The Sims Tag

 

The Sims Tag blog header

Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews did this tag awhile ago and since I have been addicted to The Sims since I was in elementary school (I used to always mess up my older brother’s families… Sorry, Joe.), I felt like I needed to do this tag. The original tag was created by Hayley @ Hayley in Bookland and you can watch her video here.

By the way, which fellow Sims 4 players are excited about Thursday’s update that introduces toddlers?! I honestly don’t care too much, but I know a ton of people were really upset that toddlers weren’t included when the game first released so I’m excited for you all, haha!

The Original Sims – The Best Author Debut

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. I was absolutely shocked when I found out this was a debut novel because it is fantastic. It’s one of my favorite books of all time.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys book cover

The Grim Reaper – Saddest Character Death **SPOILERS**

Liberty’s grandma in Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer. I loved her so much and even though you pretty much know she’s going to die since she’s really sick, it still broke my heart.

Dig Too Deep by Amy Allgeyer book cover

Sims Getting Stuck – A Character that Just Got in the Way

Catherine’s mom in Heartless. She didn’t really get in the way of the story, but she got in the way of Catherine’s happiness. She was so annoying and wouldn’t let her daughter decide things for herself. It was infuriating, honestly, and Catherine never would’ve turned into the Queen of Hearts if her mom were different.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer book cover

Simlish – A Book with Amazing Writing

Relief Map by Rosalie Knecht. I tend to kind of forget about this book because I wasn’t a huge fan of it (more because of personal preferences and not flaws with the actual book), but it did have really nice writing. I’ll also give a shout-out to Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova. The overall writing was pretty average, but the world-building was wonderful.

Expansion Packs – A Series Where the Books Keep On Getting Better

Is it totally cliche to say Harry Potter? I loved this series more and more as it went on, mostly because I love dark books and the later books definitely were a lot darker than the first few.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling book cover

Sim Romance – The Worst Case of Insta-Love

I think I’ll go with Sadie and Austin from City Love. Sadie saw him once and then was talking about how they were soul mates and meant to be together and I was just kind of like… okay. I really liked the story regardless, but it was definitely a case of insta-love, at least on Sadie’s part.

City Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

Cheats – A Book That Was Entirely Unrealistic

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. There was quite a bit about this book that seemed pretty unrealistic, but the ending was especially so. I won’t say more than that, since I complain about the ending on a regular basis, hahaha.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon book cover

Needs Fulfilment – A Character Who Made All the Wrong Decisions

Tris in Insurgent. You all probably know that I love this series (yes, even Allegiant), but my god, she was infuriating in Insurgent, hahaha. The whole book pretty much went like this:

Four: Tris, don’t do the thing.

Tris: Okay I won’t. *does the thing*

Tris, I love you, but c’mon.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth book cover

Error Code 12 – A Series that Started Off Great but Went Downhill from There

I’ll fully admit that I was a total Twilight fangirl back in the day. When I look back on it, though, I realize that these books really got pretty bad toward the end. And that’s not even considering all the sexist issues I have with the series as a whole. 😛

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer book cover

The Sims Vortex – A Book/Series that Completely Engrossed You

Oh man, there are so many that I could include so I’m going to cheat and choose an individual book as well as a series. I’m going to go with Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall (yes, I’m still fangirling about this book) and for a series, I’ll go with the Mortality series by Everly Frost. Book 3 comes out next month and I can’t wait!

Nominations

I’m not going to officially tag anyone since I wasn’t tagged myself and because I feel like this is one of those tags that’s more fun if you are actually a fan of the theme (in this case, The Sims) and I don’t know who likes The Sims. 😛 But if you love The Sims as much as I do, consider yourself tagged!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

25 thoughts on “The Sims Tag

  1. I am quite interested in The Sims, but I haven’t played it for about 3 years, haha😂.
    I definitely agree with you about Insurgent and Under Rose-Tainted Skies! Tris made all the wrong decisions and I found myself always shaking my head at her, ugh😤! And Under Rose-Tainted Skies was just too good! Despite what you said about Everything Everything, did you like it?

    Like

    • Hahaha I sometimes go a ridiculously long time without playing, but then I end up playing it nonstop for days 😛
      Ugh I have a really complicated opinion of Everything, Everything, haha. I really liked the book for the most part but the ending was terrible. It wasn’t even just bad writing, but was also disrespectful to people with chronic illnesses/disabilities so I don’t feel comfortable recommending it to anyone, honestly, as I know a lot of people have been hurt by the ending.

      Like

  2. I love this tag! I was a huge fan back when The Sims and The Sims 2 were popular and was even an active CC creator for TS2 for some time… I haven’t played since my laptop died on me in 2012 and lost all my families though. Also, never tried TS3 OR TS4 for that matter. I feel old now xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been playing since the first game but mostly just used to mess up my older brother’s families and get his children taken away because I had no idea what I was doing, hahaha. I’ve had every game though and most of the expansions for each game too. EA has gotten way too much money from me, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the sims!! Haven’t played much in the past few months though, but when this toddler update came out…hehe. Still like TS3 better though, but my game is like broken so TS4 it is though. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is the first negative opinion I’ve heard of Everything Everything! I haven’t read it tho, so I can’t say who I agree with. 😃
    Also I know Twilight has a lot of issues but I still passionately love those books, and I re-watch the movies (especially the first one) on a regular basis. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to always mess up my older brother’s families” hahahaha, I love this.

    Glad you decided to do this one 😀 I wasn’t really that concerned with toddlers, but once they got updated into the game I was like YES TODDLERS ARE THE BEST and I’ve been playing all this week because of it hahaha.

    I had no intention on reading Everything, Everything because I’d heard some things about it that I didn’t like, but then I found out the ending and I was just like ……nope. So glad I never decided to read it, haha.

    Totally agree about Catherine’s mother. She was awful. I loved the writing in Labyrinth Lost too!! It was so beautiful and I’m super excited for the next book 😀

    Like

    • I’ll never forget the time that I accidentally got the kids in my brother’s Sims family taken away because I had no idea what I was doing and they were like starving to death or something, hahaha.
      Same! I hated toddlers in TS3 for some reason, but I adore them in TS4! They’re so cute!!
      Yeah EE is definitely one to skip, IMO. It’s even more frustrating when you realize most readers don’t care at all how problematic that ending is. Ugh.

      Like

Join the Discussion

