Top Ten Hidden Gems/Underrated Books I Read in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday Hidden Gems and Underrated Books 1-17-17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme: top ten hidden gems or underrated books you read recently. I’ve decided to focus exclusively on books I read in 2016, but that weren’t necessarily published in 2016. As usual, links will take you to Goodreads.

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost

Beyond the Ever Reach by Everly Frost book cover

I rave about this book so often that I’m not even going to bother to say anything other than if you haven’t read this, please do. Especially if you like YA sci-fi.

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

the edge of juniper by lora richardson book cover

This is another one that I rave pretty frequently about. If you’re looking for a cute YA contemporary romance, this is a great choice. Although be warned that there is some domestic abuse in the book.

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer book cover

This is one of those books that I often forget about, but I have no idea why because I really enjoyed this. It talks a lot about environmental issues which I really liked. It’s also pretty heart-breaking. I don’t think I’ve ever seen another blogger talk about this book, but it definitely deserves more recognition.

City Love by Susane Colasanti

City Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

City Love was the first contemporary I had read in quite awhile and I absolutely loved it. It’s about three girls getting ready to start college and all of them have very different opinions on love and relationships. I have no idea why I haven’t read the sequel yet, but it’s something I desperately need to change.

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin book cover

Symptoms of Being Human was the first book that I ever read with a genderfluid main character and I absolutely adored reading this. I sped through this because it was so good. Riley is a great main character and I loved seeing them develop throughout the course of the story. This doesn’t seem to get a lot of attention from bloggers, but it definitely should.

From Gods by Mary Ting

From Gods by Mary Ting book cover

I wasn’t really sure how much I would like this going into it, but I ended up really loving From Gods. I think part of that is just because I was totally in the mood for this type of book when I read it. Regardless, I still think this deserves a spot on this list. I need to finish the rest of the series!

Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

Oleah Chronicles Truth by Michelle Johnson book cover

I’ve read the first two books in the Oleah Chronicles, Truth and Justice, and while they’re definitely not perfect and tend to have quite a few cliches in them, I still adored them. I can’t wait for the next installment.

In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey

In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey book cover

I don’t remember if I actually liked this that much when I read it, but when I think back on it, I remember it really positively (if that makes sense). This absolutely had problems, but overall, I really liked it. This is another book that I don’t think I’ve seen any other bloggers talk about which is why it’s ended up on this list.

Keep Sweet by Michele Dominguez Greene

Keep Sweet by Michele Dominguez Greene book cover

Keep Sweet was published quite a few years ago in 2010, but I finally read it last year and loved it. It’s a story of a girl who is a member of the FLDS but trying to escape once she sees how awful life will be for her. It can be pretty triggering since there’s a lot of abuse (and I think rape too if I remember correctly), but if you can stand to read those scenes, this book was fantastic. Heartbreaking, but fantastic.

The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

the forgetting by sharon cameron book cover

I don’t think this quite counts as a hidden gem, but I’m counting it as underrated. I remember being really excited for this and then saw a ton of negative reviews from bloggers I follow. I finally decided to read it last month and really loved it. It was a bit slow at first, but then got so good. 

What were some of your favorite hidden gems or underrated books?


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Hidden Gems/Underrated Books I Read in 2016

    • Yup, the MC is gender-fluid and it was handled really well, in my opinion (which probably doesn’t count for much since I’m not gender-fluid, haha, but I haven’t seen anyone say they thought it was problematic or anything). It’s a fantastic book! I hope you like it whenever you get around to it. 🙂

      Like

  1. I didn’t make a list for this week but I think Symptoms of Being Human would be included had I done that. We’ve discussed it before (I think), but that book is definitely underrated. I wonder if Jeff Garvin has written anything since? 🤔

    Like

  2. Great picks for this week Kourtni. I haven’t read any of these myself yet, I guess in my opinion these all count as hidden gems, but I do have a couple on my to-read list (Symptoms of Being Human and The Forgetting) so hopefully I’ll be able to get around to them soon. I’ve heard amazing things about both so I’m not sure what’s stopping me from picking them up. 🙂
    Some of your other picks have caught my eye as well so I’ll be reading more about them on Goodreads and seeing if any make it onto my to-read list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

