10 Series I Really Need To Finish

random-post-blog-header-3

I’ve always thought of myself as someone who’s pretty good at finishing series that I started. When thinking about series, I’d always remember the ones that I binge-read, like Divergent and The Hunger Games. I tend to forget those that I’ve neglected. But once I realized that I didn’t finish a single series last year, I also realized there are a lot of series that I’ve fallen behind on and want to finish.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ll admit I wasn’t a huge fan of the first book when I read it, but I have to say that Stiefvater really writes beautifully. I’ve heard this series gets better as it goes on so I definitely want to read the rest of the books (even though I’ve already been spoiled for some things…) and be able to join in on all the fangirling over this series.

Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

I read the first two books a few years ago but the third book hadn’t been released yet. By the time it finally got released, I had kind of forgotten about the series. But I really loved the first two books and I definitely want to see how this trilogy wraps up, especially since there’s going to be a series told from Noah’s point of view! I’ll probably have to reread the first two books since it’s been so long since I read them, but I’d honestly do so gladly.

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

This is pretty much the same story as Mara Dyer. I read the first two books, absolutely loved them, but the third book wasn’t out yet. I definitely hadn’t forgotten about these books, but my library didn’t get the third book right away and I didn’t want to buy the third without having the first two (and didn’t want to splurge and get all three either). I think my library has gotten the third book since then, though, so I should definitely get on this.

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

Asylum by Madeleine Roux book cover

I read the first book in this series, Asylum, back around Halloween and while it wasn’t the greatest thing I’ve ever read, it was still overall really enjoyable. I might try to read the rest of this series this fall when it’s more season-appropriate. πŸ˜› (Also if you’re wondering why I didn’t include all the book covers for this one, it’s 100% because I’m way too lazy to include them all.)

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

The Land of Stories The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer book cover

So admittedly, I can’t actually finish this series since there’s still one more book that needs to be released. It comes out later this year though and once it does, I definitely need to finish up this series. There are only two books (including the not-yet-released one) left for me to read so it shouldn’t be too time-consuming either. (Again I’m too lazy with the covers…)

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection by Kiera Cass book cover

I just mentioned this book in my Top Ten Tuesday post for this week, but it’s worth mentioning again here. I went into this book with pretty low expectations after seeing so many bloggers say how much they hated it. But I really, really enjoyed this book. I’ve heard mixed things about the rest of the series, but I still want to give it a try. The only reason I didn’t pick up the next book after I finished the first one was that my library didn’t have it and I was too lazy to request it from another library. I should probably stop being so lazy.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver by Lois Lowry book cover

So I was waaay behind on getting into this book. The reason why I finally picked it up was because the movie was coming out and I refuse to watch movies before I’ve read the book they’re based on. (The ironic part of this is that I still haven’t seen the movie even though it’s on Netflix.) Being a big dystopian fan, I really fell in love with this book and I 100% need to read the rest of the series. I don’t really know why I haven’t. I guess it’s mostly just that I only bought the first book and have been too lazy/broke to buy the rest.

Firebird series by Claudia Gray

This is another case of “I read this book before the whole series was out and just haven’t gotten around to the rest of the books.” Again I don’t really have a solid excuse for it. Can my excuse from now on just be that there are way too many books I want to read and I don’t have nearly enough time?

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This was a series that I really loved and although I own the first two books, I didn’t want to buy the third one because I have the first two in paperback. I definitely could’ve borrowed Library of Souls from my library but for some reason, I didn’t. I feel like my subconscious is telling me not to read the last book. Too bad for my subconscious because it’s going to happen eventually.

The 100 by Kass Morgan

I read the first book, The 100, back in the fall of 2015 and absolutely adored it. That probably comes as no surprise given how much I love dystopian/post-apocalyptic books. With the Amazon gift cards I got for Christmas, I ended up buying the rest of the series so I should (hopefully) finish the series soon-ish.

This list could definitely be a LOT longer, but here are 10 series I want to finish. What series do you need to get around to finishing?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

46 thoughts on “10 Series I Really Need To Finish

  1. Ooh, yes, definitely finish The Raven Cycle! I finished both The Selection and Mara Dyer trilogies and hated them. πŸ˜‚ Asylum is on my TBR! I meant to read it last year for Halloween, but didn’t make it in time.

    Like

  2. Whoa! I didn’t realize The 100 has an extra 2 books!! I read the first two books and then started watching the TV show. I didn’t enjoy the TV show as much as the books. How about you? I also need to read The Raven King.. hehe.. Great list!!

    Like

  3. Far far far too many ;P Hmm… let’s see…
    Dark Tower, Raven Cycle, Temeraire, Mary Russell, Outlander, The Others, Ender, Kingkiller, Languedoc, Discworld, The Clifton Chronicles, Liveship Traders, Inheritance Trilogy, Abhorsen Trilogy, Vampire Chronicles… okay! Let me stop there πŸ˜›
    Best of luck to us both πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I still need to finish the Heroes of Olympus series, and Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series. I loved The Raven Cycle; there was no way I wasn’t going to finish it because my wife and I read that entire series (minus the first book) together.

    Like

  5. I dont think I want to think about which series I need to finish, but at the same time I feel like I haven’t picked up many new series and the ones I do need to finish just aren’t finished yet publication wise, so that’s not really my fault. I do know that I need to read the last book in both the Snow Like Ashes and Firebird trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hahaha! The title of this post slays me. You’re not bad at it; this happens to the best of us. I still have to finish The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan/Brandon Sanderson (only one book left! and I’ve only had one book left for 4 years…) and Inheritance by N.K. Jemisin.

    I have only read the first The Giver book, as well. That said, I don’t want to read the rest of the series. I have heard they aren’t as good, and I want to stay in love with this book. I have definitely had great books ruined for me due to poor subsequent books. Rumor has it they aren’t nearly as good, at least, from my peers. I hope you love it when you get to it!

    Like

    • Oh I know it happens to all of us, I just didn’t realize how frequently it happens to me, haha! I honestly haven’t really heard anything about the later books in The Giver, but I definitely want to read them. Even if they aren’t great, I like that world so much that I want to give them a try. Hopefully I’ll end up enjoying them! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Aww I didn’t enjoy The Raven Cycle as much as I expected either! The first book was okay and I was kinda reluctant to keep going but to me, the best book was the 3rd Blue Lily, Lily Blue! And same with Mara Dyer!! I read the first two years ago and was eagerly waiting for the final book but then the release date got pushed away and I forgot to pick it up. I ended up buying it after all and I even started reading the first chapter but like you, I forgot pretty much everything that happened in the previous books hahaha πŸ˜› I too plan to finish it before the Noah’s trilogy comes out πŸ˜€

    Like

    • I definitely want to power through The Raven Cycle even though I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book. I’ve heard it gets better as it goes on so fingers crossed I agree, haha. I’m determined to finish Mara Dyer this year. I better be able to do it since I only have one book left, haha.

      Like

  8. This was fun to read! I only read the first miss peregrines, back when it was the only one released, but I really want to get around to the others!! And the entire Selection series has been on my want to read shelf forever!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The Raven Cycle is on my to read list. I read Rebel Belles and they were pretty good, the 2 sequels weren’t quite as good as the first but still a good series on a whole. The Selection Series is a must finish! Absolutely one of my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know a lot of people didn’t really care for the second book in the Rebel Belle series but I personally really enjoyed it. I haven’t actually heard a whole lot about the third book. Hopefully I’ll like that one too, though. I’m glad to hear you liked The Selection! I’ve heard a lot of people say the rest of the series isn’t as good as the first book, but I’m really hoping I’ll still enjoy them πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I only have The Raven King left to read in The Raven Cycle series and I really want to finish it but so many other books have interrupted me! Hoping to get through it before summer though. Right now, the third book is my favorite in that series.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s so good to see that I’m not the only one who has started both The Raven Cycle and Firebird books but has yet to finish them all. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I’ve actually read the first two for The Raven Cycle and was really into the series but for some reason never got around to the third book. And I’ve only read book one for Firebird, again adored it but never picked up the others. I really don’t have any excuses either other than there being so many books I want to read and just not enough time to read them all. Those two I actually plan on trying to finish this year though but we’ll see lol. Great post, Kourtni!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d reeeeally love to be able to finish the Firebird series this year as I absolutely adored the first book. I probably would’ve binge read the trilogy if all the books were out when I started it. πŸ˜› But yeah my only real excuse is just that there are too many books and not enough time, haha. Thanks, Melissa! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  12. The last Mara Dyer had mixed reviews, but I personally really loved the entire series! It’s so atmospheric and I really love the relationship between Mara and Noah πŸ˜€ I hope you finish it eventually πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

Let's Chat!

