5 Memoirs by Black Authors

5 Memoirs by Black Authors

Today is the last Sunday in February which means it’s my last week of highlighting some books by Black authors on my TBR. This week I decided to focus on memoirs by Black authors. I don’t really read memoirs, but I’m hoping to get into them a little more this year and try a couple out. These are definitely contenders on that list. πŸ™‚

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou book cover

Maya Angelou has a number of memoirs/autobiographies but this is probably her most famous (I think). I’ve actually wanted to read this for a few years now, but just haven’t gotten around to it. I know Angelou is a common favorite among readers though so this is definitely one I want to check out.

You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have To Explain by Phoebe Robinson

You Can't Touch My Hair by Phoebe Robinson book cover

I just recently became aware of this, but now really, really want to read it. It’s basically a memoir talking about some of the ridiculous things that she’s been told/asked/called/etc. as a Black woman. It sounds pretty hilarious too, which is always a plus.

Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

Born a Crime by Trevor Noah book cover

Most of you probably know of Trevor Noah since he’s now the host of The Daily Show. I’ve heard a lot of things about his memoir and it sounds really good. It talks about his life growing up and it’s basically his coming-of-age story, from what I hear. I really love Trevor Noah on The Daily Show so this should be an interesting read for me.

Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward

Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward book cover

This memoir might actually be the one on this list that I most want to read. This is a reflection of the author’s loss of five young Black men in her life and her realization that their deaths are a result of the effects of racism. I’m sure this will be heartbreaking, but also an eye-opening read.

A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah

A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

A Long Way Gone is a pretty popular memoir, but for those of you who don’t know (and can’t tell from the title) it’s a memoir written by a man who was forced to be a child soldier and the effects its had on him throughout his life. Again, I’m sure this will be heartbreaking, but I think this is a topic we should all be more aware of.

These are 5 memoirs by Black authors on my TBR. What would add to the list?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

20 thoughts on “5 Memoirs by Black Authors

  1. I really want to read Trevor Noah’s book! I’ve been watching a ton of his videos from The Daily Show and then just the other night watched his Netflix special and he is so funny! I’ve also watched a bunch of promo interviews he did for the book release and they were all so interesting!

    I haven’t heard of any of the other books, so I will definitely have to check them out soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous books! Caged Bird and Born a Crime are both brilliant.

    I just read Assata: An Autobiography by Assata Shakur. She was a Black Panther and poet who was falsely accused of killing a white police officer – it talks about how she became a revolutionary, as well as her experiences in the US criminal justice system. I would seriously recommend it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Racism is not just a word- in my life and my families life while living in Liverpool in the UK has been a war- our car was torched, house smashed up, parents beaten in their own home, brother put in hospital, myself abducted by two racists from the same school and threatened and beaten. me and my brothers spent our young life, a time that should have been happy taking turns at the bedroom window waiting for the racists to come and smash our home and they did- sometimes two or three times a week. The Police did nothing and the racism at school involved beatings and in one incident I was pushed through a glass window at twelve years of age- the teachers tried to make my parents pay for the glass. I have posted some videos on my page and hopefully it may just make people realise what “real racism” is. Nobody likes being called names- whether its because of your weight, race, gender etc but being at war for forty years is another level.

    Like

  4. Pingback: 5 Memoirs by Black Authors β€” Kourtni Reads – cocobymonthlypress

Let's Chat!

