Rapid Fire Book Tag

Rapid Fire Book Tag header

Hi, everyone! Today is Saturday which means it’s time for me to do a tag. This week I’m doing the rapid fire book tag, which I was tagged to do awhile ago by the Orangutan Librarian. Thanks again for the tag!

eBooks or physical books?

Physical books for the most part. I just like having the feel of a physical book in my hands. But I love eBooks too – my Kindle is great for reading in the dark (backlit screen means no pain in the ass book light) and can be a lot more comfortable to hold, especially when I’m lying down on my side. Plus it’s easier to carry around. But… physical books.

Paperback or hardback?

Paperback 100%. I like how hardcovers look, but I much prefer paperbacks because they’re more comfortable to hold and not as bulky to carry around/shove in my bag.

Online or in-store book shopping?

Both have their benefits. Online is a lot cheaper, but in-store gives me the chance to flip through pages and just has the whole “ambiance,” haha.

Trilogies or series?

I usually prefer trilogies. They still give you the satisfaction of having multiple books in the story but don’t drag on forever. I find myself discouraged from reading long series a lot of the time because it ends up feeling like such a commitment πŸ˜›

Heroes or villains?

Listen, I know a lot of people are really fascinated by villains but I love heroes and all their self-righteousness.

A book you want everyone to read?

Honestly, y’all could probably guess my answer to this, haha. Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall! It’s a great story that talks about agoraphobia, OCD, and anxiety but still manages to show the main character as a person and not just her disorder. Plus the romance was really cute. (Side note: Louise Gornall followed me on Twitter a few days ago and I’m still not over it.)

under rose-tainted skies by louise gornall book cover

Recommend an underrated book.

Well, this past week’s Top Ten Tuesday was all about underrated/hidden gem books so I’m just going to direct you to that post. πŸ˜‰

The last book you finished?

At the time I’m writing this, it was Shadows of the Forest by Emma Michaels. It was not a very good book, honestly, haha. I’m hoping by the time this posts I’ll have finished The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon.

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

I’m pretty sure there were a couple of months when I was a kid that I used money I got for Christmas as a bookmark… Now, that money is spent before I even get it, hahaha.

Used books, yes or no?

Absolutely! I’m sure a lot of you have seen me talk about how much I love getting books at thrift stores. Although I sometimes get frustrated when they’re not in very good condition, for the most part, I love used books. They’re usually really cheap and save my bank account, haha.

Top three favorite genres?

This is so hard because I love almost every genre, haha. I’ll go with sci-fi (especially dystopia), contemporary, and mystery/thriller.

Borrow or buy?

I do both a lot πŸ˜› I guess I’ll go with buy since that means I’ll always have a copy of the book which is especially great if it ends up being a favorite. πŸ™‚

Characters or plot?

Ideally, a book will have both good characters and plot. But if I had to choose one, I’d go with plot. I’m more forgiving with boring/poorly-written characters than I am with a bad plot.

Long or short book?

Short! I very rarely read long books. They take too long for me to get through and so I avoid them, haha.

Long or short chapters?

Short again. My short attention span appreciates being able to stop without having to stop in the middle of a chapter. πŸ˜‰

Name the first three books you think of.

Beneath the Guarding Stars by Everly Frost, Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall, and The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I’m very predictable, aren’t I? hahaha

Books that make you laugh or cry?

Ugh, both! If I had to choose… books that make me cry.

Our world or fictional worlds?

Fictional! They’re always so fun to explore and learn about.

Audiobooks: yes or no?

I’ve tried listening to several audiobooks and haven’t been able to stick to any of them so I’m going to go with no, even though I’m still hopeful I’ll be able to get into them.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Absolutely and I’m not ashamed to admit it. Pretty covers get my attention, what can I say?

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

I’m going to say book to TV just because it gives you more time to flesh out the series and you don’t have to skip over details or change things to fit it all into 2 hours.

Series or standalone?

Series! I love standalones too, but series give you more time with the world and characters which is usually a good thing, haha.

Tagging

As usual, I’m tagging some of my new(ish) followers. If you have already done this or simply don’t want to, feel free to ignore me! πŸ™‚

Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews

The Book Box

Angelica @ The Book Cover Girls

Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse

Asiya & Marcela @ Inked Epiphanies


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

21 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag! I cracked up when I read that you used money for a bookmark. As a kid, it seems like a totally logical thing, but as you grow older, you’re like, nope, I need that for more books!! I just got Under Rose Tainted Skies, so I’m so glad that you gave it a great recommendation and now I’m super excited fir it. πŸ˜€ Thanks again and I’m super excited to do this (although I’m probably going to get to it next week – I’ve read too much lately and I’m so behind XD).

    Like

  2. Thanks for tagging us! This looks like some crucial questions that any book lover asked himself at some point. We would love to do it πŸ™‚

    P.S: How was The Sky Is also a Star? I’ve been meaning to read it for a while now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Rapid Fire Book Tag | The Book Cover Girls

  4. Pingback: Rapid Fire Book Tag – Book Princess Reviews

Join the Discussion

