January Wrap-Up

January Wrap-Up header

January was such an exhausting month. Well at least the last 11 days were… I can’t say I’m sad to see it go even though I highly doubt February is going to be any better. But there are a lot of great books releasing this month and it’s my birthday month so how bad can it be? Anyway, I’m here to show you all what I read and posted during January. So let’s get to it!

Books I Read

  1. Every Hidden Thing by Kenneth Oppel (2/5)
  2. Beneath the Guarding Stars by Everly Frost (4/5)
  3. Nemesis by Brendan Reichs (4/5 – review to come 3/6)
  4. Shadows of the Forest by Emma Michaels (1.5/5)
  5. The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (4/5)
  6. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco (3/5 – review to come 2/20)
  7. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (4/5 – review to come 2/6)

I read 7 books this month which is pretty impressive for me, although one of those, We Should All Be Feminists, was very short (not even 50 pages). Overall, these books were kind of a mixed bag. It’s pretty rare for me to give ratings under 3 stars and yet I gave out two this month for Every Hidden Thing and Shadows of the Forest. But at the same time, Beneath the Guarding Stars, Nemesis, and The Sun Is Also a Star all ended up being really great. We Should All Be Feminists was pretty good, too although it was a bit elementary for me. Anyway, check out the reviews that have already been posted and keep an eye out for the ones that haven’t gone up yet if you’re interested in seeing more of my thoughts.

Challenge Progress

Goodreads Challenge

My challenge for this year is to read 50 books and since I’m now on book 8 for the year, this puts me 3 books ahead of schedule. 8/50

Beat the Backlist Challenge

I’ve made quite a bit of progress with this already. Out of the books I read in January, 5/7 of them were released prior to 2017. The only ones that don’t count for this are Nemesis and The Bone Witch, both of which release in March. My goal for BtB was 20 books but it’s already looking like I might have to bump that up a bit, haha. 5/20

Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge

I’m not focusing too much on this challenge, but I did manage to check off one book: The Sun Is Also a Star fits the challenge to “read a book by an immigrant or with a central immigration narrative.” 1/25

Read More Classics, Nonfiction, and Longer Books

A personal goal of mine is to read 5 books fitting each of those categories. I technically could count We Should All Be Feminists as nonfiction but because it’s so small, I’m not sure I want to. So I’m going with 0/15 with this one.

Read Diverse 2017 Challenge

I can’t remember if I ever actually officially announced on my blog that I was participating in this challenge hosted by Naz at Read Diverse Books. Regardless, I am. My bare minimum goal is to read at least one diverse book a month. Ideally, it’ll be closer to about half of the books I read. In January, I read 3 diverse books: We Should All Be Feminists, The Sun Is Also a Star, and The Bone Witch. So I’m making good progress with this goal! 3/12

Other Things I Posted

Misc.

There are 3 other things that I want to mention, but only two of them have to do with me, haha. First of all, Kourtni Reads reached 500 followers in January which is so exciting! Thank you to all of you who follow me; it means so much to me. ❤

Second, I updated my blog design which I’m sure you’ve all noticed by now (at least I hope so… Otherwise, you’re not very observant, hahaha). I’m really pleased with the updated design. I think it fits my personal tastes a lot better than the old one did. 🙂

Third, I wanted to give a shout out to Everly Frost, the author of the Mortality series. When I pointed out in my review of Beneath the Guarding Stars that she had used some language that could upset readers, she emailed me to thank me for pointing it out and immediately made changes in both the Kindle and physical version of her book (and checked the upcoming 3rd book). I was pretty impressed by that response and wanted you all to see how awesome she is!

Well, that’s a wrap on January! Here’s to hoping that February is just as good.

January was quite a good month for me. How was it for you?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

7 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up

    • That’s awesome! I love hearing that 🙂
      My reading speed varies wildly, haha. Some books I’ll finish in 3 days and others take me 2 weeks. 😛 But I still usually manage to read quite a bit so it’s all good with me, haha. 🙂 There are other bloggers who somehow manage to read 20 books in one month and I swear it’s witchcraft, hahaha.

      Like

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award – Book Princess Reviews

Let's Chat!

