#DiverseAThon Sign-Up and TBR

DiverseAThon blog header

Starting this Sunday is the second round of #DiverseAThon. I didn’t participate last time this readathon was held, but I’m very excited to be participating this time around. It’ll help motivate me to read some diverse books and I’ll get a chance to chat with some other people in the book community who are doing the same!

This readathon runs from the 22nd through the 29th and is being hosted by Joce, Christina, Simon, and Monica. Naz and Mara are helping to promote/expand it to bloggers and bookstagrammers, respectively. It’s really low-pressure and you can set your own goals to read however many diverse books you can/want. The overall goal is to encourage people to seek out more diverse books instead of reading the same white, straight, cisgender, able-bodied authors and stories – not just for this readathon, but in the long-term as well. I personally recommend trying to make most, if not all, of your choices books that are written by marginalized authors and not just starring marginalized characters and also trying to choose own voices books when possible. This will help support authors who traditionally struggle in the industry and will help you avoid problematic portrayals of marginalized groups. There’s also going to be a group read of The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, but that’s completely optional (I personally won’t be doing it mostly because I’m trying not to spend money at the moment and would have to buy it since I don’t already have the book).

Since classes start back up for me today, I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to read over the next week. I’m hoping to read two books, but we’ll see how that works. The first book I’ll be reading will be The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, a book that’s both by and about a woman of color. This doesn’t release until the beginning of March, but I got a review copy from NetGalley. The second book I’m hoping to read is Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst which features a f/f relationship and is written by a woman also in a f/f relationship (yes I know that’s pretty awkward phrasing but I don’t know her exact identity, so that’s why it’s written that way, haha) and so is an own voices book to some extent (you know, minus the fantasy/princesses/etc. parts of it…). I was originally going to wait to read this until next month but figured this would be a good book to read for this readathon.

Are you participating in #DiverseAThon? What’ll you be reading?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

10 thoughts on “#DiverseAThon Sign-Up and TBR

  1. I’m still waffling on whether or not I want to do this challenge, but I got approved for several Own Voices ARCs recently that I really need to finish ASAP, so I’m starting to think doing this challenge will be a good motivator for me. Your choices sound great!!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

