#DiverseAThon Wrap-Up

diverseathon wrap-up blog header

Yesterday was the last day of this round of #DiverseAThon and what a spectacular failure it was for me. My main goal was to get through The Bone Witch and then at least start another book (ideally finishing a second), but I really didn’t come near that goal. The two main reasons why I didn’t do so well were that 1.) This was my first full week back at school and work and therefore I didn’t have very much free time and 2.) the world has been in complete and utter chaos which made it very hard for me to focus on reading.

Regardless, I did manage to get through The Bone Witch. Just barely. But I did it! I finished it last night. I’m not totally sure what I thought of this. I loved the world-building and the fact that the story was very clearly influenced by Japanese culture, particularly the asha who were clearly based on geisha. But in terms of the actual plot, it felt like it was missing something to me. Nothing really got going until around halfway through the book and even then it was mostly Tea’s training to become an asha which, truthfully, was rather boring. Anyway, long story short: I’m not quite sure what I thought of this and need some time to sort out my thoughts. Keep an eye out for my review which will likely be posted towards the end of February since this book doesn’t release until March 7th.

I have to say that even though I didn’t get very much reading done this week, I’m not really upset about it. This was meant to just kind of be a fun way for me to feel motivated to read diverse books rather than something I really wanted to stress myself out over. And as you all probably know by now, I’m planning to read a lot of diverse books throughout the year so I don’t really care that I didn’t get more than one read this week. They’re not going anywhere. 🙂 On the other hand, I am a little disappointed I didn’t end up making it to any of the Twitter chats. I don’t even have a good excuse for it. I just haven’t been in the mood for Twitter chats recently and so I’ve skipped them (in the past week alone, there have been 3 different ones that I was interested in but didn’t actually participate in). Oh well, there’s not much I can do about it now, haha. I’ll definitely be participating in DiverseAThon again in the future, hopefully with more success!

How did you do during #DiverseAThon?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

8 thoughts on “#DiverseAThon Wrap-Up

  1. Yeah, I’ve been hearing that The Bone Witch is quite slow, so I’ll probably wait until it comes out in March to borrow it from the library or something (if my library decides to pick it up lol)! It sucks that you couldn’t read too much of your TBR; I feel you on the school thing! 😬

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think 90% of the reason it was so slow is simply that it’s the first book in a series and therefore had to “set up” the story for the rest of the books. I still wish it had been a little more action-filled though. Picking it up from the library is probably a good idea 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t participate in #DiversAThon but I almost always fail at read-a-thons. I actually set succeding in a read-a-thon as one of my goals for 2017. I have no idea why it’s so hard for me 😂 I think it’s still pretty impressive that you managed to finish a book, considering being so busy with school!

    Like

  3. I totally feel you on the state of the world affecting things. I’ve hardly been online the past week or so (or blogging this month) because it’s just been so draining. I totally failed Diverseathon, haha. I read the first chapter of the group book and that’s it 😂

    Looking forward to seeing your full review for The Bone Witch!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Kourtnii! I was totally rooting for The Bone Witch but I continue to come across the same sentiments. I am the type of reader than can read slower paced books but I do need some sort of action sprinkled along the way lol. I had the same issue with Wintersong & I have The Bone Witch on my TBR for February but I’m feeling less & less enthused about it lol. Ahhhhh! & I happen to be fascinated by Geisha’s & Japanese culture…i’ll keep an eye out for your review 😉 I also fully understand the mood btw, the state of the world & politics has put a damper on my reading (especially Dystopia) & even desire to open my Twitter app. I’m holding on to hope, somethings gotta give ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I think if you’re okay with slower-paced books and are fascinated with Japanese culture, you might enjoy this more than I (and other people) did. There is some action sprinkled in here and there, but I have a pretty low tolerance when it comes to slow books, so it wasn’t quite enough for me, haha. I’m hopeful for the next book in the series though. I think a lot of the reason why it was so slow was because it was setting up for the series. Anyway, I hope you’ll like it more than I did!

      Like

Join the Discussion

