February Wrap-Up

February Wrap-Up

We’re already a few days into March, but I still can’t believe how quickly February passed by. I think it seemed to go by so fast because I’ve had a lot of homework to do and didn’t really have a lot of time to myself. 😛 March will probably be a lot of the same, truthfully.

Books I Read

  1. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi (4/5 stars)
  2. By the Icy Wild by Everly Frost (4.5/5 stars)

That’s it! I only read 2 books this month which is pretty pathetic for me. This is the lowest number of books I’ve read in one month since before I started blogging in January 2016 so I wasn’t very happy with this. During the second half of the month, I was in a reading slump so honestly, this isn’t really surprising. But it’s still disappointing. Luckily, the two books I did manage to get through this month were both really good reads. Homegoing was a four-star read for me and By the Icy Wild was a four and a half. So I guess I can’t be too disappointed.

Challenge Progress

Goodreads Challenge

I set a goal to read 50 books this year and I’ve now completed 9 books. That puts me 1 book ahead of schedule. 9/50

Beat the Backlist Challenge

Homegoing was released in 2016 which means that it can count for this challenge. I’m doing pretty well with this challenge so far. 6/20

Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge

Even though I haven’t been focusing too much on this challenge, I have managed to get another book done for this. I’m using Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi for “book wherein all POV characters are people of color.” 2/25

Read More Classics, Nonfiction, and Longer Books

I set a personal goal to read 5 books in each of those categories. And I still haven’t read any. 0/15

Read Diverse 2017 Challenge

Even though I only read two books in February, one of those is written by a woman of color (and is about people of color). I’m pretty happy with that, honestly. 4/12

The end of February also marks the end of the winter bookish bingo. I got 2 bingos this time around which isn’t too bad. I probably would’ve been able to get at least one or two more if I had read more books in February.

winter 2016 completed bingo card

Other Things I Posted

Despite not reading very much this month, I still posted a lot!

That’s about all I have! How was February for you?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

12 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

  1. At least the two books you read in February had great ratings! I hope you manage to read more in March though either way, I know it can feel a bit rubbish not reading as much as usual. Damn you, work 😆 Hope you have a lovely March! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really glad the books I managed to read in February had good ratings. Only reading 2 books would’ve been even more disappointing if they were both terrible, haha. Luckily I can already feel myself reading more in the past few days than I had been in February so fingers crossed I can keep that up, haha. Thanks Ashleigh, hope you have a great March too. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. February was also really busy for me so like you, I think I’ve also really only read two books or so! I’m sorry to hear that you had a bit of a slump and hope that it goes away soon. ❤

    I’m keen to start Homegoing eventually, just on the basis of the title, haha. I’m actually moving back home this month so it sounds like just the book… although I’ll be honest and admit that I’ve no idea what the blurb is, oops.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I’m coming out of my slump now, thankfully. It might have actually been reading Beauty Queens that put me into it, now that I think about it. 😛
      I saw that! It must be exciting to be moving back home, although I imagine it’s a lot of work too, haha. Homegoing is a great book; I hope you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sorry you’ve been in a reading slump. I hope you’re able to break free of that this month. I feel like I’m starting to slip into one and I’m trying to find the book to keep me out of it. Luckily Witches Abroad (a Discworld novel) is full of humour and whimsy, so I think I’ll be okay for now.
    Have a great March 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

