

  1. I use Grammarly all the time and I love it! I’ve seen some horrible spelling and grammar in blog posts, it drives me crazy! I actually really cut down on weekly memes and adding more original content, I always like having a discussion post once a week. There are a few things that turn me away from following a blog. The first being how the blog looks and how many things are in the sidebar. I’ve come across blogs where the sidebar is littered with all these links and advertisements. I like blogs that look clean and not cluttered. Another thing that turns me away is content. If the blog is all reviews, blog tours, memes, tags, and nothing else, I’m less likely to follow it. I like discussions and engaging with the creator. This is an excellent discussion post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Good points!
    I have read blogs with some bad grammar and I try only to skim it or ignore it. But with many of them I don’t say anything. I don’t want to be the grammar police lol. But it IS annoying.
    I’m big on comments, too. I haven’t been able to bloghop bc of moving and packing, but if someone comments on my blog, I try to comment on theirs. Even if it’s just to say good review! And I always respond to comments in my WP app, though I think some get missed by the app! 😫
    But love what you’ve got to say here and I think these are all very valid points!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I don’t correct people’s grammar either, haha. That would be pretty obnoxious πŸ˜› But if it’s really bad, it makes it so hard to read the posts that I just unfollow (or don’t follow in the first place).
      I don’t always have time to comment but I do try to do it as frequently as I can and I always make sure that any comment someone leaves on my posts gets answered. It’s so disappointing when I go to people’s blogs and leave comments and they just never respond at all. What’s the point of me even commenting then, you know?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you about the bad grammar, no original content, and negativity. Bad grammar just annoys me in general, and I’m sure that’s a personal preference. πŸ˜‚ And negativity can definitely annoy me; it’s one of the main reasons I don’t hang around Twitter too much and why I quit Goodreads. And, yes, when I see a super popular blog that only posts cover reveals and blitzes and reviews, I can never get into it. It’s just so boring to me, but, again, personal preference. 😝

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to be sooo annoyed with bad grammar and it definitely still annoys me to a certain extent. But I’m a lot more lenient if I know that the person isn’t a native English speaker, for example. But if a blog has too many errors, I just can’t handle it, haha.
      Cover reveals and book blitzes are honestly sooo boring to me, haha. I’ll post them only every once in awhile for a book that I’m really excited for, but otherwise I avoid them. It’s probably a personal preference, like you said, but I honestly can’t understand why people like reading those types of posts all the time, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with not writing in-depth posts, I get really disappointed when people make bookish list about any subject and they only put the title of the book without any explanation of why is the book on the list or what did they like it. I also agree with not acknowledging comments, I hate it when I write a really thoughtful posts and I don’t get a reply or at least a like. Anyway, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yessss, it’s so annoying when people only write down the titles. Like I said, even just adding ONE sentence as to why you’ve included it makes the post so much more interesting to read and a lot more personal.
      Not acknowledging comments is a big pet peeve of mine. I understand some really popular blogs gets tons and tons of comments and so they can’t reply to all of them, but if they NEVER reply to my comments even after I’ve commented numerous times, it’s a huge turn-off and I just don’t bother trying anymore.
      Thanks Sofia! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This was a really great post, Kourtni and I absolutely agree with everything you’ve talked about here!

    I feel like for me one of the biggest ‘turn offs’ for following a blog is bad grammar. And like you said, of course there are a lot of people who blog in their second language (I do, too) or maybe third language so it’s difficult to have perfect or even just great grammar. I’ve spent years and years improving my English beyond what I was taught in school by reading in English and watching shows and movies in English. But if your post is difficult to read and I find myself stumbling through paragraphs and sentences, I am more likely to not read any more of your posts. I just yesterday started using Grammarly because I wanted to make sure my grammar was right!

    Those quickly thrown together posts for weekly memes of just covers and maybe links to the books’ Goodreads page are probably one of my least favorite things. I love reading why people picked a certain book and just some thoughts in general! And like you said, if there isn’t anything you have to add for a certain week, just skip it! I’ve done that multiple times for Top 5 Wednesdays because I just couldn’t find anything for that week’s topic and that’s okay too.

    I feel like when people don’t respond or acknowledge comments on their posts they take away one of the most fun parts of blogging: the interaction! I tend to get a bit rambly in comments sometimes – especially when I feel like I want to share a bit more (this comment is proof of that) and to hear nothing back afterward definitely won’t encourage me to leave another comment on their newer posts. I get that there isn’t much to say sometimes and that’s usually when I will at least like the comment so people know I saw and read their comment.

    The only thing I would maybe add is the design of a blog but that is so very different for everyone as tastes differ. I usually prefer a cleaner design that doesn’t have a lot going on. And lighter colors too.

    Like

    • I completely agree with everything you said!
      I try to be understanding of why blogs may have bad grammar, but I still need to be able to understand what the blogger is trying to say. If it takes too much effort for me to even read your post, I’m not going to keep trying.
      I feel like a lot of those quickly thrown together posts are just because the blogger wants to post something but doesn’t know what to post. But personally, I’d much rather read infrequent but well thought-out posts than read posts every day that have no depth to them. Quality is better than quantity if you ask me!
      I always, always, always try to respond to every comment I get and once the commenter and I have gone back a few times, if I feel I have nothing more to say, I’ll still like the comment they left. Like you said, it lets them know that I’ve seen and read their comment even if I don’t have anything else to add.
      Design is definitely important too. If the design is too chaotic or disorganized, it makes finding things too difficult and makes me less likely to try. Bad color schemes are also a big no-no for me. I’ve seen some blogs that use so many bright colors that it literally gives me a headache.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I completely agree with everything you said! Mostly it just boils down to common sense – how interested are you as a blogger in your own blog. Lack of interaction, of thought out content just proves that you’re not interested in your own blog. Why should others do that? Great post, Kourtni πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m on board with pretty much all of this. I’m a huge fan of in-depth, original comment. I don’t want to be rude, of course, but there are a lot of blogs in the world. I can’t read them all. So often the underlying question is something like “What is this blog offering to me or value, or that other blogs are not offering?” If I want a general sense of what people think of a book, I’ll just look at the average rating on Goodreads. If I’m going to consistently read a blog, I want the reviews to go beyond “Squee! This.book.is.just.so .cute!” And, yeah, I’m not a huge fan of Top Ten Tuesdays and such when there are just book titles and no commentary explaining why they were selected for the topic.

    When I blog (without being depressing), I try to keep in mind that many people may not be inherently interested in my life. They may not care that I’m going to read Jane Eyre tomorrow or that Gone with the Wind is on my list of books to read eventually. They care about WHY. What can I tell them that’s interesting about the books I’m discussing? I know that the point of blogging is often that it’s personal and we do care about the individual blogger’s interests, but personally, I like to hear your thoughts about a book, not just that you own it, plan to read it this month, etc. Tell me about the book after you’ve read it and have opinions.

    Liked by 2 people

    • So true – each blogger needs to understand that there are tons of blogs out there and you need to make it worth readers’ time to read YOUR blog. If you’re not offering your personal and original thoughts on things, then there’s really no reason for people to take time out of their (probably very busy) lives to read your posts.

      Like

  8. I agree with the bad grammar point. The only time I’ll allow for it is when the blog is in a foreign language and Google Translate messes it up. I know it isn’t the blogger’s fault, so I’ll look past it.

    For the most part I agree about the in-depth posts, though there are some topics for TTT or T5W where it doesn’t feel like an in-depth explanation is warranted. Those are very few and far between, though, so I suppose the point I’m making is moot. πŸ˜…

    Like

    • I try to be understanding of why people may not have perfect spelling/grammar (like I already mentioned, it may be hard for someone who has a learning disability or isn’t blogging in their first language), but I still need to be able to read and understand their posts, haha. If I can’t, it’s just not worth my time to even bother trying.
      Usually if I do a TTT or T5W and feel like I don’t have much to say about each book individually, I’ll still say something at the beginning of the post to try and make it more personal. That may be more a personal preference kind of thing though πŸ˜› I just find it so boring to read a post that’s just a list of books.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I feel like I agree with almost everything you’ve discussed. The grammar one does my head in because I always proofread my posts and so much as one mistake I have to edit it straight away. It frustrates me because I just think ‘hey, don’t you want to take some pride in your blog’? Maybe I’m just a perfectionist though but I proofread about 5 times before even hitting publish lol. Also yes to the complaining!! Seriously if all your gonna do is whinge in your posts, I’m not following! Spread the positivity guys. And the list one… Every now and then it’s okay but every post?? That’s just lazy if you’re not going to even talk about why you love those 5 foods! πŸ™„πŸ˜‚ loved this post X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, it definitely seems like you might be a perfectionist πŸ˜‰ That’s not a bad thing though. πŸ˜› I always read through my posts at least once before I publish them, but I’m too lazy to do it multiple times, haha. If I notice an error after it’s been published though, I definitely fix it ASAP. It drives me nuts knowing that it’s there, haha!
      I feel like a lot of the times when people just list titles for TTT (or similar posts) it’s because they want to post something, but don’t know what or don’t have the time to write out a thoughtful post. It annoys the crap out of me though because I’d much rather read infrequent but good quality posts rather than frequent, impersonal posts. Quality, not quantity πŸ™‚
      Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Great post! Negativity and not responding to the people who take the time to comment on your posts are probably the two things that make me unfollow blogs. I want to follow bloggers who understand that this is an AWESOME community, and we all need to support one another.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, I completely agree! Probably the #1 reason why I unfollow blogs is because they never acknowledge my comments. Like I said, I understand you may not always have the time to reply to every comment you get, but if I’ve commented multiple times and you’ve never responded? What’s the point of me continuing to try and engage with you? They have to have a REALLY good blog for me to continue to follow them after that. πŸ˜› Like you said, this is an awesome community and if you’re never interacting with the people in it, I don’t even understand why you’re blogging (that sounds harsh, haha) πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow I pretty much agree with everything you list here! Bad grammar tends to put me off too, especially if it’s oft-repeated. I totally agree with the negativity point – and I can’t believe that the blogger spent two paragraphs complaining about the TTT topic! I too skip a lot of TTT topics if the topic doesn’t appeal to me – but that’s no reason to complain. It’s not as if it’s a compulsion to do the meme every Tuesday!
    Not writing in-depth posts bugs me too, because I’ve seen a lot of bloggers just post lists without going into detail. Also, I’ve noticed in a lot of blogs that when writing discussion posts, the bloggers often write just 2-3 paragraphs itnroducing the topic, and end the post with a number of questions to the readers. That just doesn’t appeal to me, like, if you’re writing a discussion – then at least a little detail and in-depth write-up is expected!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, I was honestly shocked to see them spend so much time just complaining about the topic. It makes no sense! It’s not as if you’ll get banished from participating in the future if you just skip a week when the topic doesn’t appeal to you. Why spread unnecessary negativity?
      If someone’s trying to write discussion posts but barely even posting their own thoughts on it, it just doesn’t work. I feel like you need to offer your own opinions for your readers to understand what you’re asking and to give them a starting point in their own responses. Then again, if you write too much a lot of people will probably get bored and won’t read the whole thing πŸ˜› It’s a delicate balance, haha.

      Like

  12. Great post, Kourtni! I’ve actually been thinking of making the same list but you’ve listed a lot of the things that I probably would’ve as well – negativity and the never acknowledging comments being two of them.

    I understand that sometimes life can suck and things can suck, but I tend to prefer people who can also see the bright side of things (so to speak) in my personal life, so I do the same with my blog. I mean, I do this in my spare time and to get away from the stressful things in my life; I don’t want to feel stressed when I’m supposed to feel refreshed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same here! Blogging is a way to kind of escape from stressful stuff and reading super negative posts does NOT help. I mean, I understand every once in awhile using your blog to vent about things, but if it’s constant, I’m not going to stick around. I have enough negativity in my life, I don’t need to add to it, hahaha.

      Like

      • Yes, definitely! Real life is stressful enough, why add more stress into it? Tbh it’s one of the reasons why I’m not on Twitter as much at the moment – I understand the conversations taking place are really important, but I’m just sooo emotionally exhausted from my own life I can’t really focus. :/

        Like

      • Totally understandable! There are days where I’m just way too exhausted to engage in those conversations. It always makes me feel a little guilty though because they are important to have πŸ˜› but sometimes you just need to take a step back for yourself.

        Like

      • I knooow, I feel so guilty too. But tbh “muting” Twitter has been really good for my mental health… so it IS objectively a good choice for me. I guess it’s when I hear about the “drama” (for lack of a better word) out of Twitter that I become extra curious, haha.

        Like

      • I can imagine. I really should try and take a break from Twitter (and Facebook for that matter), but I highly doubt I’d last long, haha. If I go even a day without checking in, I feel like I’ve missed so much πŸ˜›

        Like

  13. This! All of this! I agree with you 100%. Grammar and good writing are especially important to me because I think if your writing sucks, blogging is just not the right thing for you. Might sound kind of harsh, but that’s the way I see it. And as far as original content goes, I love book reviews and reading wrap-ups, and discussion posts are my favourite thing ever. I often click on a blog and see that the only things they’ve posted for weeks or even months are tags, awards and weekly features. Like, no thank you. And yeah, putting personality and your actual writing into posts is so important!

    Like

    • Yup, I agree. If you can’t write well, then blogging may not be the best thing for you to do. At the same time though I know some people actually use their blog to try and improve their writing, but I feel like then that effort at least shows. You can tell if someone is actively working on making their posts better or if they just don’t care.
      I like reading reviews, wrap-ups, and discussion posts the most too. πŸ™‚ Those are often the most personal and where you really get to see the blogger’s opinions and personality come through. If a blog never or only very rarely posts things like that, I’m not likely to stick around. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: Quotes Challenge- DAY 1 – Mystery Date With a Book

  15. I feel like my grammar and spelling can be pretty bad at times because that is not my strong point πŸ˜‚ I definitely always try to proofread my posts though! I swear sometimes typos just appear though?? It’s so annoying!!!

    I’m totally with you in regards to content. I really don’t like when people just post a bunch of book titles with no explanation. I wanna know WHYYY. Same as wrap up posts when people just list a book title and don’t even give it a rating? I also am not a fan of blogs who post nothing but book blitz, tours and cover reveals. As someone who struggles with original content, I know it’s not easy, but that’s just not the kind of content I want to be inundated with. Also, wth at someone complaining about the TTT topic?? Skip it or choose a new theme?? It’s not that hard???

    Great list, Kourtni!! I went through a huuuge unfollow spree a while back and I feel like i need to do it again, haha.

    Like

    • Haha trust me, my posts are far from perfect so I definitely understand having some typos. I end up finding typos in my posts days after I’ve already published them. πŸ˜› As long as it doesn’t make it too difficult to read, I don’t really mind.
      Content is definitely a BIG deciding factor for me. No matter how nice the blogger is, if they don’t post the type of content I’m interested in, there’s really no point in me following them. πŸ˜›
      I was sooo confused and surprised that someone would actually spend the time to complain about the topic in their post. I just did not understand that AT ALL.
      Thanks, Lauren! I don’t think I’ve unfollowed many blogs since I started blogging, but I 100% should go through and unfollow some people.

      Like

    • Yup, same here! I don’t mind as much if they post a lot of reviews, but too many memes or book blitzes reeeeally get annoying to me. I get that memes are fun to participate in (I usually do a couple a week), but you’ve got to post more than that if you want your blog to stand out and interest people. Discussion posts are the most fun to read for me so I always love when bloggers post those.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: 5 things that make me uninterested in your blog – TECH STUDY

  17. This is an AMAZING post! Thank you! I love hearing these sorts of things because I constantly have that little voice in my head, “Your posts stink. No one likes them. Where are your pictures? WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE!!!” — seeing this just reinforces for me how I have my own style and aesthetic and that is OK for me to do my own thing.

    Grammerly: YES YES YES. I love it! I ignore some of the grammar tips it gives me, but that’s because I try to write how I’d speak. And I *definitely* don’t always speak with perfect grammar! I’m also completely on board about negativity. I just don’t to listen to you complain, so don’t, mmmkay? πŸ˜‰

    Related to your comment about the lack of in-depth posts, I am turned off by blogs which are all listicles, memes, etc. I want to read book blogs for books. You can list books all your want, but I’d like to hear about your opinions on things! I’m personally not great at discussion posts, but I wish I was so I could add more depth to my content. Baby steps. I’ll get there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always find these kinds of posts useful too which is one of the reasons I like writing them, haha.
      Grammarly is great but I’m the same way – I usually write the way I speak, so I don’t always listen to its advice πŸ˜›
      Exactly! If a blogger never talks about their opinions, I tend to get uninterested in their posts. They just don’t end up offering anything unique compared to other bloggers so I end up feeling like it isn’t really worth my time. Discussion posts can definitely be a bit difficult to write at first, but they get a lot easier the more you do them!

      Like

  18. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap-Up – Coffee and Cats

  19. Pingback: Monthly favourites | March 2017 – Ravenclaw Book Club

  20. I don’t mind grammar and spelling issues so much because there are a lot of bloggers writing in a language that isn’t their first. I’d say that this is only an issue if the meaning of the content is being obscured. However, it can take time to read something that isn’t phrased the way we expect it to be and I know not everyone is willing to read something three or four times to determine the meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, I feel the same way. I know a lot of people are blogging in their second or even third language so I’m okay with some mistakes as long as I can still understand it. There have been some blogs though where it takes me way too long to read the posts because I kept having to go back and re-read things to try and decipher what they were saying, haha. I try to be understanding, but sometimes it just gets to be too much.

      Like

      • Yeah, I think that’s understandable. There’s no real reason we HAVE to read any person’s particular blog, so perhaps if it’s too much to try to decipher what’s being said it’s understandable if not everyone wants to reread it several times.

        I do find the question of second language writers to be really timely, however, because U.S. schools are accepting large numbers of international students because these students have to pay full tuition (that is, they’re subsidizing the American students). At the same time, teachers haven’t really been trained to know what to do with an influx of second language writers. I have seen teachers and students very reluctant to put the time into reading the work of international students because they resent that they can’t understand it on a first read. The whole system seems to be failing international students and second language writers. But I think just recognizing that people can be intelligent and have interesting thoughts without having impeccable grammar is a good start. So I’m glad that you brought the issue up as it pertains to blogging!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I absolutely agree that it’s important for people to realize that just because someone may not be able to speak English perfectly doesn’t mean their ideas aren’t intelligent and worth listening to. I think it’s something not many Americans consider because so many of us only speak one language so we don’t realize how difficult it can be to try to translate your thoughts into another language.

        Liked by 1 person

  21. Pingback: March Wrap-Up || April TBR (2017) – She Latitude

  22. I would agree with a lot of these! I would also say that for me, the frequency of posts is a factor. If they were really, really good I wouldn’t mind only getting one or two a month, and obviously everyone has busy times in their lives when they can’t post a lot. However, I lose interest a bit where there is consistently not much content, and it’s low quality.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed! I usually don’t follow blogs if they post less than once a week. Obviously I understand that things happen and people then may not be able to keep their blog updated and as long as it’s not something that happens constantly, that’s fine. But if they barely ever post, I tend to forget about them, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Three and four are ones that I completely agree with you on. When I look up blogs to follow, I tend to check out how they do reviews and if and how they do weekly memes. If all you have on a meme is a picture, most likely I won’t follow. I want to know what made you choose those books because that’s kind of the point of memes, for people to talk about their different or similar choices. As for number four, it feels so dismissive when people don’t respond to comments. I think that’s kind of how you establish connections with other bloggers and if you don’t respond to someone’s comment, specially if it’s thought out, it just makes you seem like a rude person.
    I struggle a lot with creating original content and tend to judge myself for it, but it’s something really difficult for me. I want to make my blog unique but it just doesn’t seem to be something I can do πŸ˜•

    Like

    • I completely agree with you about memes. If the blogger only includes pictures, there’s nothing to actually read in the post and it ends up being very boring. Not responding to comments is huge for me because, like you said, it seems dismissive and rude not to acknowledge people who are taking the time to read your posts.
      I completely understand where you’re coming from. I’ve been struggling with coming up with original content lately myself. Personally, I think certain memes (like Top Ten Tuesday) while not 100% original, allow for you share enough of your personal opinions that it does separate your blog out from others. Same thing with reviews – even if you’re reviewing a book that tons of other bloggers are also reviewing, it still reflects your own opinion (hopefully). I don’t think bloggers necessarily need to constantly be coming up with 100% original content, although it certainly helps πŸ˜‰ But I wouldn’t beat yourself up over it, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

