The Wine Book Tag

random-post-blog-header-1

I was tagged to do the wine book tag by Beth @ Reading Every Night back in the middle of December. Sorry it’s taken me awhile to get to, but thanks for the tag! This is honestly the perfect tag for me because I’ve recently kind of fallen in love with wine (well, white wine at least). These questions were quite difficult, but I managed to come up with answers. Without further ado…

Box Wine: A book that people will judge you for liking but you like it anyway.

The only thing that really comes to mind is Allegiant. I feel like generally speaking this community isn’t really judgmental with what books you do/don’t like, so I don’t know what else to say here, haha. But Allegiant probably works pretty well since most people seem to really hate this book, especially the ending. I, however, loved it.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth book cover

Organic Wine: A book that doesn’t have any added crap in it and is just written perfectly.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall. You couldn’t think I would get through a tag without mentioning this, right? Might as well get it out of the way. 😉 I’m pretty sure you all know how much I love this book already so I won’t say anything other than this: please read this beautiful, wonderful book!

under rose-tainted skies by louise gornall book cover

Gluehwein: A really spicy, wintry read.

I’m not totally sure why, but I always associate Harry Potter with winter so that’s what I’m going with, especially since I can’t think of any other wintry books, haha.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling book cover

Sauvignon Blanc: A really sharp and aggressive read that you couldn’t put down.

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs gets this one (although I’ll admit I’m not quite sure what a “sharp” read is…). There was so much going on throughout this book but it was really fantastically written and left me wanting the next book ASAP. Unfortunately for me, this book isn’t even out yet so I have quite a bit of waiting to do…

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs book cover

Pinot Noir: A book you didn’t expect much from but ended up getting blown away.

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer. I had heard nothing about this book (and I think even almost a year later, I’ve only seen one other blogger mention it and that was on Twitter) so I wasn’t really sure what to expect of it and therefore wasn’t expecting much. But this was honestly a really great book that is, sadly, become more relevant with its focus on environmentalism. This book is so underrated.

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer book cover

Chardonnay: A good summer read that was super-zesty.

City Love by Susane Colasanti. Anytime someone mentions “summer reads” contemporary romance always comes to mind. As for being super-zesty, I think City Love meets that criteria pretty well, too.

City Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

Rose: A book that has a little bit of everything in it.

Hmm… The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid. This was such an interesting mix of sci-fi, romance, political intrigue, and more. If you haven’t read this yet, I’d definitely recommend it!

the diabolic by s.j. kincaid book cover

Shiraz: A full-bodied book that is dark and juicy.

I’m really struggling to come up with a book for this one. Maybe A Darker Shade of Magic? I feel like that fits this fairly well…

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab book cover

Merlot: A smooth easy read with a soft finish.

The Selection by Kiera Cass. I haven’t read the whole series, only the first book, so I don’t know if the whole series is necessarily a smooth read with a soft finish. But the first book definitely is.

The Selection by Kiera Cass book cover

Champagne: Your favorite book.

Ummm this is so cruel, let’s be real. I can’t choose a favorite book! I’ll just go with my favorite book that I’ve read last year and haven’t mentioned already: Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. Sepetys is such a wonderful author; any of her books could’ve taken this spot.

out of the easy by ruta sepetys book cover

Because I’m lazy and writing this last minute, I’m not going to tag anyone. But if you want to do it, by all means, consider yourself tagged!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

24 thoughts on “The Wine Book Tag

  1. Ugh, I still need to read The Diabolic! I’ve been drowning in all the books lately that I’ve failed to pick it. Still pumped for Nemesis (even though I have to wait two months for it). 😄

    Like

  2. I like the sound of Nemesis. Just the sort of intense book I like to read more often these days.

    I have no clue what Diabolic is about. Whenever I visit the bookstore, it’s always on display on the newly released section. the cover seems to draw me towards it for some reason. Unfortunately, the synopsis leaves me with almost nothing. Ahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! this is a great list. I am really impressed– I don’t think I could pull it off this well. Honestly- this is a challenging tag!

    I associate HP with winter because every book always has a Christmas scene. There aren’t a lot of series like that. Plus, all the scenes with Dementors create frost and ice no matter what season. After seeing the movies in particular, it’s hard to not think of winter with them.

    Lastly, The Diabolic is on my TBR. I can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  4. Great picks for this tag Kourtni, and don’t worry about taking a while to get around to it either. There are tags on my list that have been there for ages I still need to get around to myself.
    I’m actually one of the people who didn’t enjoy Allegiant as much, It’s a shame because I really enjoyed the trilogy, I just couldn’t get past the ending. Also I LOVE A Darker Shade o Magic, the whole series actually, so I definitely agree it fits that question.
    I have The Diabolic on my to-read list but seeing it made it onto this tag for you just makes me that little bit more excited to get around to it now! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

