5 YA Books By Black Authors

5 YA Books By Black Authors

For those of you who don’t know, every Sunday in February I’ve been doing a little something to help celebrate Black History Month. I’ve been putting together lists of boks by Black authors. We’ve (finally) gotten to my theme that I could have easily come up with dozens of books for: YA books by Black authors. Obviously, the vast majority of what I read is YA and therefore most of what’s on my TBR is YA as well. I kept it down to 5 books in order to keep some consistency with the past two weeks of this feature and I tried to get a good mix of current/recent and backlist titles.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

You didn’t think I was going to get through a list that could incorporate this book without doing so, did you? This comes out in just over a week and I am So. Ready. I have it pre-ordered and I’m planning on reading it ASAP once my copy arrives. Hopefully, that’ll work out for me ๐Ÿ˜› For those of you may not know, this is a book inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement. The main character’s friend gets shot and killed by police and the resulting story is described as “one girl’s struggle for justice.” I cannot wait for this book!

Pointe by Brandy Colbert

Pointe by Brandy Colbert

This book is on my TBR mostly because it just sounds unlike anything else I’ve ever read. The main character’s best friend was kidnapped and several years later, when she’s on her way to becoming an elite ballerina, he reappears, causing the MC Theo to start reliving some less-than-pleasant memories. I’ve heard good things about this book and, like I said, it sounds really unique.

This Side of Home byย Renรฉe Watson

This Side of Home by Renee Watson book cover

This Side of Home is about two twin teenagers whose neighborhood is being gentrified. One of them likes the changes while the other feels theirย home is disappearing. As a sociology minor and someone interested in racial inequality, I find gentrification something that’s interesting yet devastating to learn about and I’m very interested to see how this book tackles it.

Riot by Walter Dean Myers

Riot by Walter Dean Myers book cover

I definitely wanted to include something by Walter Dean Myers on this list since he’s one of the most famous Black YA authors out there (if not the most famous). I considered including Monster, but figured Riot is less well-known so decided to go with this one instead. I managed to grab a hardcover copy of this book for $0.25 over the summer from my library’s book sale. (Humble brag.) Anyway, this is about riots that break out in NYC between the city’s Irish and African American residents. The main character is the daughter to an Irish mother and Black father and is kind of caught in the middle. Walter Dean Myers has received so many awards and so much recognition for his writing that I’m sure this will be a great read.

Girls Like Me by Lola St.Vil

Girls Like Me by Lola St.Vil book cover

There are a few things about this book that really appeal to me. For starters, the main character is overweight which is, sadly, very hard to come by in YA (or really any other genre). Second, it’s written in verse which I love (which is ironic for someone who doesn’t really like reading poetry). And finally, it just sounds like a really cute, good book. I love books that incorporate the Internet into them (I don’t really know why) so I love the idea of the MC meeting her love interest online. Basically, this book looks really good and I’d love to read it.

Have you read any of these? What books would you add to this list?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

26 thoughts on “5 YA Books By Black Authors

  1. OHHHH I LOVE THIS FEATURE IDEA :)! And I’ll have to add some of these to my TBR, I’m excited to read The Hate U Give too. I really liked Girls Like Me ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m kind of iffy on poetry books but I loved the texts/email messages, it was cute and the book made me cry. Pointe sounds amazing as well, so I’ll read that one asap XD. Lovely list, and awesome feature ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I’m definitely looking forward to reading The Hate U Give, and I also have Girls Like Me on my loose TBR. Hopefully I’ll get to both of those… someday, haha. I’m taking a bit of a break from everything atm and reading has kind of taken a backseat, but I’m still excited. โค

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The only one I’ve heard of on this list is The Hate U Give which is a book I am so excited for. I seriously can’t wait for it! I also really like the sound of Pointe and Girls Like Me. I’ll definitely be adding those to my TBR. Thanks for the recs, Kourtni!!๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

