2016 Releases I Didn’t Get To (But Totally Plan To Read)

Top Ten Tuesday 1/10/17 2016 Releases I Didn't Get To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books. This week’s theme: 2016 releases I didn’t get to but totally plan to read.

Those of you who have been following me for awhile probably know how ridiculously long I could make this list. I buy books like they’re going out of print in 3 days and end up with massive book hauls and not enough time to read them all. And that doesn’t even include the books I want to read but haven’t bought. I’m going to be focusing this list on 2016 releases I bought (or won) that I haven’t gotten to yet, but that I’m hoping to get to at some point this year. As always, links will take you to Goodreads.

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne book cover

This book is about a boy who is orphaned and sent to live and work with his aunt who is a servant in Hitler’s house, set in the years leading up to WWII. I really enjoy WWII historical fiction and this sounds really unique. I remember reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas when I was in middle school and absolutely loving it, so I’m excited to read another book by Boyne.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo book cover

This is one of those books that I was SO EXCITED for and planned on reading as soon as I could and then just… didn’t. I won an ARC through a Goodreads giveaway (yes, people really do win those things) and was ecstatic. I’ve seen mixed reviews of this book, but since it’s both by a trans author and about a trans main character (and the cover model is trans, I think), I definitely still want to read it. I can’t remember ever having read a book about a trans main character and I’m kind of desperate to, haha.

Lost in Love by Susane Colasanti

Lost in Love by Susane Colasanti book cover

This is the sequel to City Love, which I read and adored back in March. I won a copy of Lost in Love from the author and, again, was super excited and planned on reading it as soon as I could. I still haven’t gotten to it, but I really need to. I need to know what happens to these characters!

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake book cover

This was one of my most highly anticipated releases of 2016. I ended up getting it in an OwlCrate box and was extremely excited… and then I started seeing a lot of mixed reviews about it and got discouraged. I’m hoping now that the hype for the book has died down a bit, I’ll be able to go into the book with somewhat more neutral expectations and enjoy this more than if I had read it right when it released.

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab book cover

I have no idea why I haven’t read this yet. This is pretty high on my priority list, though as I definitely want to read it before the sequel comes out in June.

Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake

Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake book cover

I’ve followed this author on Twitter for awhile and was pretty excited for this book, just because I like the author so much, haha. I didn’t buy this right away (I only just bought it a couple of weeks ago, actually) which is probably why I haven’t read it yet.

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst book cover

It’s pretty understandable why I didn’t get to this one in 2016 since it released at the end of November and I just got it last month. It’s definitely pretty high up on my priority list and may make it onto next month’s TBR. Princesses falling in love. Need I say more?

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon book cover

This is on this month’s TBR because I really want to read it. I was lucky enough to grab a copy through Blogging for Books which was really exciting. I’ve seen a lot of glowing reviews for this and I’m really excited to get into this one. Hopefully, the ending is better than Everything, Everything’s was. 😛

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria book cover

I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book and it’s a historical fiction novel which is one of my favorite genres. I finally bought this a couple of weeks ago and I can’t wait to read it.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee book cover

This was put off for the same reason as Three Dark Crowns: I was really excited but then started seeing negative reviews and got nervous. I’m still planning on getting to this one, hopefully soon, since it does sound like something I’d enjoy. I’m hoping I’ll enjoy more than others have. I guess we’ll find out 😛

What 2016 releases are you hoping to get around to soon? Link me to your TTT in the comments!


Follow me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest

55 thoughts on “2016 Releases I Didn’t Get To (But Totally Plan To Read)

  1. I’ve heard of Three Dark Crowns (and I feel like I got it in a subscription box but can’t remember) and really want to read it. I just never got around to it last year. I’m somewhat on the fence about This Savage Song because I read ADSOM last March and wasn’t as thrilled with it as I anticipated. I know it’s a different series, but I don’t know. I’m sure I’ll give it a shot at some point this year.

    Here’s my TTT if you’re interested. 🙂

    Like

    • Three Dark Crowns came in September’s OwlCrate so you might have gotten it there. That’s how I got it 🙂 I know what you mean about Schwab – I think because her books are sooo hyped up, it’s easy to be let down by them. I’ve read ADSOM and AGOS but didn’t enjoy them quite as much as others did although I did still like them and I want to read more by her. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad that you feel the same way about Schwab. I feel the whole hype thing affected my slump a ton last year. I started or read all of these super hyped books and was disappointed by most of them, unless I was already familiar with the author’s work.

        Like

      • Yup, that happens to me sometimes too. When everyone is raving about the same few books, it builds expectations so high that it’s nearly impossible for those expectations to be met. I think that’s one of the reasons why I end up putting off reading a lot of popular books/series. But that also gets me to read some lesser known books though which I love doing. 🙂

        Like

  2. haha I had no idea people actually won GR giveaways- well done! I’ve had the same issue with Dark Crowns- like you I’m waiting for things to die down. This Savage Song was really good! And I need to read the Sun is Also a Star at some point too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m one of those people who didn’t really love If I Was Your Girl – I REALLY appreciate that it’s an #OwnVoices story, but as a narrative it was kind of… dull? Like I don’t think it was very well-written, although it’s definitely, definitely important to read and offers quite a unique perspective.

    TSIAAS was so good, though. I hope you like it. Definitely better than Everything, Everything in my opinion. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh, The Sun Is Also A Star was my very last read of 2016 and it was AMAZING!! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I totally forgot about Iron Cast & Three Dark Crowns on my list xD I really want to get to Iron Cast — there’s some minor hype around it via the interweb so I’m hoping it lives up to it!! I hope you get to all of these amazing novels! Happy Reading, Kourtni! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great picks for this week Kourtni. The only one of your list I’ve read is This Savage Song and I thought it was a brilliant book. V.E. Schwab is only of my favourite authors so my expectations for this book were pretty high. Luckily it met them and now I’m just really excited for the second one. I really hope you enjoy it as well.
    I have both The Thousandth Floor and Three Dark Crowns on my to-read list as well, hopefully we’ll both enjoy them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve read If I Was Your Girl and This Savage Song and really enjoyed both of them!
    I’m so desperate to read Of Fire and Stars but for some reason it’s annoyingly difficult to get hold of in the UK haha! I really want to read Iron Cast too, I don’t read nearly enough historical fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I really enjoyed Of Fire and Stars! It did have a lot of tropes and wasn’t entirely fleshed out, but it was so much fun and it was so refreshing to see a F/F romance! So many of these others are on my TBR though. I really need to read Iron Cast because I have an ARC, haha.

    Like

Join the Discussion

