5 Nonfiction Feminist Books On My TBR

5 Nonfiction Feminist Books On My TBR header

I’m sure most, if not all of you, know, yesterday women (well, people of all genders) marched across the globe to protest Trump. I sadly did not march but seeing all the social media posts about the protests was so inspiring that I decided I wanted to do a little something on the blog to celebrate how successful the Women’s March was yesterday. I think a great way to do this is to share a few feminist books that are on my TBR (I would go with feminist books that I read, but there are sadly not very many of them).

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay book cover

When someone mentions “feminist nonfiction” this is pretty much the first book that comes to mind. This is a collection of essays written about what it was like for Roxane Gay to come into her own as a woman of color, including commentary on feminism. I’ve been dying to read this for awhile now and I’m really hoping 2017 will be the year I finally get to it.

Sluts by Christine Stockton

Sluts by Christine Stockton book cover

I’d never heard about this collection until a few days ago when someone I follow on Twitter started tweeting about it. They were posting excerpts from some of the essays included in this and man, those excerpts got my attention. This is basically a collection of essays by women talking about what it’s like to be defined by your sexuality and constantly called a slut.ย I saw that this was free to download for Kindle so did that ASAP and I can’t wait to dig into this.

Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit

Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit book cover

I’ve heard great things about this collection of essays and it has me really wanting to check this out. Based on the blurb, it sounds like it touches upon quite a few different, yet very important, topics.

Delusions of Gender by Cordelia Fine

Delusions of Gender by Cordelia Fine book cover

I first saw this a couple of months ago when I was in a bookstore and ever since then I’ve been wanting to read it. It was also recently recommended on a Book Riot list, if I remember correctly. Anyway, this book works to disprove some of the ideas we have about gender – namely, that there are hardwired, biological differences between men and women – that are often used to reinforce current gender roles/relations. It sounds so interesting and seems like the perfect feminist book for a psychology student. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie book cover

I know some of you have read this book and I’ve seen tons of trusted bloggers recommend this one. This is a really short (I think it’s only around 50 pages) look at global sexism. I’ve heard great things about the author and this book in particular, so I definitely want to check this out.

Have you read any of these? What feminist books are on your TBR?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

20 thoughts on “5 Nonfiction Feminist Books On My TBR

  1. Pingback: 5 Nonfiction Feminist Books On My TBR | If all were to go swimmingly...

    • Yes they should! I’ve had so many of them on my list for ages, but I think there have only been a couple that I’ve actually read (and I’m pretty sure they were all for a women’s studies class I took…).
      So glad to add you to the list of bloggers who have said they loved We Should All Be Feminists! I swear I’m going to read SOMETHING by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie this year, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

