Top 5 Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Top 5 Wednesday 2/22/17

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. All links will take you to Goodreads. This weekโ€™s topic is top five books to help get you out of a reading slump. Two things always help get me out of a reading slump: a fast-paced book or a book with a really cute, pretty light story and so most of these books will fit into one of those categories.

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

the edge of juniper by lora richardson book cover

I read this back in September after being in a bit of a reading slump and this is 100% what pulled me out of it. This isn’t always really fluffy, but man, it has some great swoon-worthy parts. I can easily see myself rereading this next time I’m in a slump and looking for something to pull me out of it.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch book cover

This is one of those books that once you start reading it, it’s really hard to put it down. I remember reading a lot of this in a 3-hour car ride and I spent most of the ride reading which is usually pretty rare for me since for some reason I have a hard time focusing on books in the car. So for this to be able to hold my attention is pretty impressive. Anyway, you’ll be too desperate to keep turning the pages and see what’s happening, you won’t have time to be in a slump. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost book cover

This whole series is pretty great if you’re in a slump and looking for something fast-paced to get you out of it, but the first book is especially great. This book does not stop and I absolutely adored it. Perfect for fans of YA sci-fi!

City Love by Susane Colasanti

City Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

This is another one that’s definitely not all smiles and fluff, but I still think it’s a pretty captivating book and could help you power through a slump. YA contemporaries, in general, are usually pretty good for that kind of thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

dumplin' by julie murphy book cover

I absolutely adored this book and I feel like I don’t talk about it nearly as often as I should. This could definitely help you out of a reading slump since it’s a pretty feel-good story (I mean, there are parts that aren’t, but overall it’s pretty great) and it’s really funny. Dumplin’ actually made me laugh out loud multiple times which I almost never do when I’m reading. I’d definitely recommend this one!

What books do you think are good for helping you out of a slump?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

21 thoughts on “Top 5 Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

  1. I really want to read dumplin, it’s been on my radar for a while now so I’m glad you like it! Personally when I’m in a reading slump I’ll always try a read a fluffy contemporary, something that doesn’t require too much brain power but is still enjoyable. Or I’ll read a few chapters of a harry potter book, that usually sorts me out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dumplin’ is fantastic! I definitely recommend it ๐Ÿ™‚ Light, fluffy contemporaries are always such a great way to pull you out of a slump. Reading HP seems like a great strategy too but I have a feeling I would then feel the need to reread the whole series, hahaha.

      Like

  2. First of all– you can read in the car?! Oh man, I am SUPER jealous. I am more or less incapable of that. Insta-sick. Ew.

    I feel like I really need to read Beyond the Ever Reach and the whole Mortality series. You are constantly talking about them, and they sound AWESOME. In fact, I’ll keep it for when I’m in a slump. Brilliant! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • I honestly had no idea that people got sick from reading in the car until a few years ago when I was going somewhere with my grandma and she downright AMAZED that I didn’t, haha. Guess I just got lucky ๐Ÿ˜‰
      It’s such a great series! Part of the reason I love it is that it’s really fast-paced which keeps me from getting bored which is perfect if you’re trying to get out of a slump. I hope you enjoy the series if/when you read it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I so need to read Dark Matter. I remember reading all the rave reviews for it last year and it seems like a great book. For me, cute/fluffy contemporaries are usually a sure-fire way to get out of a reading slump either that or rereading some of my favorites. And then during the worst of the worst slumps I don’t let myself read at all but rather binge tv shows. ๐Ÿ™ˆ
    Great list, Kourtni!! โ™ฅ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m definitely with the camp of light and fluffy type books being great for getting out of a reading slump. Honestly though, sometimes a really intense fantasy book is what I need, to get me out of my own head and world for a bit. Often my reading slumps are because I’m so caught up in the physical world and can’t seem to get out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone say that an intense fantasy helps them get out of a slump until now, haha. I can definitely see what you mean though – sometimes a world that’s really different from our own can be a good escape and it can definitely help stop you from getting too caught up in reality.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

