Top Ten Diverse Books Releasing This Year

Top Ten Diverse Books Releasing in 2017 blog header

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week is a freebie week so I decided to focus on diverse books releasing this year that I’m looking forward to. I know I’ve talked a lot about 2017 releases and about diverse books on my TBR, so I’m going to try not to be too repetitive here.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas book cover

I know I’ve mentioned this book a hundred thousand times, but I couldn’t leave it out. This is the book I’m most excited for this year and I can’t believe it’s just over a month away from releasing!

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy book cover

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you might remember me reading and absolutely loving Dumplin’ over the summer. When I heard Julie Murphy was releasing a new book, I got really excited and then I got even more excited when I heard the main character was bisexual. May can’t come fast enough.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon book cover

This sounds like a really cute rom-com. It’s about two teens whose parents have arranged a marriage for them but only one of them knows. It sounds like an incredibly cute story and I’m totally loving that the two main characters are Indian Americans.

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

American Street by Ibi Zoboi book cover

This is about a teen who immigrates from Haiti to the U.S. with her mom but her mom gets detained and she’s left to figure out how to navigate America pretty much on her own. I’ve seen some very good reviews for this so far and I’m hoping I’ll get a chance to read it soon.

The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera

The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera book cover

I first heard about this from Naz at Read Diverse Books and I feel like ever since then, I’ve seen it all over the place. This sounds really good and I remember reading in Naz’s review that family plays a big role which I love.

You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

You're Welcome Universe by Whitney Gardner book cover

I don’t even know where to start with this one. This features a deaf protagonist of color (I believe she’s Indian) and I’ve seen so many good things about this book. It comes out in early March but honestly, the wait is still too long!

How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake book cover

I’ve been following Ashley on Twitter for a long time and have been so excited to see her publish her debut (which I finally bought!) and to announce a second book. How To Make A Wish has a bisexual main character and I think the love interest is black, too. I’m so here for bisexual characters. Hopefully, I’ll get to this sooner than I got to Ashley’s debut (which I still haven’t actually gotten to…).

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich book cover

I honestly wasn’t that excited about this book at first, but then I found out that this takes the love triangle trope and twists it by having the two guys fall in love. I think we can all see why I want to read this book, yeah? hahaha

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee book cover

This is about a girl who’s video goes viral online and then stuff happens (very specific, right?). Anyway, the reason why I’m really excited for this is that the main character is asexual and it’s explicitly stated right in the blurb. I’ve never read a book with any asexual characters, much less a main character so I’m ridiculously excited.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

I want to read this so badly. This is a debut novel examining race relations in America after the main character is arrested (and released) which, as a black teen, is obviously a terrifying experience. This book is sure to be a fantastic and incredibly important read.

Which of these are you looking forward to? Are there any other diverse releases this year you’d add?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Diverse Books Releasing This Year

    • Surprisingly few people seem to have heard about it. It’s kind of understandable though since it doesn’t come out until October.
      I totally agree! This list easily could’ve been 2x as long. There are so many great diverse books releasing this year πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m extremely excited for so many of these! Especially The Hate U Give, When Dimple Met Rishi, You’re Welcome, Universe, and The Love Interests. There’s a few I actually hadn’t heard of on your list as well. Like Tash Hearts Tolstoy, I’ll definitely be adding that one to my TBR. Great picks, Kourtni! 😊β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

