Top Ten Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Top Ten Tuesday 2/21/17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme is top ten books you liked more/less than you thought you would. I’m pretty sure the intention was to choose one (either more or less), but I decided to go with both and choose 5 for each to make things a little easier for myself.

5 Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would

I’m starting off with the books I didn’t enjoy as much as I thought I would. This doesn’t mean that I didn’t like the books at all, but simply that they weren’t quite as amazing and jaw-dropping as I thought they would be.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab book cover

Please don’t kill me. I really did enjoy this book (and the sequel) overall, but based on all the hype surrounding this series I was just expecting more from it. Like I said, I still liked it, but it hasn’t become an all-time favorite for me like it is for so many other people.

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco book cover

This was neither a wonderful nor terrible book. It was just “eh” to me. I know some people have really enjoyed it, but for me, it just dragged on forever and there wasn’t enough happening to truly keep me interested. I hope/think that the next books in the series will be better though and I definitely plan on reading the sequel.

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard book cover

Red Queen is probably one of my favorite books of all time and so I was expecting quite a lot from the sequel. Unfortunately, GS wasn’t the best. Similarly to The Bone Witch, I found it to be really slow and hard to stay interested in. It got really repetitive after awhile too. I’m still really excited to read King’s Cage, though (which I’ll hopefully be starting later this week!).

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard book cover

A lot of you have probably heard me complain about this book before since it’s kind of become my go-to example of a book that was hyped up way too much for me to enjoy it. I know a lot of people love the friendship between the two main characters (I can’t remember their names), but I had a hard time differentiating between the two. The magic system was incredibly confusing and contradicted itself several times. Basically, I was just expecting so much more out of this and was so disappointed with what I actually got.

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman book cover

This is another book that I was really quite excited for, but unfortunately ended up being disappointed by. I felt the pacing in this was kind of off and it made it hard for me to stay interested throughout the book. It certainly wasn’t terrible, and I may end up reading the sequel at some point, but I definitely didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

5 Books I Liked More Than I Thought I Would

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

out of the easy by ruta sepetys book cover

Even though I had already read and adored the two other books Sepetys has published, I wasn’t convinced that I was going to really enjoy this one. Unlike her other two books, this one wasn’t WWII historical fiction but rather was set in New Orleans in the 1950s. My doubts ended up being completely unfounded though as this actually became my favorite out of her three novels.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

under rose-tainted skies by louise gornall book cover

I wasn’t expecting to dislike this book, but I also wasn’t expecting to fall in love with it like I did. This was such an absolutely fantastic book and I highly recommend it to pretty much everyone. There are some potentially triggering things in this book, like self-harm, though. But if you can handle reading it, you definitely should.

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

the edge of juniper by lora richardson book cover

I was sent a copy of this book by the author to read and review and I am soooo happy that I accepted this request. It’s definitely one of my favorite YA contemporaries and I desperately want more people to read this and see what a fantastic book it is. Again there’s some potentially triggering stuff like abuse, but if you can stomach it, it’s well worth the read.

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost book cover

Okay, okay – I know I’ve been talking about this series nonstop since I first read it, but it deserves the recognition, okay? I read this when it was first published as Fear My Mortality and it has seen been re-released as a self-published series and it is amazing. If you like YA sci-fi, you should absolutely check this book out! It’s not the best in terms of diversity, but it’s still a great read. And with each book available for only a few dollars on Kindle, it’s pretty hard to resist. πŸ˜‰

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection by Kiera Cass book cover

This is one of those books that I had been meaning to read for years and yet never did. Once I started blogging, I started seeing a ton of people say how horrible this series was and got discouraged. I decided to grab the first book from the library anyway and I’m really glad I did because it was a really enjoyable read. Maybe it’s just because my expectations were pretty low, but I thought it was great. Now I just need to get myself to finish the series.

What books have you read that you liked more or less than you thought you would?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

55 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. I usually go for classics. I’m more of a Jane Austen kind of girl πŸ™‚ I loved The Great Gatsby but, before I read it, I thought it would be so boring. Not at all. Now is one of my favorite books.Then you get The Grapes of Wrath for example. I was so excited to read because my Literature professors would say wonders about it. Oh my god, dead boring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How you feel about The Darker Shade of Magic is how I feel about The Mortal Instruments… It was a alright book but I just don’t get the hype. I’m still to get to The Darker Shade of Magic, but I’m going into it with no expectations really and I do try and avoid reviews and such about books I’m planning on reading.

    Awesome list!! πŸ“š

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve definitely seen quite a few positive reviews for Truthwitch which is why I decided to read it in the first place πŸ˜› I haven’t seen many positive reviews for The Bone Witch, but I read it before there were many people actually reviewing it so that didn’t help much, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Selection is one of my favorites. I didn’t expect to swoon and become suddenly addicted either. But that’s what happened. I think A Darker Shade of Magic was hyped a bit much. I did love it. But I’m not like gaga over it.

    Like

    • Pretty much the same story here with both of those books, haha. After hearing so many people complain about The Selection, I wasn’t expecting to enjoy too much but I ended up absolutely loving it. And I don’t really understand why people are SO in love with ADSOM. It’s good, but I don’t really understand why it’s worshiped so much, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally agree about Glass Sword. I adored Red Queen and then Glass Sword was blah. I’m reading King’s Cage right now, and 40 pages in has me O_O

    I really did not like Bone Witch. It was slow and boring.

    I LOVED the Selection.. however… the two that followed were meh for me.

    Lauren @ bookslaying.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • That seems to be a pretty popular opinion! It seems like most bloggers who loved RQ didn’t really liked GS but I’ve seen a LOT of people saying they’re really enjoying King’s Cage which makes me so happy! I’m hoping to read that once I finish my current book.
      I felt like The Bone Witch had a lot of potential but was just sooo slow. I’m hoping the next book will be better because it really could be an amazing story!
      I’ve heard so many mixed things about The Selection that I don’t really know what to expect with the other books in the series, haha. Hopefully I’ll like them πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Great list! I actually haven’t read any of these books yet, but several of them are on my TBR, including A Darker Shade of Magic. So many people seem to love that series, but I’ve been a bit hesitant to read it. I’m honestly kind of glad to hear you didn’t like it as much! When I read books that only have amazing things talked about them I get more intimidated by them. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely understand! It’s so hard for super hyped up books to actually live up to expectations and I get kind of nervous too. I think ADSOM is a good series, but I just don’t really understand why it’s SO well-loved. I don’t really think it’s deserving of being worshiped like it is, haha. I hope you like it if/when you read it, though!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy ADSOM as much as you thought you would! It’s one of my all time favorites… I had a similar experience with Glass Sword though; I really enjoyed the first book, but the sequel wasn’t nearly as good. Fingers crossed book three will be better!

    Like

    • I think with ADSOM it was just a case of the hype setting my expectations so high that it was impossible for the book to actually live up to them πŸ˜› I still think it’s a good series, I’m just not as in love with it as others are.
      From what I’ve heard from other bloggers, King’s Cage is a lot better than Glass Sword was. I’m sooo happy to see so many people saying that because I was really nervous it was going to be another disappointment, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I just finished Under Rose-Tainted Skies and loved it! So glad to see it exceeded your expectations, too! I definitely don’t blame you for adding ADSOM to your disappointments list, especially since I had the sequel on my TTT after a lot of hype with not as much merit as I was hoping for (the same for Truthwitch!) The Dark Days Club was pretty middle of the road for me, a good example of a positive 3-star book, but not as memorable as I thought it’d be. Here’s hoping the sequel makes a bigger impression. Great list for this week!

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked URTS! I keep recommending it to people left and right because I want everyone to read it, haha. Yeah I think both ADSOM and AGOS receive soooo much hype that it’s pretty much impossible for the books to actually live up to the expectations. I agree with you about The Dark Days Club, too. It wasn’t bad at all, but wasn’t great either.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I really didn’t think I’d like URTS as much as I did. I think it’s because it has a similar plot to Everything Everything, but I was unhappy with how that book turned out and didn’t want a repeat. It really sucks when books get so much hype that they’ll inevitably let you down, but sometimes it really is worth it! πŸ™‚

        Like

  8. Ohhh I’m the opposite of you when it comes to ADSOM! There was too much hype so I lowered my expectation haha I was actually a bit wary of it, but theeeen it blew my mind and instantly became my favorite πŸ˜› also yes to Glass Word. I feel like the entire series just went downhill in Glass Word </3 I don't want to read King's Cage but I'm curious of what's gonna happen, do you mind if I ask you about it after you finish reading? πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • I probably should’ve lowered my expectations for ADSOM based on the hype, but for some reason I didn’t. πŸ˜› I probably would’ve enjoyed it a lot more if I wasn’t expecting so much from it. Glass Sword definitely was not nearly as good as Red Queen was. I’ve seen a lot of people saying King’s Cage is a lot better though which makes me so happy, haha. I was nervous it was going to be like GS and I wouldn’t enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. So many people were disappointed with Glass Sword! That is why I didn’t start with Red Queen only. I am ditching Truthwitch seeing all disappointing reviews and I should get to Out of the Easy, it’s been on my tbr for a long time now.
    Here’s My TTT

    Like

  10. Great list, Kourtni! I also did the same thing on my Top Ten Tuesday. I like the idea of splitting it into two lists of 5– but it was hard to come up with the books!

    The books you loved are all familiar to me now that I follow your blog. Which is great! I have a few of them on hold from the library (Rose-Tained Skies for sure!). I’m glad to see your list of Didn’t Likes– The Bone Which and Truthwitch are both on my TBR. Perhaps I’ll think twice before picking them up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splitting it into two lists of 5 made it a lot easier for me, haha.
      URTS is one of my all-time favorites, so I really hope you’ll enjoy it. πŸ™‚ The Bone Witch was okay, just way too slow for my tastes. You might still like it if you’re okay with slower books or like a lot of world-building. Truthwitch was just a mess in my opinion, haha. I know a lot of people love that book but I sadly am not one of them πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

