Top Five Favorite Polarizing Books

Top 5 Wednesday Favorite Polarizing Books header

Top 5 Wednesday is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more about the group or are considering joining in, check out the Goodreads group. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. All links will take you to Goodreads. This week’s topic is top five favorite polarizing books. This was actually a bit hard for me because, in order to be really polarizing, I feel like books have to be pretty popular. And I fail miserably at reading super popular books. But I managed to come up with five so without further ado, here we go!

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant by Veronica Roth book cover

I swear this is the most polarizing book I think I’ve ever read. I know most people absolutely hated this book, mostly because of the ending, but I loved it. Divergent is still one of my favorite series and I can say with 100% honesty that I thought all three books were fantastic. I KNOW y’all hated how it ended, but I thought it was a very fitting ending that stayed true to everyone’s characters while also being pretty realistic (i.e. not giving everyone a happily ever after just because).

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger book cover

This is definitely one of those books that you read it and either absolutely love it or absolutely hate it. Luckily for me, I was in the former group. πŸ™‚ I remember when I read this in high school, my class was really divided and I’ve seen that same division among bloggers who’ve read it. I actually want to reread this one to see if my opinion has changed at all.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn book cover

I know overall this is a pretty popular book, but I think it’s still pretty polarizing, specifically among hardcore fans of thrillers/mysteries. As many people there are who loved this book, there were also a lot of people who hated it and thought it was really predictable (again, this is more noticeable among people who have read a lot of mysteries). This was pretty much the first adult mystery that I ever read though and so it definitely wasn’t predictable to me and I absolutely loved it. It’s actually one of the books that got me reading really frequently during the fall of 2015.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection by Kiera Cass book cover

I never thought this was much of a polarizing book until I started book blogging and seeing blogger after blogger say how much they hated this series. After reading The Selection, I can definitely understand why people don’t like it since it’s certainly imperfect, but I found it to be a pretty light, fluffy read (albeit with some dystopian elements as well) and I really enjoyed it. I still haven’t picked up the second book, but I will definitely be reading the rest of the series at some point.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I’ll admit that I don’t know how “polarizing” this is online among us book bloggers. But it was certainly polarizing among my friends/classmates when everyone in my high school was reading The Hunger Games, haha. I remember so many people saying that Mockingjay was really disappointing and they didn’t think it ended the series well, but I’ve always loved this last book just as much as the first two. I think people got bored because Mockingjay is less “oh my god, everyone’s going to die in The Hunger Games!” and more focused on the politics of overthrowing a corrupt government which is decidedly less exciting. But, like I said, I loved it just as much as the first two books in this trilogy which is and always will be one of my favorite series.

These are five of my favorite polarizing books. What are yours?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

46 thoughts on “Top Five Favorite Polarizing Books

  1. I didn’t mind the ending to Allegiant…but I am bothered that they changed the ending in the movie and are making a TV movie to continue the story! Ridiculous to me. I know fans wanted a HEA but that doesn’t always apply!

    Like

  2. Ooh, this is a good topic πŸ™‚ I like your choices!

    Lets see..polarizing picks for me.. er.. *ponder* ……….*silence* Yeah, I read horror and sci-fi (and little YA of either). I got nuttin’.

    *sighs, slumps, walks off*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Mockingjay. It’s actually my favorite of the Hunger Games series despite it being most people’s least favorite. One of the things I really love about that series is how it deals realistically with Katniss’s PTSD, and I feel that is especially true in Mockingjay. I just really love a lot of the stuff that book deals with that aren’t as much in the first two books, though I’ll avoid saying anything specific to avoid spoilers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’ll never understand why so many people dislike Mockingjay. I mean, I guess it’s because people wanted more “action” but I think a lot of the content that’s handled in that book is a very necessary follow-up to seeing how traumatic experiences can influence people.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you’re possibly the first person I’ve seen in a long time who liked Allegiant haha! It’s definitely polarising! I ended up not liking it overall, but I did really appreciate that she did something different with the ending.

    I really liked Mockingjay too! Like you there were quite a few of my friends that didn’t like it, but I loved that it had a much broader scope and that it didn’t have a particularly clean or happy ending.

    Like

    • I know, I’m DEFINITELY in the minority on that one, haha.
      I loved Mockingjay. I think a lot of people don’t like it because there’s not as much action as in the first two books, but I think it does a great job of showing the political side of things and what it’s like to face the aftermath of traumatic experiences.

      Like

  5. I was the same with Catcher in the Rye, I seriously enjoyed it when I read it in high school. My class was divided as well, though most people didn’t enjoy it. It would really be interesting to reread this book and see if my opinion has changed, but I don’t have the time to do that! πŸ˜„
    I didn’t really like Mockingjay, I didn’t hate it or anything like that – it was more of a “meh” book for me. Great list! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve just finished reading ‘Three Dark Crowns’ by Kendare Blake. I saw lots of negative reviews online, which had me worried… but I really loved it. It wasn’t perfect, but I was so thrilled, mostly because the plot didn’t run anything like how I expected! I think the blurb was a bit misleading, though – maybe the cause of the upset?

    Like

  7. What?? The ending is the best and possibly the most redeeming part of Allegiant! How can people not like it? That is why I hate the movie because they changed the end those big wimps. And Mockingjay…I just have no words…

    Like

  8. These are all such great choices and I completely agree with you on all of them. You’re probably the only person I know of that loved Allegiant’s ending too. I mean it shattered my heart and I cried a lot but it really was true to the characters. I feel like if it wouldn’t have had a happy ending I wouldn’t have loved the series as much. Great picks for this, Kourtni!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

